CMG Financial Reviews | Glassdoor

CMG Financial Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 103 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
43%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
Christopher George
65 Ratings
  1. Helpful (6)

    "Wonderful managers wish it was more stable"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at CMG Financial full-time

    Pros

    Wonderful culture and direct managers

    Cons

    Beef up staff in March, lay off in December

    CMG Financial2017-08-14
  2. Helpful (7)

    "Snr. manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at CMG Financial full-time

    Pros

    Really can't think of anything positive to say so I'll say nothing

    Cons

    The worst place to work ever. Systems are terrible with no flexibility and reps are not able to help customers due to extremely rigid systems/processes

    Advice to Management

    Get into the 20th century - update systems, leverage automation and give reps the ability to help people instead of always saying "Sorry"

    CMG Financial2017-08-18
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Great culture and benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Loan Processor in Nashville, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CMG Financial full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, competitive pay, bonus incentives, and lots of training.

    Cons

    LO teams are not managed well by corporate and team mates can be overworked and have a hard time finding work/life balance.

    Advice to Management

    Forced hiring to relieve some stress and workload on LO teams

    CMG Financial2017-06-14
  4. Helpful (6)

    "More Experience at the Top"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at CMG Financial full-time

    Pros

    This company has a good flow . The produce a lot of loans therefore they are lucrative.

    Cons

    No support from management. The reason for no support is no or very limited knowledge of the industry. No credentials...

    Advice to Management

    Screen upper management or test before hiring. Treat employees like they matter.

    CMG Financial2017-06-13
  5. Helpful (8)

    "All in the Family"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Loan Processor in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at CMG Financial full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Decent salary, lots of programs, great corporation. Christopher George is brilliant and corporate values are of the highest standard.

    Cons

    Training is a couple of days looking over someone shoulder who is too busy to train you. Totally on the job training with trail and error as the results.Problem is so many people in this office are related. Employees everyone loves just happen to be the daughters of the supervisors and get lots of overtime and rave reviews. Not my favorite job.

    Advice to Management

    Provide real training to new employees with someone who has time to teach them. Also, there is a reason most companies do not let you work directly for someone you are related to. It might be the reason for the huge turnover rate.

    CMG Financial2017-06-02
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Awesome Opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in San Ramon, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CMG Financial full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I've found CMG to have some of the most loyal and dedicated employees that I've ever seen at prior employers. If you are a hard working and committed person, CMG has an opportunity for you. There is so much support from management to allow employees that are doing well to transition into other roles, where applicable. Meritocracy is pervasive within the organization. Sr. management is disciplined and thoughtful in...

    Show More

    Cons

    I see lots of opportunities to make positive changes within the organization and I believe management supports me every step of the way! And, btw, I love the challenge, so this is really a 'Pro' in my mind.

    Advice to Management

    Stay the course through a disciplined and conservative approach as we navigate through interesting political times. I believe we're on the right path!

    CMG Financial2017-05-23
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Business Analyst in Baltimore, MD
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CMG Financial full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Wonderful, down to earth senior management team - Has a really good HR/payroll/benefits team that is very prompt in handling issues

    Cons

    - There needs to more communication regarding company progress from the senior management

    Advice to Management

    Come up with more ways to interact with your employees to spread company culture

    CMG Financial2017-05-22
  8. "Great company to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Manager in Scottsdale, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CMG Financial full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Open lines of communication throughout company

    Cons

    Can put the cart before the horse on policy.

    CMG Financial2017-05-18
  9. Helpful (13)

    "former employee in scottsdale wholesale"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Scottsdale, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at CMG Financial full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    my boss was great until he wasn't. once you are disliked you will be forced out sooner or later. however; the benefits are great in comparison to what i've found after. i paid $250 a check for everything for my entire family. my next job was twice that!

    Cons

    worked here 3 years and 4 months; not a single review. not once; also no raises ever. i was finally given a raise when i threatened to leave. despite knowledge, hard work and dedication there was zero growth opportunities. i finally burned myself out and quit. very who you know company; make friends with the right people and you're good regardless of abilities.

    Advice to Management

    get your account managers to do their jobs rather than allowing them to pass it off to underwriting or registration. or even sales. I have never seen such a useless group of employees as the wholesale account managers. set up an actual review and raise system.

    CMG Financial2017-05-13
  10. Helpful (6)

    "Be Careful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Irving, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at CMG Financial full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Good work environment and ability to work from home on occasion.

    Cons

    No performance reviews and no expected raises. A lot of nepotism and favoritism throughout the company.

    Advice to Management

    Review an employee on a regular basis so they know how they are doing. There should be a policy for pay increases for good employees not just those that are related or know someone to get what they want.

    CMG Financial2017-05-02
Found 103 reviews