CLEAResult Employee Reviews about "upper management"

Updated Oct 28, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
56%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
CLEAResult CEO Scott Boose (no image)
Scott Boose
52 Ratings
Pros
  • "Learned about energy efficiency(in 27 reviews)

  • "Great people to work with and Company benefits(in 27 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Upper management here is very messy(in 25 reviews)

  • "The work environment is very negative and toxic(in 13 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Gender

    This rating reflects the overall rating of CLEAResult and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "upper management"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Job Satisfaction

      Apr 23, 2018 - Senior Program Manager in Little Rock, AR
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Salary is good and most of the people are good to work with. I also like the flexible work hours.

      Cons

      Limited career growth and career coaching opportunities. Upper management makes most decisions that affect lower management without consultation. This makes is hard for lower management to build morale.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    2. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Look elsewhere

      Oct 28, 2020 - Software Developer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I've had the opportunity to utilize my knowledge and engage in activities that might facilitate my eventual pivot into the field I want to be in. My manager provides a massive allowance of autonomy, and is reasonable enough to work with. The people I've connected with and work closely with are intelligent, and as effective as they can be, given the corporate politics that are now at play. Pay is lower end of median for someone with my skill set and experience, but it put me in the right pay bracket for the region. If you're interested in busy work, there's plenty of it. Overall, I've learned what an enterprise experience is like, and have compiled a list of questions to ask in my next interviews.

      Cons

      TL;DR: I would consider accepting an offer from this company very, very carefully. All in all, there is minimal transparency from the c-suite, departments don't collaborate effectively, you'll hear a lot of buzzwords but they mean nothing, and you'll spend more time in meetings than you will actually getting anything done. YMMV. I was gas-lit during the interview, told I'd be doing something that turned out to be completely untrue. The work I do could be performed by a junior developer -- hell, anyone with basic coding skills could do my job. I honestly feel like accepting this role was a massive mistake and set my career advancement back by at least a year. I'm lucky to get six hours of coding in during a given week; the rest is meetings and technical support. Why they hired an engineer for a support-first role, I don't know, but as I said, it feels like I made a massive mistake accepting this role. The 20% salary cut due to COVID nearly wiped me out -- my family has suffered tremendously as a direct result. In addition to the salary cut, the workload nearly tripled. Again, my family has suffered because of the hours I have to put in. Salary makes you exempt from overtime, so for every extra hour you work, the company gets a better bargain. The benefits are terrible -- $30 copay for standard visits, insurance pays 80%, so you still get at least $100 bills for basic care after insurance covers their portion. Don't expect to be able to take PTO without getting called in. After hours, you better be available too -- the company's needs are higher priority than you getting time to disconnect. "Make sure to take time off," they say, so that should make you feel better while you're working out of wherever you chose to vacation. The attrition rate is skyrocketing, and I have absolutely no faith in the new CTO. The company culture is terrible. Politics between teams has made the entire IT department ineffective, with no one working with each other because every manager in IT is concerned about how their budgets are going to be affected. We have the same meetings, saying the same things, over and over and over. Managers with zero technical experience are making decisions that they have no business making, and it's forcing people to leave. After laying off multiple state-side development teams, a particular manager was promoted and subsequently hired all off-shore replacements for those teams. That particular team also doesn't collaborate with anyone that isn't of the same ethnicity. There's no accountability for upper management, so everything rolls down to the employees doing the actual work, where no recognition is given for work completed. Mid-level managers are stretched so thin they can't even maintain simple half-hour 1:1 cadences with their reports. How's an employee supposed to know if they're working on the right things or if their standing in the company is positive if they can't even get a half hour with their manager? Oftentimes, projects you work on for months get scrapped at a moment's notice. Everything is about maximizing profits at whatever costs necessary. The culture rewards working to burn out more than being effective, and it's easy to get shoehorned into a career path the company wants you in, versus helping you grow into where you want to be.

      Continue reading
      13 people found this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Plenty of remote work options, but not much room for upward mobility

      Oct 2, 2019 - Senior Program Consultant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Plenty of employees work remotely and enjoy a nice work life balance. When I worked there, there was a solid PTO package, and the people were generally friendly and fun to work with.

      Cons

      Mid to upper level managers tend to be hired from outside the company, rather than promoted from within. Also, there was a strong tendency by some to micro-manage their remote employees, and upper management weren't really great at negotiating contracts or preventing scope creep, resulting in lower level employees often being stuck having to deliver work long hours to cover for this, with the expectation that they finish these larger workloads without billing overtime. And the bonus pool shrunk each year I was there, so while workload increased, both the meager salary increases we received and the ever diminishing bonus pool failed to keep up.

