CN Conductor Reviews | Glassdoor

CN Conductor Reviews

Updated Aug 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 56 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
29%
Recommend to a Friend
52%
Approve of CEO
CN CEO Jean-Jacques Ruest
Jean-Jacques Ruest
4 Ratings
  1. "conductor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Freight Conductor in Baton Rouge, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CN for more than 10 years

    Pros

    good benefits - good pay- room for advancement -great co workers - good schedule for the extra board

    Cons

    work on call then work nights for a long time

    Advice to Management

    eliminate conductor only jobs

    CN2014-09-11
  2. "Conductor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Freight Conductor 

    I worked at CN full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    •Pay •Benefits •Work different jobs •Work with different people

    Cons

    •No work life balance •On call all the time •Management

    Advice to Management

    Treat everyone fairly!

    CN2019-08-14
  3. "Great pay and that's it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Conductor in Battle Creek, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at CN full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Money money money and that is it

    Cons

    It will be your entire life They dont care about you in any way. You are a warm body.

    Advice to Management

    Treat people right and worry less about your bonus

    CN2019-07-15
  4. "One of the best"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Railroad Conductor in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at CN full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay, benefits, fair management, variety

    Cons

    I had no negative experiences when I was there, but I also like the extra board lifestyle and variety.

    CN2019-05-09
  5. "conductor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Railroad Conductor in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at CN for more than 5 years

    Pros

    pay is really good money

    Cons

    working hours are uneven and long

    Advice to Management

    dont micro manage

    CN2018-09-21
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Freight Conductor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Freight Conductor in Fond du Lac, WI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CN full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    This job has allowed me to live financially well. There is a lot of room for growth as well.

    Cons

    It is extremely hard to have a family life with the long hours and overnight stays. Management isn’t as focused about Leading as they are Managing.

    Advice to Management

    I would advise management to get to know their employees better. If they allow themselves into others lives, they may understand what works and what doesn’t amongst us that are moving freight.

    CN2018-07-12
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Freight Conductor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Railroad Conductor in Champaign, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at CN

    Pros

    Excellent pay, benefits. Ability to do most work the way you want to do it. Most employees are easy to get along with and professional.

    Cons

    Long hours, unpredictable schedule, irregular shifts. No regular schedule jobs to look forward to as your seniority progresses. Attendance policy is not great either.

    Advice to Management

    None really, to be honest that is the culture of the railroad industry. Employees in transportation work odd hours and are away from home quite often - thats just the nature of the business.

    CN2017-04-14
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Good pay and Benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Conductor in Jackson, MS
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at CN full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay, Insurance. Getting to know other railroaders, comraderie. Working outside can be great during the right times of year. Pay

    Cons

    Management style. Type of people they promote to management. Using scare tactics instead of coaching properly.

    Advice to Management

    throw away the current system and start over. Hire people who can motivate others instead of using scare tactics because honestly we're grown men and women. We're not scared of you, you just irritate us.

    CN2016-02-01
  9. Helpful (6)

    "Cond"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Freight Conductor in Chicago, IL

    I have been working at CN full-time

    Pros

    Great experiences, travel, working with good people, great pay, great benefits, excellent railroad experience

    Cons

    Poor management, long hours, doing "favors" for management who will turn around and fire you with no recollection of all of the hard, extra work you did to make them look good so they can collect their bonus.

    Advice to Management

    Quit calling me on my day off. No, I'm not coming in, and no I won't ever come in on my day off. Every time you come in, there's a risk you might get fired.

    CN2016-01-08
  10. "Conductor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Freight Conductor in Burlington, KY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at CN for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great career. Excellent salary, benefits, and coworkers.

    Cons

    On call 24/7, work in tough weather,

    CN2016-01-22
Found 56 reviews