CN "great pay" Reviews | Glassdoor

CN Employee Reviews about "great pay"

Updated Aug 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 459 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
50%
Recommend to a Friend
68%
Approve of CEO
CN CEO Jean-Jacques Ruest
Jean-Jacques Ruest
51 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good pay, friendly staff, knowlegeable colleagues(in 51 reviews)

  • "There is great pay and benefits(in 31 reviews)

Cons
  • "Work/Life balance needs adjustment(in 32 reviews)

  • "Long hours are mandatory and little compensation is offered in return(in 32 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "great pay"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Mechanic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at CN full-time

    Pros

    There is great pay and benefits

    Cons

    The schedule is not the greatest

    CN2018-04-10
  2. "Communications Technician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Communications Technician in Jackson, MS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at CN full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Hard work, Great Pay, and Very Good Benefits. Some of the best people I've every worked with. Training is second to none.

    Cons

    Long hours and hard work but it's part of the job. Very rewarding miss it everyday.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees and earn the respect. You will be well rewarded for it.

    CN2018-02-04
  3. "Carman"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Carman in Fond du Lac, WI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at CN full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great pay and easy work. Have the chance to put in plenty of overtime to make some big bucks. Great stock options.

    Cons

    Management is horrible. Will take multiple years before ever seeing decent rest days or even 1st shift. Could be run a little different.

    Advice to Management

    Know the jobs at which you manage or just shut up.

    CN2017-11-14
  4. "Great Pay, Horrible Treatment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - RTC Center in Homewood, IL
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at CN

    Pros

    Great Pay Great Benefits Union positions based on seniority

    Cons

    Horrible shifts Incompetent leadership No opportunity to leave union and become management if so desired

    Advice to Management

    Do your job effectively and efficiently, then you won't have to be so uptight all the time hoping subordinates and colleagues squared your work away when YOUR BOSS comes looking for YOU.

    CN2016-10-29
  5. "load planner"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Memphis, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at CN for more than 8 years

    Pros

    great co workers, family atmosphere, good pay, great hours, great benefits

    Cons

    no chance of management advancement

    Advice to Management

    listen

    CN2016-10-05
  6. "Employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Trainmaster in Waterloo, IA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CN for more than a year

    Pros

    Great pay great benefits great employees

    Cons

    Long work weeks, long hours

    CN2016-07-31
  7. Helpful (6)

    "Cond"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Freight Conductor in Chicago, IL

    I have been working at CN full-time

    Pros

    Great experiences, travel, working with good people, great pay, great benefits, excellent railroad experience

    Cons

    Poor management, long hours, doing "favors" for management who will turn around and fire you with no recollection of all of the hard, extra work you did to make them look good so they can collect their bonus.

    Advice to Management

    Quit calling me on my day off. No, I'm not coming in, and no I won't ever come in on my day off. Every time you come in, there's a risk you might get fired.

    CN2016-01-08
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Locomotive Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Stevens Point, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at CN

    Pros

    Great pay,benefits and overtime. Learning a great skill, training and advances. Traveling and meeting new people. Adrenaline rush when running huge equipment, large trains.

    Cons

    Very strong micro management. Very stressful and demanding. Many hours

    Advice to Management

    Be fair

    CN2015-12-27
  9. "Conductor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Railroad Conductor in Champaign, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at CN full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Scheduled days off, Guaranteed weekly pay, Great Insurance

    Cons

    Long hours, Ran with as few employees as possible, Strict rules enforcement and discipline.

    CN2015-12-04
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Trainmen"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at CN

    Pros

    Great Pay, Good employees, Benefits

    Cons

    Terrible management, schedule, moral, discipline

    Advice to Management

    Go back to school

    CN2015-10-22
Found 459 reviews