CN "long hours" Reviews | Glassdoor

CN Employee Reviews about "long hours"

Updated Aug 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 500 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
51%
Recommend to a Friend
68%
Approve of CEO
CN CEO Jean-Jacques Ruest
Jean-Jacques Ruest
56 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good pay, friendly staff, knowlegeable colleagues(in 51 reviews)

  • "There is great pay and benefits(in 31 reviews)

Cons
  • "Work/Life balance needs adjustment(in 32 reviews)

  • "Long hours are mandatory and little compensation is offered in return(in 32 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "long hours"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at CN full-time

    Pros

    Best managers I ever had and the greatest team to work with.

    Cons

    Long hours sometimes but that comes with the job.

    Advice to Management

    Nothing.

    CN2018-09-25
  2. "Communications Technician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Communications Technician in Jackson, MS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at CN full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Hard work, Great Pay, and Very Good Benefits. Some of the best people I've every worked with. Training is second to none.

    Cons

    Long hours and hard work but it's part of the job. Very rewarding miss it everyday.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees and earn the respect. You will be well rewarded for it.

    CN2018-02-04
  3. "CN Railway"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Rail Flaw Detection (RFD) in Stevens Point, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at CN full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great company, great benefits, been employed for 2 years now.

    Cons

    Occasional long hours but comes with the job so an expected con Id say.

    Advice to Management

    None.

    CN2017-12-30
  4. "Good Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at CN

    Pros

    The pay is good good benifits

    Cons

    Long hours with little time off

    CN2017-09-26
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Contract Employe"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Consultant in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at CN

    Pros

    if you are a CN employee full benefits

    Cons

    if you are a contracted employee, hard to get in with no benefits but all the long hours

    CN2017-06-13
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Freight Conductor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Railroad Conductor in Champaign, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at CN

    Pros

    Excellent pay, benefits. Ability to do most work the way you want to do it. Most employees are easy to get along with and professional.

    Cons

    Long hours, unpredictable schedule, irregular shifts. No regular schedule jobs to look forward to as your seniority progresses. Attendance policy is not great either.

    Advice to Management

    None really, to be honest that is the culture of the railroad industry. Employees in transportation work odd hours and are away from home quite often - thats just the nature of the business.

    CN2017-04-14
  7. "Employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Trainmaster in Waterloo, IA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CN for more than a year

    Pros

    Great pay great benefits great employees

    Cons

    Long work weeks, long hours

    CN2016-07-31
  8. "TRAINMASTER"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at CN

    Pros

    Salary Benefits Management Opportunity for growth

    Cons

    Long hours and rotating schedule

    CN2016-04-21
  9. Helpful (6)

    "Cond"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Freight Conductor in Chicago, IL

    I have been working at CN full-time

    Pros

    Great experiences, travel, working with good people, great pay, great benefits, excellent railroad experience

    Cons

    Poor management, long hours, doing "favors" for management who will turn around and fire you with no recollection of all of the hard, extra work you did to make them look good so they can collect their bonus.

    Advice to Management

    Quit calling me on my day off. No, I'm not coming in, and no I won't ever come in on my day off. Every time you come in, there's a risk you might get fired.

    CN2016-01-08
  10. "Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at CN full-time

    Pros

    Pay. Benifits . Retirement. Vacation bonus.

    Cons

    Long hours but hey its the railroad

    CN2015-12-30
Found 500 reviews