CMG Financial Reviews

Updated Apr 30, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.1
81%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
CMG Financial President and CEO Christopher George
Christopher George
112 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great systems and they know how to originate a loan(in 11 reviews)

  • "Great people to work with and learn from(in 9 reviews)

Cons
  • "I honestly cannot think of downsides to working at CMG Financial(in 11 reviews)

  • "No raises , no reviews what you start with is what you get(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Fantastic"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Specialist in San Ramon, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CMG Financial full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    CMG has been an incredible place to work, with wonderful coworkers and unique products. The hours are flexible and we have the ability to work from home, which is really convenient with a busy schedule. Everything is very efficient, especially with technology and workflow. The office is very forward-thinking, and we collaborate with the marketing department at the office on the East coast. The technology in the office is conducive to the work we're doing, along with video call meetings with the East coast office. The team is organized and driven, and we're able to enjoy the work day as well. It's also beneficial that we have flexibility in our work and the autonomy to create what we think is the best and most effective. I have never had another job where I feel comfortable picking up the phone to talk to the VP, and the communication between upper management and other employees is clear and efficient. Everyone is respected as an equally important part of the team, which really boosts office morale. Overall, I am very happy to be working at CMG.

    Cons

    There are none that I've encountered!

    Continue reading
    CMG Financial2019-06-10
  2. "Left and returned"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Loan Officer in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CMG Financial full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Everyone really cares about each other and the customers we help

    Cons

    Sometimes the overlays can be frustrating.

    Continue reading
    CMG Financial2020-04-23
  3. "Disclosure Sensation Across the Nation - 2 months in"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Disclosure Coordinator in Phoenix, AZ

    I have been working at CMG Financial full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    My team lead and teammates are always helpful, as there is a lot of little things to learn that have to be done correctly, no ifs, ands, or buts. My supervisor seems to be invested in mine and my team's growth, and even though our interactions have been few, he's always cordial, professional, and clear in his communication. The pay here is decent at around $15, and sometimes the overtime is uncapped due to volume needs.

    Cons

    The company seems to value disclosures the least, especially when compared to the loan officers and their employees. Because of the nature of the mortgage business, for 1 to 2 days you have almost nothing to send, and other weeks you are slammed every day. Also, so far, keeping in mind there have been no performance reviews yet, there is not a lot of feedback about how to grow other than managing your pipeline and sending more than you did on previous days.

    Continue reading
    CMG Financial2020-04-30
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Will use and abuse you"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mortgage Loan Closer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at CMG Financial full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -Most positions allow you to work remotely

    Cons

    -Will take you for all you have- late nights and early mornings and still will not appreciate you -Tell you to watch the OT then give you 10 loans to work and say you are approved for OT -No matter how hard you work its never good enough -You can go over and beyond and they will still find a way to knock you down -You can do 100 good things, they will comment and point out the 1 error -Post closing is a JOKE -Favoritism and Nepotism runs deep -Don't expect a raise -Never voice your opinion or tell them they are wrong -Management wants you to be their puppet -Management is full of bullies and never listens to the employees -Lays off every time the industry is slow

    Continue reading
    CMG Financial2020-04-22

    CMG Financial Response

    April 30, 2020HR Special Projects Manager

    CMG cares about our employees and the feedback received, and CMG leadership encourages all employees to express any concerns. If employees do not feel heard by their direct manager, CMG wants them to feel comfortable voicing issues to their Human Resources Business Partner. The HRBPs are always available and are committed to addressing concerns accordingly. We will continue to treat all employees fairly and are continuously working to better the employee experience.

  5. "One of the best closing teams"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mortgage Closer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CMG Financial full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Down to earth management, Bonus Structure, Positive Environment

    Cons

    High file count; messy incomplete loans from processing

    CMG Financial2020-04-07
  6. "Yay!"

    2.0
    Former Employee - Registration Coordinator in Lake Oswego, OR

    I worked at CMG Financial full-time

    Pros

    Paycheck and insurance works I guess

    Cons

    Everything else About it really

    CMG Financial2020-03-12
  7. "Get computers working better!"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Manager in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CMG Financial full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people, great marketing, great products, transparency, and overall amazing company to work for

    Cons

    The computers are so slow & freeze up constantly when they are working. The LOS system is always down. The VPN is a pain for working b/c it bumps you out after only 2 mins of no activity, then you have to log back in. Overall, the computer systems are horrible here and it's caused enough frustration that I'm wondering if I made the right move to this company.

    Continue reading
    CMG Financial2020-02-26

    CMG Financial Response

    February 28, 2020HR Special Projects Manager

    CMG really appreciates the feedback received from employees. Our technology infrastructure is of the highest priority, and our Information Technology team is working diligently to continue to resolve issues. We appreciate the patience of all CMG employees.

  8. Helpful (1)

    "Discrimination Bias and Good Old Boys"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mortgage Officer in Coronado, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at CMG Financial full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free coffee, nice marketing department -but that's only for the few

    Cons

    Pricing is rigged and changed per branch; Favoritism is the norm; those who produce big get money, better pricing, assistants and advertising free; employees work unpaid overtime always; no privacy; discrimination is encouraged. White male management that refuses to reimburse employees for pre approved expenses. Refuses to follow any employment laws

    CMG Financial2020-03-06

    CMG Financial Response

    March 9, 2020HR Special Projects Manager

    CMG cares about our employees and the feedback received. Human Resources responsibility is to ensure a safe, healthy work environment for all. They are available to discuss any concerns employees have and always address concerns accordingly. We will continue to treat all employees fairly and are continuously working to better the employee experience. Please feel free to contact Melissa Harbourne, Vice President, HR, at mharbourne@cmgfi.com to discuss at any time.

  9. "Top Notch Company!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vendor Specialist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CMG Financial full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great group to work with. They seem to really care about making a difference with every customer - every time!

    Cons

    Nothing to comment here.

    CMG Financial2019-12-30
  10. "Excellent On Boarding and company to work for"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Loan Processor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at CMG Financial full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The on boarding made me feel so welcome! Everything was provided to me in a timely manor and I felt like everyone on the Red team cared about getting me up and Running. I am a remote employee and my first day was walking into my office in the spare room and not driving to the office. I thought I would feel in the dark and not know how to get started, it was the opposite! The onboarding and starting with CMG was top notch! and now that I have been here a while I still feel very welcome and very busy and the company is great to work for. I especially loved receiving the 1st day gifts, I received a CMG coffee Mug, Logo work polo shirt, organizer and stress ball! :) The introduction to everyone on the team was very warm and welcoming. I feel very blessed to have found this company.

    Cons

    So far no complaints

    CMG Financial2019-12-30
Found 160 reviews