CME Group Reviews in Chicago, IL | Glassdoor

CME Group Chicago Reviews

Updated August 17, 2017
278 reviews

Filter

Filter

Chicago, IL Area

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
CME Group Chairman and CEO Terry Duffy
Terry Duffy
22 Ratings

278 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
  • Poor work/ life balance and challenging upward mobility (in 17 reviews)

  • Frequent senior management changes (in 15 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    Helpful (2)

    "Fostering a Culture of Innovation, Collaboration and Empowerment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CME Group full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Fostering a spirit of innovation is something that CME Group excels in; I have been here for several years, and it is exciting and fulfilling to see new strategies and activities launched for employees to help them bring new ideas to life.

    The collaborative nature of the organization, as well as the ability to take ownership of projects without any micro-management, are two key attributes that keep me at CME Group. I feel that I can grow my career here because I am enabled to run with ideas or projects, but can leverage teamwork and collaborating with smart people to help set me up for success.

    Last year, I told my boss that I needed more collaboration and strategy in my day to day work to feel engaged, and he was able to put me on projects with visibility across divisions - I finished the year with a restored energy for my job.

    Cons

    You need to ask for something if you want it; don't just assume management knows what you need to be successful.

    CME Group Response

    Mar 15, 2017 – CME Group Careers Lead

    Thanks so much for your input. It’s always great to get positive feedback and hear that our employees are feeling empowered in the work that they do to help advance our business around the world.


  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great Work/Life Balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Architect in Chicago, IL
    Current Employee - Software Architect in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at CME Group full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    A lot of really skilled technical people work here doing interesting things. 40-hr weeks are the norm with work-from-home options for most tech workers. Decent salary and very good benefits.

    Cons

    Measures taken to reduce bureaucracy have led to more bureaucracy. There is always another process and yet another system to get simple things done.

    CME Group Response

    Aug 17, 2017 – CME Group Careers Lead

    Thanks for your review. We agree that we have some of the smartest people in the business working together to move our company forward. Our competitive total rewards program helps us attract this... More

  3. "Quality Assurance Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CME Group full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Good benefits, work life flexibility

    Cons

    Company Politics make it difficult for hard work people to rise up the ladder. Also, frequent frequent layoffs adds to low job stability.


  4. Helpful (1)

    "Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Intern - Intern in Chicago, IL
    Current Intern - Intern in Chicago, IL
    Recommends

    I have been working at CME Group as an intern

    Pros

    Very relaxed, lenient about start time, as long as you work 8 hours a day. Casual Fridays! I really think it depends on the department you work in. I got very lucky with mine.
    The internship program is great. A lot of networking events for interns, as well as intern events that allow us to network with other interns.

    Cons

    I have none so far.


  5. Helpful (7)

    "Mean and cutthroat technical people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Chicago, IL
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at CME Group full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Prestigious in the industry
    Flexible work times and schedules
    Good salary and benefits

    Cons

    Hard to be promoted
    Technical workers have a chip on their shoulders
    Bureaucratic
    Very slow paced
    People are allowed to be lazy when they are at higher levels

    Advice to Management

    Do some work. Be more involved in projects, realize that people on project teams are working hard, and need positive reinforcement sometimes. There is an overall negative tone from above. People should not be promoted into management just because of a history technical skills; if you do not have people skills or are lazy, you should probably not be in management.

    CME Group Response

    Jul 10, 2017 – CME Group Careers Lead

    We appreciate you highlighting our industry leadership and competitive compensation, benefits and work/life balance programs in your review. With respect to your other feedback, we encourage you to... More


  6. Helpful (4)

    "Nothing but cuts"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Chicago, IL
    Current Employee - Director in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at CME Group full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    We used to be cutting edge tech, now every project gets shelved. Lots of rework.

    Cons

    All we do is fix consultant work. Best team members pushed out, but "it's not about money". Lots of "we've always" "we've never" "no headcount".

    Advice to Management

    The major IT shops are firing thousands because their quality is awful and more expensive in the long run. My best guys left and recruits turn down offers

    CME Group Response

    Aug 17, 2017 – CME Group Careers Lead

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts. Technology is the largest division at the company, currently employing roughly 40% of our workforce. We also have a strong recruiting pipeline in place, hiring... More


  7. Helpful (10)

    "Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Chicago, IL
    Current Employee - Director in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at CME Group full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Work is broad based, tons of exposure to the industry. I am personally very proud to work here. It is a name brand and a great jumping stone for future jobs.

    Cons

    Executives consistently send the message that the average age is too high. They want young millennials thinking they will reinvent the wheel. They preach about wanting leaders but by leading they really mean following them and spreading their message to others. Layoffs are annual now and often secretive but everyone always finds out anyway. The company has been having difficulty growing revenue and so to please shareholders they lower expenses and salary is a large part of that. Many employees feel that they just have a job and not a career. We provide ample opportunities for growth to staff that are Manager and below but not to middle mgmt.

    Advice to Management

    Stop being phoney. Employees see thru it. You would be more effective if you were honest.

    CME Group Response

    Jun 5, 2017 – CME Group Careers Lead

    Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We couldn’t agree more with the pros you noted. As a leader in our industry, we’re focused on giving our employees the opportunity to do... More

  8. Helpful (1)

    "Good benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - N/A in Chicago, IL
    Former Employee - N/A in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at CME Group full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Good benefits and competitive salary

    Cons

    Constantly reorganizing, waves of lay offs which has created low morale


  9. Helpful (4)

    "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Chicago, IL
    Current Employee - Manager in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CME Group full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Talented co-workers, great work/life balance, leading company in the industry and also very innovative, strong compensation package

    Cons

    standard challenges of a large organization. Sometimes politics can get in the way of higher performers getting promoted

    Advice to Management

    Pay closer attention so you can know which employees are truly making an impact

    CME Group Response

    May 17, 2017 – CME Group Careers Lead

    Thank you for the input. We’re always happy to hear positive feedback. We also appreciate you sharing your thoughts on how we can do even better.


  10. Helpful (3)

    "Excellent employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Chicago, IL
    Current Employee - Director in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CME Group full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Benefits of working at CME group include the compensation program, excellent benefit package, work life balance. It's an exciting industry with lots of great people.

    Cons

    Sometimes the promotion process in general can be slower than expected and slower than other organizations. For some this is not a negative but can be for others.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work!

    CME Group Response

    May 17, 2017 – CME Group Careers Lead

    Thank you for your feedback – we couldn’t agree more on the pros you highlight. Career development is a key commitment we make to our employees. When it comes to promotions, 15% of our employees... More


Showing 278 of 538 reviews
Reset Filters