CN Reviews | Glassdoor

CN Reviews

Updated Sep 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 469 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
54%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
CN CEO Jean-Jacques Ruest
Jean-Jacques Ruest
57 Ratings
  1. "Communications tech"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Communications Technician in Battle Creek, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CN full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great Environment, get along well with management

    Cons

    Too much management, needs reduction

    CN2019-07-31
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Conductor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CN for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good place to work, great job

    Cons

    I can't think of anything bad

    CN2018-12-27
  3. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at CN full-time

    Pros

    Best managers I ever had and the greatest team to work with.

    Cons

    Long hours sometimes but that comes with the job.

    Advice to Management

    Nothing.

    CN2018-09-25
  4. "Mechanic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at CN full-time

    Pros

    There is great pay and benefits

    Cons

    The schedule is not the greatest

    CN2018-04-10
  5. "Communications Technician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Communications Technician in Jackson, MS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at CN full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Hard work, Great Pay, and Very Good Benefits. Some of the best people I've every worked with. Training is second to none.

    Cons

    Long hours and hard work but it's part of the job. Very rewarding miss it everyday.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees and earn the respect. You will be well rewarded for it.

    CN2018-02-04
  6. "CN Railway"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Rail Flaw Detection (RFD) in Stevens Point, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at CN full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great company, great benefits, been employed for 2 years now.

    Cons

    Occasional long hours but comes with the job so an expected con Id say.

    Advice to Management

    None.

    CN2017-12-30
  7. "Mechanic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Automotive Technician in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CN full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    There are many great opportunities working with cn railroad. The pay is good as well as holding a union job. The benifets are good as well as the people who operate and work there.

    Cons

    Hard work but I like it that way..i like to keep busy and make money doing it

    Advice to Management

    If you choose me to work here as a mechanic, I won't dissapoint.im hard working and a even faster learner. I work well with others and I'd be proud to join the team.

    CN2017-10-12
  8. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at CN full-time

    Pros

    This company was my career for 13 years and I loved every minute of working for this company. The benefits and bonuses on top of salary are awesome. Very loyal to their employees.

    Cons

    Really no cons, other than sometimes the work hours. But as with all Railroad jobs, they aren't usually 9-5.

    CN2017-07-12
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Decent, Financially Strong Company and Great Pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Locomotive Engineer in Fond du Lac, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at CN full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    If you do your job, the managers will leave you alone. The pay is out of this world. I hold regular road assignments with 6 days on and 3 days off. We bid jobs every 4 months. I am able to plan my year out pretty well. Vacation and health benefits are great too.

    Cons

    The hours are long, and poor managerial decisions delay trains repeatedly. Great for us at time and one half, but not so good for the customers. Suggestions given to management (something I won't do anymore) is never considered, and often frowned upon. They dig their own holes and quickly fall right into them. Typical class 1 railroad as far as testing and rules compliance. No big deal as long as you do your job... well. The railroad isn't for everyone, and if your heart isn't in it, don't do it!

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Promote train masters and RTC's from the ranks. Bringing in people that don't even know railroad lingo is bad enough, but people that have never railroaded before is terrible, and destructive to the company as a whole.

    CN2017-04-08
  10. "Rail Track Maintainer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Rail Track Maintainer in Brookhaven, MS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CN full-time

    Pros

    The company is great to its employees

    Cons

    Don't apply if you don't like being away from home

    Advice to Management

    Everything seems to be working harmoniously

    CN2017-01-19
Found 469 reviews
</>Embed