CMG Financial Reviews

Updated Apr 30, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.5
92%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
CMG Financial President and CEO Christopher George
Christopher George
163 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great systems and they know how to originate a loan(in 12 reviews)

  • "Great people with great attitudes(in 11 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "I have yet to experience anything negative, I wholeheartedly recommend working at CMG(in 13 reviews)

  • "No reviews no raises and if they dislike you they fire you(in 8 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years
      Featured Review

      Phenomenal company to be a part of

      Feb 4, 2021 - Business Applications Director in Baltimore, MD
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Amazing leadership who care about their teams - Passionate coworkers who are always helpful - Recent updates to internal communication has made it so easy to recognize employees across the company

      Cons

      None that I can think of

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      CMG Financial Response

      HR Special Projects Manager

      We agree that CMG Life has greatly enhanced our team communication at CMG! We are happy to hear your positive feedback.

    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Amazing Company

      Apr 29, 2021 - Production Assistant in Charlotte, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Amazing support from an incredible management and operations team.

      Cons

      I have nothing to complain about!

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      CMG Financial Response

      HR Special Projects Manager

      Thank you for sharing feedback about your experience at CMG!

    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      So happy to be part of the CMG Team!

      Apr 27, 2021 - Operations 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      CMG has been a breath of fresh air! Growing company that operates with employee first values. Management has taken a safety first approach during the past year, which is really appreciated by employees.

      Cons

      None that come to mind!

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      CMG Financial Response

      HR Special Projects Manager

      So happy to hear you are enjoying the CMG Life updates!

    4. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Not what it used to be

      Apr 30, 2021 - Wholesale Operations in San Ramon, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      1) They pay great. When the market is crazy hot and no one is micromanaging the OT, they pay ridiculously great. 2) Their All-In-One mortgage loan is the most innovative product the industry has to offer. Truly brilliant.

      Cons

      I hate saying these things because I remember a time when it was different... 1) Operations doesn't work with Sales, they work FOR Sales. 2) Were you bullied in high school? Get ready for more of that. The office politics are killer. 3) If they can only get 2 out of 3 - Quality, Speed or Volume they will always choose the last two. 4) Be prepared to check your principles at the door every morning. It's a hostile place for those of us who don't. 5) You can be replaced. They'll remind you if you forget. 6) Ask a question. Get an answer. Doesn't matter if it's the wrong answer or if the answer you get is not even relatedto the question you asked. Do what your told. 7) Have a suggestion or an opinion? Are you #1 or #2 in Sales? No? Then keep it to yourself. 8) HR is not here to help you, they're there to protect the company from you. I have more, but if you still need to hear it when the only real Pro is great pay then the 2 of you will probably get along great...

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      CMG Financial Response

      HR Special Projects Manager

      Thank you for taking the time to share feedback regarding your experiences at CMG. You raise several points that we would appreciate the opportunity to address directly. It is of the utmost importance to CMG’s leadership that we all work to identify solutions to challenges brought forth by employees. Please reach out to your assigned Human Resources Business Partner or to Melissa Harbourne, SVP Human Resources, at mharbourne@cmgfi.com to discuss.

    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      2 month review

      Apr 26, 2021 - Mortgage Loan Processor in Mount Laurel, NJ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      everyone is professional and great to work with. Happy to be a part of the team.

      Cons

      N/A- everything is great here

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      CMG Financial Response

      HR Special Projects Manager

      Thank you for taking the time to provide comments about your first two months at CMG! We are excited you have chosen to work with us!

    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      I love it here

      Apr 2, 2021 - Loan Officer in The Woodlands, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The comradery that I have experienced here is unparalleled in all of the places that I have worked. Kudos must be given to Diane Keigley and Graham Dodson. This was definitely the right choice for me.

      Cons

      None to note. Just navigating the way things are done here and there is nothing anyone can do until you submit and close your first loan so that you can get the process down completely.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Great Company - Great Management!

      Apr 21, 2021 - Licensed Mortgage Loan Originator in Las Vegas, NV
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Best Branch Manager in the business!

      Cons

      Loved working for the company, hard to compete with FDIC/NCUA rates.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      CMG Financial Response

      HR Special Projects Manager

      Thank you for sharing your experiences with CMG! Great to hear that you enjoyed working with your Branch Manager - we have really fantastic team members all throughout CMG!

    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Best year since I started

      Nov 14, 2020 - Secondary/Cap Markets/Corr in San Ramon, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I have worked for CMG for a little over 3 years in Secondary & Capital Markets, it has been fun and challenging the time I have been here and each year I would say has been a little above average. I am only leaving this review because the way this company, my direct manager, and my managers manager, have handled the COVID-19 Pandemic and how much I have learned and feel like I am making a difference, has made me someone who will stay here for life! Or as long as they will keep me :) I feel the entire company is at its best and more communicative now than we have ever been before. I am not sure if working from home or if it forced CMG to communicate differently since we are not physically there. But whatever it is, I hope we get to keep this moving forward because I have grown so much this year and have more interaction with my manager and his direct manager more than ever and have learned a TON. I dont know how they do it, both of them wear many hats (especially my managers manager, he works so hard) and i are always happy.

      Cons

      Byte Bites. So does VMWare. So does system downtime.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 3.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Review

      Apr 28, 2021 - Administrative 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      work from home, ability to have flexible hours

      Cons

      Short on personnel, low work life balance, pay could be higher for work required

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      CMG Financial Response

      HR Special Projects Manager

      Thank you for taking the time to share some comments about your experience at CMG. We encourage all employees to reach out to discuss any challenges they may be facing. If you would like to discuss available resources or thoughts about work-life balance, please reach out to your manager or to your assigned Human Resources Business Partner.

    10. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great company for experienced LO’s

      Apr 5, 2021 - Mortgage Loan Officer in Austin, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Quick processes and closing ability, minimal overlays, good amount of products to offer, no micromanaging

      Cons

      Rates/pricing could be better, lack of training on how to better utilize resources, no real guidance or mentor ship if you want to level up your production

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      CMG Financial Response

      HR Special Projects Manager

      Thank you for providing feedback about your experiences at CMG, especially the advice about mentorship. CMG leadership wants to hear from employees as to how the overall experience can be improved. Please feel free to talk with your manager or your Human Resources Business Partner about any challenges you are having, so that they can be addressed in a timely manner.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 229 Reviews

    Popular Careers with CMG Financial Job Seekers

    Mortgage Loan Processor
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Junior Quality Control Analyst
    Learn About the Job
    Marketing and Communications Coordinator
    Learn About the Job
    Human Resources Business Partner
    Learn About the Job
    Branch Marketing Coordinator
    Learn About the Job

    Work at CMG Financial? Share Your Experiences

    CMG Financial logo
    or