CN Reviews | Glassdoor

CN Reviews

Updated Aug 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 500 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
51%
Recommend to a Friend
68%
Approve of CEO
CN CEO Jean-Jacques Ruest
Jean-Jacques Ruest
56 Ratings
  1. "Exciting job in a growing field"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - IT Analyst in Homewood, IL

    I have been working at CN full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    New technology, great people to work with.

    Cons

    Communication between departments could be better.

    CN2019-03-08
  2. "C N railway"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Locomotive Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at CN full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great paying job that changes your lifestyle

    Cons

    Stressful and time consuming

    Advice to Management

    Learn the employees jobs

    CN2019-02-20
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Communist company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Maintainer in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at CN full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The job Pays really well The benefits can be relatively good

    Cons

    The company bombards you with liberal propaganda on a daily basis...and threatens your job if you fail to comply

    Advice to Management

    Stop trying to brain wash your employees. That's the job of CNN

    CN2019-02-01
  4. "Wouldn't wish the job on my worst enemy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Transportation Clerk in Gary, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at CN full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The money and benefits are excellent if that's what you are seeking in a career.

    Cons

    They leave training in the hands of people who really do not want to train. They're forced to train and paid very little extra to do so. The people training you might have only been working there for a few months themselves. They do not have a system in place for people to learn the job well. I had a meeting with a manager where they asked me how I felt I was doing. I was honest with my struggles, and they reassured me...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Properly vet your trainers before sending them off to new employees. Just because they are good at their own jobs, doesn't mean they're qualified to train someone else. Also, update your programming. How is a company as profitable as CN using such outdated computer programs to do train reporting?

    CN2019-02-01
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Conductor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CN for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good place to work, great job

    Cons

    I can't think of anything bad

    CN2018-12-27
  6. "Warehouse operations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at CN full-time

    Pros

    Left to myself to do my job, no micro-management

    Cons

    Very impersonal to work for, just a number

    CN2018-12-10
  7. "Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at CN

    Pros

    Good pay and good experience

    Cons

    No vacation due to 364 days a year railroad

    CN2018-10-30
  8. "Horrible Place!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Locomotive Engineer in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at CN full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Pay and Benefits are good.

    Cons

    Management style is best describes as, “The beatings will continue until morale improves “. No amount of pay is worth dealing with this place!

    Advice to Management

    They wouldn’t take the advice so why bother!

    CN2018-11-28
  9. "Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Locomotive Engineer in Jackson, MS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at CN for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Very well paid for what you do

    Cons

    Always a target, always on the go

    CN2018-10-16
  10. "Anonymous"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at CN full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay, benefits, that's about it.

    Cons

    Management doesn't make you feel welcome as a new employee. They are rude, dont care about you until you are past your 1 year of service. Company will move you without notice. Not for someone with a family.

    Advice to Management

    Don't be rude, treat your new employees like the veterans

    CN2018-10-17
Found 500 reviews