Cover image for CNA
Logo
Is this your company?

CNA

Add a Review

CNA Reviews

Updated Dec 7, 2022

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 1,058 of over 1K reviews
3.8
73% Recommend to a Friend
CNA Chairman and Chief Executive Officer  Dino Robusto
83% Approve of CEO

Found 984 of over 1K reviews

3.8
73%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
CNA Chairman and Chief Executive Officer  Dino Robusto
Dino Robusto
245 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of CNA and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great Place to Work

    Nov 10, 2022 - Underwriter in Boston, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Supportive and understanding culture. Expectations are set high, but leadership understands the challenges we face everyday.

    Cons

    None that I can think of.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Be cautious

    Nov 20, 2022 - Underwriter 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Health insurance is the typical high deductible plan with the HSA, but very average. The 401k is the best benefit the company offers.

    Cons

    The culture in this company has changed significantly. If you are on the fence on whether to stay with your current company or make the move here, stay where you are! The turnover is high in this company. There was a stretch, I reported to five different managers over a two year period due to both voluntary and involuntary terminations. Overall, poor leadership from the top to the branch level! I was a solid contributor that was fortunate enough to receive a bonus and pay raise each year during my six years, and when I voluntarily left for a better opportunity, this company didn’t have the decency to do an exit interview! You are not valued here! Stay where you are!

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  3. Join the CNA team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great people, high potential

    Dec 2, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    A lot of headroom, company can be great and is on a path

    Cons

    Starting well behind many competitors, so a lot of ground to make up

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Great place to work

    Sep 19, 2022 - Senior Client Services Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - CNA has been a great place to work in my experience after being here for a several years. Lots of improvement with Diversity, Equity & Inclusion and in creating career development opportunities for professional growth. There is the ability to be creative and pursue projects, if you have the time. - COVID-19 transition to 100% remote work was swift and transition back into offices has been gradual. - Great people from diverse backgrounds work at CNA, from former police officers, attorneys, to former contractors. - There's an Employee Resource Group for everyone and it's fun to connect with coworkers on a deeper level. - Lots of opportunities for community involvement in volunteer organizations and industry sponsored events.

    Cons

    - Like most companies, budgets are closely monitored now so there is less of a budget for travel and events - some may consider this a Pro.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Great Benefits

    Dec 1, 2022 - Analyst in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Work from home Generous PTO Good company culture

    Cons

    Legacy systems Difficult to track historical records

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Good work life balance

    Nov 24, 2022 - Actuarial Analyst in Chicago, WI
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great DEI program A lot of opportunities for promotion and to learn more in the field

    Cons

    Some teams might be understaffed so you might have to do a bit more work

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Amazing

    Nov 27, 2022 - Asda Ace in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Open minded, fun, dynamic, super understanding

    Cons

    Older workforce so it could be a little less enticing for young devs

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 3.0
    Current Employee

    Underwriting

    Dec 7, 2022 - Underwriting Consulting Director 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Benefits, long term business relationships

    Cons

    Inconsistent management, poor history of internal promotions

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 8 years

    Great Place to Grow

    Nov 8, 2022 - Director 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The culture was outstanding – inclusive, collaborative, innovative. Hard work is recognized and there's opportunity for advancement with hard work. Sincere about D&I and giving back to the community. Best company I've ever worked for.

    Cons

    None that are noteworthy in my experience.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  11. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 10 years

    Under valued stock

    Dec 3, 2022 - Director 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Well compensated (salary/bonus) Benefits Package

    Cons

    No ESPP More like job than career Two camps (25+ years then <5) Promotes under qualified to retain GenZ

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 984 Reviews
</>Embed

CNA Reviews FAQs

CNA has an overall rating of 3.8 out of 5, based on over 1,228 reviews left anonymously by employees. 73% of employees would recommend working at CNA to a friend and 65% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has improved by 6% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, CNA employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.8 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at CNA. This rating has improved by 6% over the last 12 months.

73% of CNA employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated CNA 3.6 out of 5 for work life balance, 3.7 for culture and values and 3.6 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at CNA to be career development, coworkers, benefits and the cons to be senior leadership, culture, management.

Popular Careers with CNA Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at CNA? Share Your Experiences

CNA logo
or

Reviews by Job Title

CNA Photos

+ Add Photo
CNA photo of: CNA employees collaborate at our Chicago headquarters.
CNA photo of: Our Chicago headquarters offers Well-Being Suites for mothers, prayer and relaxation.
CNA photo of: Visitors are welcomed to our Chicago headquarters conference center.
CNA photo of: Our commitment to our communities and to the environment are cornerstones of our Corporate Social Responsibility.
CNA photo of: During the holidays, we make a donation for each employee wearing a holiday sweater.
CNA photo of: As part of CNA's mentorship program, we award our mentees.
CNA photo of: CNA celebrates earning a perfect score on the Human Rights Campaign's Corporate Equality Index.
See All Photos

Affiliated Companies

Loews Corporation

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

CNA Job Seekers Also Viewed

The Hartford Logo
The Hartford

3.9

3,310 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 1,228 CNA reviews submitted anonymously by CNA employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if CNA is right for you.