CNO Financial Group Reviews | Glassdoor

CNO Financial Group Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 187 reviews

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
42%
Recommend to a Friend
57%
Approve of CEO
CNO Financial Group CEO Gary C. Bhojwani
Gary C. Bhojwani
11 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good teams, work life balance, employee benefits, and i could go on and on(in 14 reviews)

  • "On-site clinic and exercise facility are exceptional(in 14 reviews)

Cons
  • "upper management not filtered down consistenetly(in 9 reviews)

  • "Performance reviews are level set with merit's across the board by senior management(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Very good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CNO Financial Group

    Pros

    Good teams, work life balance, employee benefits, and i could go on and on. Overall a great place to work

    Cons

    Like any organization, nothing is perfect. But the issues that happen seem very minor compared to my previous employer. Cannot think of anything major

    CNO Financial Group2019-04-05
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Nightmare, run for your life!!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Carmel, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at CNO Financial Group full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    None but just to say some people are good

    Cons

    Everything, don't work here. Management is complete crap. I can't even give them one star.

    Advice to Management

    Look for a new job because management isn't it. I can't even rate you with 1 star

    CNO Financial Group2019-03-26
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Not the worst but certainly not the best"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Call Center Representative in Carmel, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at CNO Financial Group full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    No work on the weekends. Pay was okay.

    Cons

    Overworked, management was awful and their is no consistency.

    Advice to Management

    Rehire all management.

    CNO Financial Group2019-02-22
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Customer Service Rep"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service and Sales Representative in Carmel, IN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CNO Financial Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Not what you think or told to be.

    Cons

    Customer Service Rep..script sale and there quality check.

    Advice to Management

    Slim to none...but you can move to other departments.

    CNO Financial Group2018-09-25
  5. Helpful (7)

    "Operations Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Manager in Carmel, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at CNO Financial Group full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    Benefits are equal to other companies. On-site clinic.

    Cons

    Management doesn’t value hard work. Promotions, raises and opportunities are NOT based on individual performances, they are based on who management hangs out with. Company is quickly going downhill. Management is very sneaky and dishonest.

    Advice to Management

    Focus on retaining talent, not who hangs out with you.

    CNO Financial Group2018-09-21
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Toxic culture and poor leadership — a rudderless ship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at CNO Financial Group full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    Parts of the business units have real value and well meaning people. Strong financials and potential in the business.

    Cons

    Low trust back stabbing culture that doesn’t truly value employees. Very fake rah rah, no real EE buy in. While business financial position is currently strong, business is shrinking and future strategy is unclear. Zero to negative growth and clueless management cannot articulate a plan forward.

    Advice to Management

    Listen, no really, listen.

    CNO Financial Group2018-08-28
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Human Resources"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at CNO Financial Group full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Nice lunch options on Michigan Avenue

    Cons

    Chicago office is very political, unethical, and management can not be trusted.

    Advice to Management

    Follow the golden rule.

    CNO Financial Group2018-09-19
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Claims"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Carmel, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at CNO Financial Group full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    I know what to expect every day from my work. Relaxed dress code. On site fitness center, health clinic, and food court. Flexible work hours

    Cons

    Consistent overtime (sometimes mandatory 8-10 hours per week) yet they won't hire a new employee. Very little room for growth. When you try to apply within the company, management tells you no. Expectations are unattainable and constantly changing. Outdated systems that crash frequently. Management couldn't do my job if their life depended on it. Time off is a joke. "random" audits are not random- my supervisor has told...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Respect your employees. Pay them better. Stop the cliques and politics. You do studies and focus groups on why the culture here sucks but nothing ever changes.

    CNO Financial Group2018-08-07
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Accountant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at CNO Financial Group full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Benefits are good with a fitness center and on site clinic. Offer tuition reimbursement

    Cons

    Too concerned with top executives. High turnover rate and lack of documented procedures. Very little room for advancement

    Advice to Management

    Start paying attention to employees doing the day to day work

    CNO Financial Group2018-07-29
  10. Helpful (5)

    "Beware of the Marketing Ploys"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at CNO Financial Group full-time

    Pros

    Hard to get fired, they are trying to avoid the turnover rate.

    Cons

    Management is only worried about executive level group. Associates are treated like factory workers. Benefits aren't as great as they sound, and they turned mine off before the end of the month.

    CNO Financial Group2018-07-18
Found 187 reviews