CJ Affiliate by Conversant Software Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Software Engineer

CJ Affiliate by Conversant Software Engineer Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 9 reviews

4.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
99%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
CJ Affiliate by Conversant CEO Waleed Al-Atraqchi
Waleed Al-Atraqchi
1 Ratings
  1. "Great Place to Work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at CJ Affiliate by Conversant full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    CJ Engineering makes a point of hiring competent and cooperative people and then enabling them to learn and grow. The department is continuously examining itself and its practices for ways to improve and then implementing those improvements.

    Cons

    Legacy platform slows innovation. Many strong, independent minds sometimes lead to difficulties in coordinating efforts.

    Advice to Management

    Hire more! Existing engineers are stretched thin maintaining multiple competencies to cover all the required work!

    CJ Affiliate by Conversant2019-05-19
  2. Helpful (4)

    "Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Westlake Village, Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CJ Affiliate by Conversant full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Engineers are given autonomy to choose the tools and processes that solve the business demands - Good work/life balance - Experienced and friendly colleagues - Cutting-edge technologies, agile development

    Cons

    - Nothing significant so far

    Advice to Management

    Continue to listen to feedback from the team members.

    CJ Affiliate by Conversant2018-07-17
  3. Helpful (4)

    "Solid Company, But"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at CJ Affiliate by Conversant full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    There's a lot of very smart engineers willing to mentor and bring up those less knowledgeable. The pair programming + test driven development helps greatly when learning and makes the codebase very robust. The hours are stable and rarely must you work more than 8 hours unless you need to stay for a deployment once in a while. Very well organized sprint cycles in an agile environment. The scrum methodology is executed...

    Show More

    Cons

    Pair programming can become quite tiring after a while and the experience will depend on whom you are working with on a particular day. They also force out a number of engineers each year to keep newer, fresher engineers coming into the company. This makes more room for newer developers+ideas coming in and pairing brings them up to speed fairly quickly. This is a horrible way to treat dedicated employees though and...

    Show More
    CJ Affiliate by Conversant2016-07-15
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Software Developer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Oxnard, CA

    I worked at CJ Affiliate by Conversant part-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    A lot of great people. Learned a lot. Very knowledgeable engineers willing to share and mentor others.

    Cons

    Lot of turn over due to change of direction. The way some people were let go from the company was off putting.

    CJ Affiliate by Conversant2015-12-13

    CJ Affiliate by Conversant Response

    December 15, 2015CJ Culture Champion

    Thank you for recognizing the great people at CJ and our talented engineers. We are continually working to improve our internal communication, so thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your reaction to recent staffing changes.

  5. Helpful (3)

    "Wealth of knowledge, but management less than awesome"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Westlake Village, Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at CJ Affiliate by Conversant full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Smart, passionate coworkers. Good working principles and a wealth of knowledge that they are willing to share.

    Cons

    Thr team leads have upper management's unwavering support, so the non-leadership employees are doubted whenever problems come up. Opportunities to work on different tech than usual are scarce, so the work might get boring.

    CJ Affiliate by Conversant2015-11-06
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great Environment for Software Engineers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Software Engineer in West Lake Village, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at CJ Affiliate by Conversant full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    CJ is a very good place for software engineers. People are nice and smart there. They are very passionate about coding and willing to teach you. I really like the extreme programing methodology because I get to pair up with a team member and stay productive. I recommend CJ if you are looking for a good software engineering job.

    Cons

    The office is not design for software engineers.

    Advice to Management

    Please redesign the office.

    CJ Affiliate by Conversant2015-09-04
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Engineering: Best of both worlds (startup vs stable company)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer, Team Lead in Westlake Village, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at CJ Affiliate by Conversant full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    I came to CJ on the heels of a very small startup experience, where I had absolute freedom to choose the best tools for the job. So, I was worried that moving to a stable company would mean a dramatic loss of freedom to choose my own tools & approaches. Thankfully, life at CJ Engineering has been largely the opposite: I have the benefits of a larger company (stable employment, lots of other talent to push/challenge...

    Show More

    Cons

    CJ is part of a much broader ecosystem of wholly-owned companies; occasionally this comes down in the form of goofy HR policies and drab office environments, although the latter is poised to change soon.

    Advice to Management

    Keep building and nurturing the spirit of innovation in CJ Engineering, stop the HR goofiness, and make the physical office environments more sexy, dynamic, and innovative.

    CJ Affiliate by Conversant2015-08-18
  8. "Excellent company by engineers for engineers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Westlake, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at CJ Affiliate by Conversant full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    This company is great. There is a very laid back and engineer friendly environment. People at CJ are very passionate about computer science and will happily share their knowledge. The company promotes from within all the way to the top.

    Cons

    Sometimes the parent company Valueclick creates certain levels of red tape that can be kind of intrusive.

    CJ Affiliate by Conversant2013-10-09
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great work environment."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Westlake Village, Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CJ Affiliate by Conversant

    Pros

    Work environment. When I joined the company two years ago, engineering was in the process of switching to an agile work environment. Since then they have remained committed to the process and working on ways to improve it. The agile process is a resounding success and I very much prefer over a waterfall approach. Management treats employees with trust and respect. We set our deadlines and management improves, instead...

    Show More

    Cons

    Benefits. Compared to where I worked previously everything is worse on the benefits side. No options/restricted stock plan, no performance incentives, we could use more vacation days, and I think they could pay more of the premium on the health insurance.

    Advice to Management

    Make the benefits better, add some sort of way for employees to share in company profits, and let's expand our product line into new niches.

    CJ Affiliate by Conversant2008-06-18
Found 9 reviews