CN Railroad Conductor Reviews | Glassdoor

CN Railroad Conductor Reviews

Updated Aug 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 13 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
28%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
CN CEO Jean-Jacques Ruest
Jean-Jacques Ruest
1 Ratings
  1. "One of the best"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Railroad Conductor in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at CN full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay, benefits, fair management, variety

    Cons

    I had no negative experiences when I was there, but I also like the extra board lifestyle and variety.

    CN2019-05-09
  2. "conductor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Railroad Conductor in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at CN for more than 5 years

    Pros

    pay is really good money

    Cons

    working hours are uneven and long

    Advice to Management

    dont micro manage

    CN2018-09-21
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Freight Conductor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Railroad Conductor in Champaign, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at CN

    Pros

    Excellent pay, benefits. Ability to do most work the way you want to do it. Most employees are easy to get along with and professional.

    Cons

    Long hours, unpredictable schedule, irregular shifts. No regular schedule jobs to look forward to as your seniority progresses. Attendance policy is not great either.

    Advice to Management

    None really, to be honest that is the culture of the railroad industry. Employees in transportation work odd hours and are away from home quite often - thats just the nature of the business.

    CN2017-04-14
  4. "Conductor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Railroad Conductor in Champaign, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at CN full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Scheduled days off, Guaranteed weekly pay, Great Insurance

    Cons

    Long hours, Ran with as few employees as possible, Strict rules enforcement and discipline.

    CN2015-12-04
  5. "trainmaster"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Railroad Conductor 

    I have been working at CN full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    good pay and job security

    Cons

    not family oriented and no work home balance

    CN2019-08-12
  6. "Challenging Work Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Railroad Conductor in Surrey, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at CN full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Amazing money if one is able to work long distance to/from Boston Bar and is available 24/7, 365 days a year.

    Cons

    No work/life balance. Very long hours. Away from home 8 to 40 hours. Work days, nights, graveyards, holidays, weekends. Little rest. Poor benefits. Dirty, wet, cold work environment. Difficult, unsupportive managers. Team members share responsibility, which may lead to termination for those who did not make a mistake.

    CN2019-01-04
  7. "Conductor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Railroad Conductor in Edmonton, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CN full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good paycheck for people who don't want to go to school and start earning in 90s from 18yrs age.

    Cons

    Long and unscheduled hours. Good for single or someone who don't care about family time. Bot for everyone

    Advice to Management

    Let employee change department unless you don't care if they get divorced. And let people the loa for there own wedding

    CN2018-09-13
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Conductor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Railroad Conductor in Calgary, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at CN full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great pay, fantastic co workers

    Cons

    Schedule is unreadable, may get weeks without pay for putting on to many hand breaks like I did

    Advice to Management

    Stop with the punishment culture and let us work together to make it safer instead of us being fearful of making tiny mistakes

    CN2018-01-15
  9. "conductor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Railroad Conductor in Sarnia, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at CN

    Pros

    Money is very good time off good

    Cons

    bad hours weather conditions 24 hours

    CN2017-05-05
  10. Helpful (9)

    "Decent pay but so-so work/life balance."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Railroad Conductor in Edmonton, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at CN full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Decent pay considering you don't need any previous training. Only needed a GED and there were even talks about removing that requirement. Company matched RRSP and stocks. Depending on how busy it is you may work overtime or work extra shifts(can be good or bad) but at a larger terminal you were never forced to do more work. Dental, health, vision, life insurance benefits offered from day 1. Brand new training facility...

    Show More

    Cons

    Biggest con is the work and life balance. New employees once finished with training are typically put on the "spareboard" which means you are randomly assigned to areas where work is needed. This can be anywhere from road jobs (taking freight from city to city) or working at any yards within your terminal. This can also mean being forced to another city or town where they are short workers. There is a 2 hour minimum...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Get a clue and learn to sympathize with employees. Work is sometimes tough and will only get done when we all work together... That means you can lend a hand from time to time as well.

    CN2017-02-02
Found 13 reviews