CN Freight Conductor Reviews | Glassdoor

CN Freight Conductor Reviews

Updated Aug 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 18 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
41%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
CN CEO Jean-Jacques Ruest
Jean-Jacques Ruest
1 Ratings
  1. "conductor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Freight Conductor in Baton Rouge, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CN for more than 10 years

    Pros

    good benefits - good pay- room for advancement -great co workers - good schedule for the extra board

    Cons

    work on call then work nights for a long time

    Advice to Management

    eliminate conductor only jobs

    CN2014-09-11
  2. "Conductor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Freight Conductor 

    I worked at CN full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    •Pay •Benefits •Work different jobs •Work with different people

    Cons

    •No work life balance •On call all the time •Management

    Advice to Management

    Treat everyone fairly!

    CN2019-08-14
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Freight Conductor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Freight Conductor in Fond du Lac, WI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CN full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    This job has allowed me to live financially well. There is a lot of room for growth as well.

    Cons

    It is extremely hard to have a family life with the long hours and overnight stays. Management isn’t as focused about Leading as they are Managing.

    Advice to Management

    I would advise management to get to know their employees better. If they allow themselves into others lives, they may understand what works and what doesn’t amongst us that are moving freight.

    CN2018-07-12
  4. Helpful (6)

    "Cond"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Freight Conductor in Chicago, IL

    I have been working at CN full-time

    Pros

    Great experiences, travel, working with good people, great pay, great benefits, excellent railroad experience

    Cons

    Poor management, long hours, doing "favors" for management who will turn around and fire you with no recollection of all of the hard, extra work you did to make them look good so they can collect their bonus.

    Advice to Management

    Quit calling me on my day off. No, I'm not coming in, and no I won't ever come in on my day off. Every time you come in, there's a risk you might get fired.

    CN2016-01-08
  5. "Conductor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Freight Conductor in Burlington, KY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at CN for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great career. Excellent salary, benefits, and coworkers.

    Cons

    On call 24/7, work in tough weather,

    CN2016-01-22
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Never home, always working and tired, but get paid for it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Freight Conductor in Memphis, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at CN

    Pros

    Great pay and benefits, You can easily make $120,000 a year with great health benefits and RailRoad retirement.

    Cons

    Layoffs and Furloughs are common. They went on a hiring spree and hired way to many conductors, then they furloughed them all months later.

    Advice to Management

    Give the employees a break, give them health insurance during a furlough.

    CN2015-09-22
  7. "Working for CN"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Freight Conductor in North Battleford, SK

    I have been working at CN full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good wage, lots of job opportunity’s available

    Cons

    Dealing with old time rail road workers, the hours are absolutely unpredictable, poor lifestyle , everything is seniority based

    CN2019-06-19
  8. "Conductor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Freight Conductor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at CN full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    good pay, great benefits, pension

    Cons

    erratic hours, working outdoors in all kinds of weather

    CN2018-04-24
  9. "Long Hours, decent Pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Freight Conductor in Winnipeg, MB
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at CN full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Pay Benefits People you work with Good travel Pension

    Cons

    Management On call Long hours Away from home Working at 2 in the morning

    Advice to Management

    Be nice to employees

    CN2018-03-11
  10. Helpful (6)

    "The real truth about CN rail"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Freight Conductor in Edmonton, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at CN full-time

    Pros

    Pay if you have seniority Good co workers Great pension and benefits Only 8 hour shifts in the yard which is nice if your use to working oilfield.

    Cons

    Weird hours No way to plan anything out So when you go through training they send you to Winnipeg for 7 weeks. It's not to bad, decent hotel and they give you 3 meals a day which aren't the best but do the trick. You get paid horribly for 6 months ( the recruiter will tell you it's only while your in school but it's actually 5-6 months till you qualify) it's 900$ a weeks. Just be prepared for the horrible shifts/ hours...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Relax it's just a job.

    CN2017-10-11
Found 18 reviews