      Continue reading
      12 people found this review helpful
    4. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Decent pay and benefits

      Jun 19, 2019 - Program Specialist 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Average pay and probably above average benefits. Flexibility to work from home. Nice office and atmosphere. Good co-workers.

      Cons

      Communication between different departments, realignment of upper management, little direction for forward thinking

      2 people found this review helpful
    5. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Poor Upper Management

      Jan 30, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The people here are wonderful, and wherever you go in the company you will likely find a friendly hard-working team.

      Cons

      1. Upper management here is very messy. Moving around to new positions or for growth is nearly impossible because they tend to hire externally when a position needs to be backfilled. I was overlooked for a promotion within my own program twice in my year and a half there. The first time the promotion was given to someone who was only with the company for 4 months at the time, whereas I had been there a year. The second time, they chose to close the position rather than promoting the hard-working employees who deserved it. 2. This company does not pay livable CA wages. We've seen most money sit with upper management and very little trickles down to the rest of the employees. That's usually the main reason an employee leaves. There are more companies in the Bay Area willing to pay more/competitively for qualified skillsets. 3. CA management chooses to overlook this lack of livable wage, and make small adjustments to keep morale up. At least a dozen employees left the Bay Area workforce in summer 2018, and at the end of 2018 all that had been done was hiring an external HR rep who didn't even know the real reason people were leaving. No one here who has some leverage is willing to fix the root issue.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    6. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      overworked underpaid

      Oct 17, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      flexible hours with the ability to work from home if there's bad weather.

      Cons

      executives and upper management is a revolving door, with each knew person setting unreasonable expectations so they can "make their mark". Medical benefits are a joke. The out of pocket premiums are high and very little is actually covered. With our health insurance your looking at a $7,000 bill if you have a baby. No growth opportunities, no where to go so you never get promoted. You get moved laterally.

      Continue reading
      11 people found this review helpful
    7. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Be prepared to be taken advantage of....

      Dec 12, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Decent benefits and you will meet some amazing people.

      Cons

      Upper management is unfortunately riddled with unethical, deceitful and untrustworthy people who do nothing but lie to your face and take credit for everything. They (managers) are only out for themselves and could care less about their team and what they may need to succeed. They do not communicate, mentor, mold or educate. Know what has to be done the minute you walk in the door or risk the firing squad. They (management) have absolutely no management skills and prefer to put fear into their employees so they fend for themselves instead of working with them and helping them grow. Turnover and unhappy hardworking employees (unrelated to firings) are at an all time high and if you look close enough the catalysts are very clear. Raises and well deserved promotions are non existent, however piling on more and more and more work is the new norm. Working 60-70 hours per week is normal even though you are not allowed to report your actual hours (you are mandated to report exactly 40 hours). Employees are stretched so thin that they can’t even plan a vacation (well you can plan it but be prepared to work through it). Salaries are far below the norm and they (management) will break the same rules you were told could not be broken if they see fit.

      Continue reading
      12 people found this review helpful
    8. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Would never let a friend work here

      Nov 29, 2018 - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The front desk admins are a bright spot in an otherwise dismal environment. There is free parking. Pay for some positions is fair to good.

      Cons

      Little or no room for growth, and layoffs are frequent. Abysmal client-management and over-promising lead to re-work, overworked teams and generally poor results for everyone. Upper management obfuscates major issues and ignores problems repeatedly brought up in employee surveys. All good leadership have left, either forced out, laid off or have abandoned ship. New leadership is toxic. Bullying and gender-based discrimination run rampant in some departments. Upper management looks the other way because they've backed themselves into a corner by cutting positions, dropping leadership and merging teams, and are depending on a few under-qualified Directors to do the jobs of 3 or 4.

      Continue reading
      11 people found this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Highly depends on your manager

      Mar 1, 2014 - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Nice random company perks - bringing in food trailers for lunch, happy hours at the office, lunchtime yoga, etc. Good health care options

      Cons

      Ok salary Questionable decisions by upper management Pressure to work long hours

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Good Company Culture With A Lot of Growth

      May 8, 2015 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible hours, casual attire, forward-thinking employees, sense of community, opportunities for growth across the organization. As a young professional, CLEAResult has aided me in gaining industry knowledge and pertinent experience for a fast growing industry.

      Cons

      Heavy focus on upper management, potential for growing pains. CLEAResult has undergone a lot of growth over the last year; this is a good thing. However, with the exponential growth they have been experiencing there runs a risk of the ability to keep up with on-boarding new employees on a large scale.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      CLEAResult Response

      Marketing Manager

      This is really helpful feedback. We take the development of our employees seriously and it sounds like you've learned a lot in your time at CLEAResult. Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 25 English Reviews

    Work at CLEAResult? Share Your Experiences

    or