CMG Financial "loans" Reviews | Glassdoor

CMG Financial Employee Reviews about "loans"

Updated Jun 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 107 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
50%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Christopher George
69 Ratings
Pros
  • "Working for CMG is the best Lending Company experience in my 16 years working on loans(in 7 reviews)

  • "Great benefits, competitive pay, bonus incentives, and lots of training(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "Bottomline CMG can careless about their staff(in 8 reviews)

  • "No raises unless you threaten to leave(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "loans"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Production Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Production Assistant 
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CMG Financial full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Family oriented company. Good benefits. Innovative loan programs

    Cons

    Marketing department is not good and promises more than they actually do

    CMG Financial2018-12-01
  2. Helpful (6)

    "underwriter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Underwriter in Irving, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at CMG Financial full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Opportunity to work tough files and hone skill of getting a loan approved. It's an income source.

    Cons

    No annual review nor salary adjustments. Management displays gross disparity to employees, if you are not a personal friend or family member, not much potential for growth opportunities. Company location is sub-par as building needs updates, no cafeteria or deli nor vending machine and distance to restaurants eat up lunch break.

    CMG Financial2018-11-30

    CMG Financial Response

    March 20, 2019Human Resources Business Partner

    Performance Management is a priority for the Human Resources Department and CMG. We are currently looking into several processes and hope to have one in place very soon. We strive to provide a environment for employees to enjoy working with. Feedback/communication is key and is ...

    Show More
  3. Helpful (11)

    "A Nightmare with A Family Vibe"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mortgage Loan Officer 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at CMG Financial full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people are GREAT. Literally almost everyone, I can only identify 1-2 people I've interacted with from management down that I didn't thoroughly enjoy.

    Cons

    ZERO processes or support where needed. No onboarding/training process to speak of, people that are hardly qualified for their job working from home instead of the office where they can learn and improve, and management that spends more time putting out fires and getting loans through the pipeline than actually managing people.

    Advice to Management

    Take a step back, stop trying to grow so fast, and recognize that CMG doesn't even have the processes in place to support the business they do now, let alone to be adding branches monthly.

    CMG Financial2017-10-26
  4. Helpful (6)

    "More Experience at the Top"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at CMG Financial full-time

    Pros

    This company has a good flow . The produce a lot of loans therefore they are lucrative.

    Cons

    No support from management. The reason for no support is no or very limited knowledge of the industry. No credentials...

    Advice to Management

    Screen upper management or test before hiring. Treat employees like they matter.

    CMG Financial2017-06-13
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Loan Officer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Loan Officer in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CMG Financial

    Pros

    LOVE this company. Fair and competitive compensation, good managerial support, good technical support, Excellent support team provided for submitting loans, great learning tools available to keep up on lending rules and changes. Good TEAM feeling. I will never work for another lending company.

    Cons

    Need to sharpen communication procedures, but I know that is in the works. Sometimes one underwriter will approve something that another underwriter will not.

    Advice to Management

    I wish underwriters would respond to my emails/phone calls. Seems like i have to get management involved to get a resolution.

    CMG Financial2016-12-28
  6. "Senior Loan Processor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Loan Processor in Coronado, CA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CMG Financial for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I have exemplary Management both from my Branch level and Corp. Working for CMG is the best Lending Company experience in my 16 years working on loans. I hope to retire for this boutique styled company that cares about both their borrowers and their employees.

    Cons

    Short on support staff at times

    CMG Financial2016-12-27
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Very Happy at CMG"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Manager in Coronado, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at CMG Financial full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Competitive rates, quick turn-times, can-do attitude / supportive staff at corporate, good leadership on branch and corporate level. Everybody at my branch seems to be very happy and everybody at corporate is very friendly. Good size company - not too big, not too small. 2014 Scotsman Guide had 7 top producers in San Diego - 4 of those 7 were with CMG Financial. Good place to be if you want to originate loans in a...

    Show More

    Cons

    Experiencing some growing-pains, but that is to be expected with a successful company that is expanding. Company may sometimes roll out new applications a bit prematurely, but they are quick to fix issues.

    Advice to Management

    Continue listening to suggestions for improvement from sales and operations staff - they are the boots on the ground and their advice is vital.

    CMG Financial2015-12-03
  8. Helpful (8)

    "Proceed with caution"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Ramon, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at CMG Financial full-time

    Pros

    Flexible working hours/arrangements, friendly atmosphere among staff, generally commonsense credit guidelines and policy

    Cons

    As an employer in general, CMG leaves a lot to be desired. As a way for the company to save money on staff, there is no employee review or raise process, so the rate that you are hired at is the rate you will stay for the length of your employment with them unless you are able to negotiate yourself a raise. There is a lot of talk at the top about work ethic and values, but as a production employee it becomes obvious that...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    As long as ownership of the company stays the same I wouldn't expect much to change, but just be aware that your high turnover rates are because you are losing good employees over poor and ineffective management and oversight.

    CMG Financial2015-08-28
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Unprofessional"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at CMG Financial full-time

      Pros

      The company focuses on wholesale business across the USA and is basically a Fannie and Ginnie lender. Good sale commissions and they leave you alone. Loans close as long as they fit in the box. Loan operations etc. are above average.

      Cons

      Terrible Jumbo products, nepotism to the extreme, management plays favorites, no DPA programs, no marketing support, little product offering. Management is insulated and does not like any constructive feedback. Managers come and go with frequency. Management views the sales force with suspicion.

      Advice to Management

      Criticism doesn't mean one is not a team player...just the opposite.

      CMG Financial2015-05-14
    Found 107 reviews