CMG Financial Reviews | Glassdoor

CMG Financial Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 104 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
41%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
Christopher George
67 Ratings
  1. Helpful (9)

    "Underwriter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Underwriter 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at CMG Financial full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Ability to work from home

    Cons

    Nepotism and favoritism are the flavors of the day. Zero support from management as they are too busy covering their rears. Managers lacking in experience and don't have basic management 101 training. Employees' personal business is shared by Managers with other employees. Training and advancement opportunities are extended to family members first. Do not believe promises made at hiring- they won't happen....

    Show More
    CMG Financial2018-07-21
  2. Helpful (8)

    "Weary from the start"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Sales in San Ramon, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at CMG Financial full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    My co-workers & Supervisor were the best part of the job. The founder seems to be a caring person from the email communications sent to all employees.

    Cons

    The Senior Executives were not trustworthy. It was immediately apparent to the entire team. My Supervisor continually struggled to get responses from HR or the Senior Executives to critical information our team needed to do our jobs effectively. Too many stages of approval for simple decisions.

    Advice to Management

    The CEO needs to use much caution when heeding advice from those he considers to be his "most trusted." They are not out to protect the company, only looking to self-serve themselves. Final thought, hire a CFO. There are shady people presently steering your ship.

    CMG Financial2018-06-11
  3. Helpful (4)

    "Funder"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Funder in Irving, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at CMG Financial full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    I love this company and the direction they are heading.

    Cons

    Poor management in some areas, it’s really sad

    Advice to Management

    Hire someone who is qualified for the position in management

    CMG Financial2018-05-31
  4. Helpful (11)

    "Nepotism!! Beware! It’s out of control"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mortgage Underwriter in Irving, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at CMG Financial full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Health and dental insurance and some pto

    Cons

    No direction. No planning when there is downtime (meanwhile other companies are busy). We just sit idle. A couple of the managers are terrible at communication.

    Advice to Management

    What do you say to managers whose kids work there and get special treatment and a ton of work (as others sit idle) just to bonus. True story Get a clue maybe?

    CMG Financial2018-04-17
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Retail Instructional Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at CMG Financial full-time

    Pros

    Very friendly people. Good culture.

    Cons

    They don't seem to plan for known down times in the Mortgage Industry, and therefore have to lay people off when things slow down.

    CMG Financial2018-03-12
  6. "Mortgage Loan Processor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mortgage Loan Processor in Pinehurst, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at CMG Financial full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work life balance is good.

    Cons

    Management did not provide appropriate guidance

    CMG Financial2018-02-28
  7. "Best place I ever worked."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Corporate Videographer in Baltimore, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CMG Financial full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    When I walk into the office in the morning, I feel calm and welcome. I know what I have to do, and if I don't, there are 3 people I can call to find out. Everyone is clear about what they need and when they need it, but they still listen when I tell them what it will take to meet those goals.

    Cons

    Though we have a bicoastal staff meeting every morning, there isn't a whole lot of collaboration yet between the employees in different roles. This sometimes leads to effort duplication, and sometimes it leads to contradictory requests being given to one or more employees. While the lack of direct oversight makes me feel trusted, it also lets some important questions remain unanswered for hours or days, when those answers...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    The cons I mentioned above are already being addressed by management, and my advice would be for them to keep improving like they have been. More direct orders and stricter timelines would help me and other employees proceed with a surer sense of direction and a better idea of priorities. And I think the company could definitely afford to be more liberal when it comes to expenses like equipment and meals.

    CMG Financial2017-11-03
  8. Helpful (11)

    "A Nightmare with A Family Vibe"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mortgage Loan Officer 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at CMG Financial full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    The people are GREAT. Literally almost everyone, I can only identify 1-2 people I've interacted with from management down that I didn't thoroughly enjoy.

    Cons

    ZERO processes or support where needed. No onboarding/training process to speak of, people that are hardly qualified for their job working from home instead of the office where they can learn and improve, and management that spends more time putting out fires and getting loans through the pipeline than actually managing people.

    Advice to Management

    Take a step back, stop trying to grow so fast, and recognize that CMG doesn't even have the processes in place to support the business they do now, let alone to be adding branches monthly.

    CMG Financial2017-10-26
  9. "Transaction Processor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CMG Financial full-time

    Pros

    Lots of training, great people to work with

    Cons

    Don't have any just yet

    CMG Financial2017-10-10
  10. "Every Customer, Every Time, No Exceptions, No Excuses!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Satisfied Employee In Accounting in San Ramon, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CMG Financial full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    For me, it's all about the people. In our company I would with great people and am part of a fantastic team that functions very much like a family. The core values of the company align with my personal values and allow me to place the highest priority on integrity and internal and external customer service. I couldn't ask for more in an employer.

    Cons

    Sometimes the volume of work to be done makes it difficult to provide the kind of customer service I would prefer, but it also gives a chance for us to become more creative in doing so.

    Advice to Management

    Stay the course you are on and continue to learn and adapt as you receive feedback; which you are already doing. I have enjoyed this company more and more each year I have served, which must mean we are learning from each other. Awesome!

    CMG Financial2017-10-10
Found 104 reviews