KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

CNET Networks

Is this your company?

CNET Networks

Add a Review

CNET Networks Reviews

Updated Apr 23, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 68 of over 74 reviews

3.5
69%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
CNET Networks President & CEO Jim Lanzone
Jim Lanzone
3 Ratings
Pros
  • "Interesting work and staff ; good work/life balance(in 7 reviews)

  • "Fun and outgoing great place to work(in 6 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "I've been very frustrated with upper management in the past year or so(in 5 reviews)

  • "Senior management never told anybody what was going on(in 4 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Awesome company

      Dec 18, 2020 - Editor 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The team is really like family. Great work life balance.

      Cons

      Career growth can be slow.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Uncertainty

      Apr 23, 2021 - What Does IT Matter 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Perfect for someone who enjoys technology and consumer electronics.

      Cons

      Too much ambiguity presently with CNET and its brands

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Great company to work for

      Sep 14, 2020 - Associate Ops 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      culture, people, environment, perks, location

      Cons

      Pay scale, benefits, advancement, communication

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Wonderful place to work, great benefits.

      Jun 17, 2020 - Account Executive in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great culture, great management, great benefits

      Cons

      I can't think of any pros for this company

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Excellent opportunity for a clear and open mind.

      Apr 25, 2008 - Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The company takes excellent care of its employees, and is unswervingly competent and ethical in managing its affairs. There's a high degree of transparency and oversight from the top down. You can focus on your work because the company has your back and is prepared to handle most situations. It has a well established culture of professionalism, high standards, and community involvement. Most of your colleagues are bright people who are inspired to work in a challenging, constantly evolving business space.

      Cons

      The long term business model is uncertain. Even with a history of calling the right shots, the business can easily fall prey to trends, bandwagons, or just the precarious market. And some of the departments inevitably foster an insular, overly personal culture, but it's perhaps only noticeable relative to CNET's otherwise very high professional standards.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 2.0
      Current Employee

      If only we could shake this culture of failure...

      Aug 31, 2008 - Software Engineer  in Irvine, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The sodas are $0.25 and coffee is free. There is a very laid-back environment, though that may be a bit of a detriment to getting things done. If you can get a title with the word "Director" in it, life should be pretty good. It's also nice to be able to get packages delivered to the office. It makes ordering stuff from the Internet so much more convenient when there's someone to sign for stuff (instead of having packages sit on my doorstep at home).

      Cons

      Not sure how the fact that we're now CBS will affect things. If you enjoy your own personal time (evenings, weekends, holidays, vacations) then life might not be so pleasant depending on how your reporting structure is built. While some problems seem to be acknowledged, the culture of failure leads many in charge reluctant to change how anything is done. Over-promising the customer and under-delivering has been the MO.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    7. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Cons

      Aug 14, 2008 - Account Coordinator in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The benefits are not bad, but now since CNET has been aquired by CBS, I'm not sure how things will roll out. The company culture is pretty laid back and work/life balance is encouraged for the most part.

      Cons

      Management can be incompetent but I guess it really depends on your manager. Although there are a lot of bright and smart people, you will come to realized there are also a lot who don't know how to do their jobs and it can get really frustrating working with them. Moving up the ladder is not as easy as they make it sound when you are first hired. They make you think that you can get promoted at 9 months but that's really rare. Instead of "getting promoted" you have to wait until there is a job opening (and there aren't many) before you can apply and "get a promotion"

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Great place to learn about interactive media

      Oct 3, 2008 -  in Cambridge, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Interesting work and staff ; good work/life balance . Less MBAs, more weekend musicians. They're pretty flexible about allowing you to work from different offices if you want to move. However, most of the action is in SF headquarters. Not a lot of dead wood staff. Most people have a sense of humor and there's less arrogance than you'd encounter at places like Google, Yahoo, etc. Office shuts down for Christmas week.

      Cons

      Don't expect to advance if you're not in the SF office and in engineering. Hardly any relevant employee training and the content doesn't help you on the job... you're expected to train yourself by reading old wiki pages. Some staff seem pretty clueless that we're a media company and make our money by selling advertising.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Current Employee

      CNET can be a great place to work if you fit in with everyone

      Jun 12, 2008 - Software Engineering Director in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The People! The average CNET employee is an intelligent and passionate person. Almost all of the people that I have worked with at CNET are not only experts in their field but they really care about what they are doing and it shows.

      Cons

      There is no work and life balance at all. No matter what season it is, there always seems to be an urgent project that requires you to work at least 60 plus hours per week. A lot of this has to do with the fact that there aren't enough engineers to support all of the ideas of the product managers.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee

      CNET is an awesome place to work

      May 9, 2008 - Software Engineer in Louisville, KY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      CNET is a great place to work, complete with a diverse set of brands to work with, and a wide range of types of work to do. It is a company full of kind, intelligent people that know how to get things done, and has one of the best work environments that I've ever had the opportunity to experience. The work I've been doing here so far has helped me expand as a developer, and has taught me many new things about web technologies. The best part is, I'm not finished yet, so I have plenty of time to learn more!

      Cons

      I haven't been here for very long, but I can't think of any downsides at all! The only thing I could possibly think of is the distance from where I live, but that probably doesn't even count.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 68 Reviews

    Popular Careers with CNET Networks Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at CNET Networks? Share Your Experiences

    CNET Networks logo
    or