CNA "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor

CNA Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Mar 31, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.2
53%
Recommend to a Friend
62%
Approve of CEO
CNA Chairman and Chief Executive Officer  Dino Robusto
Dino Robusto
120 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great environment, friendly employees, stress free"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - IT Applications Developer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at CNA for less than a year

    Pros

    Very good work/life balance Opportunities for growth and development

    Cons

    Some technology is outdated but is being modernized

    CNA2019-10-14
  2. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Underwriting Specialist in Tempe, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CNA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great opportunities and fast paced enviroment

    Cons

    Work/life balance can be very difficult due to heavy work loads.

    CNA2020-03-31
  3. Helpful (1)

    "No room for growth for underwriting Assistants/Technician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Underwriting Technician in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at CNA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits are decent, office located in SF, FiDi next to Trans America to May commute easy

    Cons

    Unrealistic goals, old systems, poor work life balance, lack of mentoring programs and over worked employees, etc

    Continue reading
    CNA2019-11-21
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Used to be the coolest place to work, very toxic place since 2018"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Information Security Specialist in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at CNA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work/life balance is OK Compensation is comparable to industry levels

    Cons

    Large number of experienced people left in the last 18 months Senior/mid management driving unhealthy relationships within and across different teams Almost absolute lack of internal promotions Favoritism in some cases Mid management often has no knowledge/experience and not ready to delegate decision making to resources under them Mid levels not willing to take responsibility for what needs to be done, only praises for what others do Senior levels distance themselves from the "ground level" people Lack of clear strategy (technology/InfoSec) Unproductive relationship with the MSP Often changes of strategic decisions/directions for technology

    Continue reading
    CNA2019-10-15
  5. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Underwriting Specialist in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CNA full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Mostly everything - Work/life balance, flex schedule, work from home, positive reinforcement, compensation, benefits, direct management, peers, culture, very supportive environment, and pays in full pays for CE. They provide everything needed to succeed, and more. I've never worked for an organization that fully grasps what's needed to keep their employees happy. Very attractive employment package including a hiring bonus and incentives to support the organization to succeed. Lastly, I share very similar social values with the organization, which is very important to me.

    Cons

    Systems/IT needs improvement, but management is leading in the right direction. Onboarding could have been smoother.

    CNA2019-09-20
  6. "Great place to learn a lot!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Data Management Analyst in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CNA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great place to learn a lot about insurance Good work/ life balance

    Cons

    Large workforce. Can get confusing as on what is happening sometimes.

    CNA2019-08-20
  7. Helpful (6)

    "Lack of transparency from senior leadership."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director, Analytics in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at CNA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good benefits and work life balance. I like the team I work with.

    Cons

    Senior leadership patronizes employees while they create a whirl of uncertainty for employees

    Continue reading
    CNA2019-08-16
  8. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CNA full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Engaged leadership group, plenty of opportunities for growth, great work-life balance

    Cons

    Open office construction can be noisy

    CNA2019-06-10
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Great company, culture, pay & benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Applications Developer in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CNA full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - Pay & performance bonuses - PTO with the ability to purchase 5 additional days per year - 401k match - Work/life balance - ability to work from home 2 days per week - HSA contribution

    Cons

    - A lot of consultants/contractors - High actuarial turnover - Middle level managers add confusion to overall company vision - Senior/executive management does not communicate well or often

    CNA2019-04-19
  10. "Positive Outlook"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Director in Chicago, IL

    I have been working at CNA full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Work life balance, positive outlook for future

    Cons

    Changes in leadership, no cons

    CNA2019-04-25
Found 91 reviews
</>Embed