CIty and County of Honolulu, Hawaii Reviews | Glassdoor

CIty and County of Honolulu, Hawaii Reviews

Updated Jul 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 44 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
62%
Recommend to a Friend
62%
Approve of CEO
CIty and County of Honolulu, Hawaii CEO Kirk Caldwell
Kirk Caldwell
5 Ratings
  1. "Senior Clerk-Typist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Senior Clerk-Typist in Honolulu, HI

    I have been working at CIty and County of Honolulu, Hawaii full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    As a "civil servant" at the City, it is the benefits that have great value, rather than a large salary, and I truly enjoy my role in our Real Property Assessment Division at the Tax Maps Branch level.

    Cons

    There are few downsides, it is a pleasure to work at my Tax Maps Branch office and I look forward to upgrading my current Senior Clerk-Typist skills and bring top-level experience to Kamehameha Schools.

    Advice to Management

    Hard work is how I have produced large volumes of work at former secretarial jobs that I have held. Confidentiality and being professional at all times is what I value most.

    CIty and County of Honolulu, Hawaii2017-10-29
  2. "Opportunities but bureaucratic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Human Resources Specialist 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at CIty and County of Honolulu, Hawaii full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    When you run into them, there are helpful individuals that want to see you succeed. Long term benefits outweigh the bureaucracy and union entitlement mentality.

    Cons

    Decisions are not always made for the best interest of the employees or the communities but the "legacy" of whomever is in place at the time. Depending on the department, the employees are only there to collect a paycheck and don't actually have pride in their work. Too many times, people don't want to share information they may know to help you with your job.

    CIty and County of Honolulu, Hawaii2019-07-10
  3. "Maintenance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pool Custodian in Wahiawä, HI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at CIty and County of Honolulu, Hawaii full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Benefits are good , great vacay and sick leave

    Cons

    Low pay and high medical rates

    Advice to Management

    Help your workers with better pay

    CIty and County of Honolulu, Hawaii2019-06-17
  4. "IT"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Systems Analyst in Kapolei, HI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at CIty and County of Honolulu, Hawaii full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Alot of holidays included; PTO included in addition

    Cons

    Advancement opportunity is very minimal

    Advice to Management

    Provide more opportunities for different career paths

    CIty and County of Honolulu, Hawaii2019-05-15
  5. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Civil Engineer in Honolulu, HI
    Recommends

    I have been working at CIty and County of Honolulu, Hawaii full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, and great work-life balance

    Cons

    Work can move a little slowly

    CIty and County of Honolulu, Hawaii2019-04-17
  6. "Great job to"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - GIS Technician in Honolulu, HI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CIty and County of Honolulu, Hawaii full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great Benefits Great job security Great if you prefer an easy going workplace (I don't) Great if you like lots of vacations and sick days

    Cons

    Salary not competitive with mainland positions. Salary not enough to live comfortably. Take home pay is far lower than you think due to insurance, union, and pension fees. No realistic path of career advancement. Due to low amount of young people in employment and high amount of seniors, I am scared for the pension system that we are all paying into.

    CIty and County of Honolulu, Hawaii2019-04-25
  7. "Hawai’i rewards incompetence"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - GIS Technician 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at CIty and County of Honolulu, Hawaii full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Generous paid vacation and sick leave Paid State and federal holidays

    Cons

    Does not reward or promote based on merit, knowledge experience or competency. Seniority trumps. Those that have seniority are paid more due to years in service and step increases regardless if they are competent. Such workers are also protected by the union. Pay is low and not competitive

    Advice to Management

    Crack down on lazy and incompetent workers.

    CIty and County of Honolulu, Hawaii2019-04-04
  8. "Great Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at CIty and County of Honolulu, Hawaii full-time

    Pros

    Great people, great environment, great work life balance

    Cons

    low pay, low incentive to work hard, promotions based on seniority rather than abilities

    CIty and County of Honolulu, Hawaii2018-10-30
  9. "Good benefits but slow to change"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at CIty and County of Honolulu, Hawaii full-time

    Pros

    - Vacation and sick leave accrue quickly - Paid holidays - Job security

    Cons

    - Slow to change current processes

    CIty and County of Honolulu, Hawaii2018-10-09
  10. "Accountant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Accountant in Honolulu, HI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at CIty and County of Honolulu, Hawaii full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Stable jobs and good work life balance

    Cons

    Too many female workers, politics and cronyism

    CIty and County of Honolulu, Hawaii2018-05-19
Found 44 reviews