CJ Affiliate Reviews | Glassdoor

CJ Affiliate Reviews

Updated Oct 7, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
57%
Recommend to a Friend
CJ Affiliate President Mayuresh Kshetramade
Mayuresh Kshetramade
0 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "CJ tends to do this thing where we push and sell a certain "hot topic" but literally have zero means from a product level to support it(in 14 reviews)

  • "Please beware of this company because it's not worth the stress and the required time spent working on holidays for niche affiliate marketing(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (3)

    "Great culture and strong values"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Representative in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CJ Affiliate full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - great work/life balance - fun office culture with company happy hours and outings - good onboarding process and ongoing training - co-workers are super friendly, collaborative and helpful - good on-paper benefits (401k, unlimited PTO, health, dental & vision, commuter benefits, etc.) - higher-up management/directors are very open and transparent about what's going on in the company - definitely feel... like my opinion matters even though I'm in an entry-level position

    Show More

    Cons

    - Nothing significant so far - At first I was a little hesitant/stressed because of an isolated bad transition, but now I definitely can see how much the company is invested in training employees and creating upward mobility/growth opportunities for employees within the company

    CJ Affiliate2019-01-30
  2. "Great Place to Work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at CJ Affiliate full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    CJ Engineering makes a point of hiring competent and cooperative people and then enabling them to learn and grow. The department is continuously examining itself and its practices for ways to improve and then implementing those improvements.

    Cons

    Legacy platform slows innovation. Many strong, independent minds sometimes lead to difficulties in coordinating efforts.

    Advice to Management

    Hire more! Existing engineers are stretched thin maintaining multiple competencies to cover all the required work!

    CJ Affiliate2019-05-19
  3. Helpful (5)

    "A Shark with a big mouth, big brain, but no fins."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Director 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at CJ Affiliate full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - Incredibly intelligent staff - A lot of promotion from within - Compensation is strong - Healthy think tank

    Cons

    - They're behind their competition with tech and they know it - Their engineering team is about 10% of the size it should be - Outsourcing client-facing tasks to foreign countries who have little to no knowledge of the industry of common US business practices - Rely on their overworked teams to train new employees while keeping up with their book of business - Very few client support resources for the primary... client success team to rely on helping paint the full picture. AKA - One team is expected to do WAY too much. - A lot of clients who treat their team like an agency (very demanding, little appreciation) vs an extension of their business

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop experimenting with how much the board can bend without breaking. Because most of the time, your boards are shattering into 100 pieces. I get the "Parents" are only giving you so much flexibility, but fight, dammit! You're going to (and have) lose a lot of your most intelligent pro-CJ employees if you keep working them to death. You think you're weeding out the "simple" employees who aren't willing to put in... the effort for maximum results. In fact, you're weeding out the smart ones who are saying "I'm too good for this s**t."

    Show More
    CJ Affiliate2019-10-08
  4. "Ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Coordinator 
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at CJ Affiliate full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good for right out of college experience

    Cons

    There's some favoritism at times and can be stressful

    CJ Affiliate2019-09-28
  5. "A lot pros, some cons"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager 
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at CJ Affiliate full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Unlimited PTO Strong managers (depends on who you get) A lot of growth opportunity internally

    Cons

    Limited by parent company Some offices work at different paces - can make company goals confusing

    CJ Affiliate2019-08-26
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Always understaffed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Santa Barbara, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at CJ Affiliate full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fast paced, good opportunity for advancement

    Cons

    High turnover, overloaded employees leading to poor moral

    CJ Affiliate2019-08-08
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Great people, experience depends on your portfolio and office turnover rate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CJ Affiliate full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Depending on your portfolio, you can get exposure to a variety of big-name clients and learn how their affiliate program + overall companies run -The people you work with are friendly and helpful -Fun company outings -Flexible time off -Can usually work normal 9-5 hours

    Cons

    -My office has had a problem with attrition lately which means everyone has had more on their plate than they should. However, if you work efficiently and prioritize you can still get out of the office by 5-5:30 on most days -As with any advertising/marketing agency, busy season is during the holidays, which isn't great for time off and work/life balance -Working remotely is allowed but not encouraged. You need to... provide some sort of excuse to stay home for the day. I would prefer if we could all work from home one day a week

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Talk to your employees and make sure they are not overworked. A good way to combat this would be allowing us to work from home more regularly

    CJ Affiliate2019-04-06
  8. Helpful (12)

    "Good company, poor management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at CJ Affiliate full-time

    Pros

    High caliber clients and variety allow one to learn alot about the affiliate industry -Colleagues -Our office let you bring your dog, some do not

    Cons

    -Account Directors - very poor leadership; they offer no assistance and are unprofessional and arrogant -Toxic environment - high-stress, lack of trustworthiness, lack of respect towards employees -Sweatshop - Directors do not care about any work-life balance; be prepared to work all hours of the day and weekends -Low Pay and no bonus or signing plan for some positions

    Advice to Management

    Be a professional company where you have Directors that set an example for those working for the company. Leave your egos at the door for a more positive environment. Value good work and good people. The turnover rate is off the chart and everyone pretends it's fine and does nothing. Talk to your employees about their days, their challenges. The business will always be there - it's time to start taking a look at... your employees.

    Show More
    CJ Affiliate2019-02-06
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great company to work for with excellent company culture."

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at CJ Affiliate

    Pros

    - collaborative enviornment amongst peers - career progression opportunities - strong leadership team - challenging work - Denver work:life balance

    Cons

    - workload can be tough to manage if you’re not efficient at time management

    CJ Affiliate2019-01-15
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Electric Office Atmosphere and Laid Back"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CJ Affiliate part-time

    Pros

    Very laid back office that is dog friendly.

    Cons

    Not quite being paid what I thought I would be.

    CJ Affiliate2019-01-14
Found 107 reviews