CNO Financial Group Reviews

Updated May 22, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.8
46%
Recommend to a Friend
63%
Approve of CEO
CNO Financial Group Chief Executive Officer Gary C. Bhojwani
Gary C. Bhojwani
18 Ratings
Pros
  • "On site health clinic but hours can be limited and staff there changes(in 15 reviews)

  • "Good teams, work life balance, employee benefits, and i could go on and on(in 14 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great work balance, fair pay"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Actuarial Trainee in Carmel, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CNO Financial Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours, good compensation program, great health initiatives

    Cons

    Can sometimes feel like a large, uncaring corporation.

    CNO Financial Group2020-03-06
  2. "It's a job"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Database Administrator in Chicago, IL

    I worked at CNO Financial Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The Chicago office is in a good location downtown, and the people I've met are friendly. The pay was good.

    Cons

    Most of the IT managers feel like you should live for CNO, so it can be hard to establish a work-life balance. I also worked on several projects where the company wanted to spend the minimum amount on outside help. That left our team struggling to learn from our mistakes.

    CNO Financial Group2020-04-21
  3. "Unprofessional company"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at CNO Financial Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They did me really wrong, they sent me a fake check and me open a new bank account with Bank of America that I owe money to them now.

    Cons

    If they contact you, do not hesitate to answer back. They are all fake, everything from this company is fake. Do not get tricked like I did

    Continue reading
    CNO Financial Group2020-05-22
  4. Helpful (4)

    "WATCH OUT FOR SCAM"

    1.0
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant 

    I worked at CNO Financial Group full-time

    Pros

    If james michaels contacts you it is a scam. they emailed me, I did a google hangouts interview, they asked for personal information up front, i signed a contract, did TWO WEEKS of training tasks, they mailed me a fake check, it was all fake

    Cons

    the whole thing was fake

    Continue reading
    CNO Financial Group2020-05-06

    CNO Financial Group Response

    May 21, 2020HR

    We are very sorry this happened to you. It is an awful scam and we appreciate you bringing this to our attention. A reminder that we would never ask for personal information up front and we do NOT make anyone sign a contract. Thank you for your advice.

  5. Helpful (2)

    "Avoid IT"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Carmel, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at CNO Financial Group full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    If you live in Carmel the location is good. You'll learn what no to do.

    Cons

    IT has struggled to find good leadership at the VP level, and over the past year they have managed to make things worse. The leadership team in place now is the worse I've ever encountered. They have driven out all of the good and respected directors in IT, who have all left for other high level leadership positions in other companies. IT is mismanaged, lacks compassion, lacks focus, or any real management skills. My advice, avoid at all cost.

    CNO Financial Group2020-03-26
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Lack of Compassion"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at CNO Financial Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The people are enjoyable to work with.

    Cons

    Management does not view you as a person, but a number. Lack of compassion and empathy.

    CNO Financial Group2019-12-06
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Amazing Company to work for"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Leiter Job-Shop-Automatisierung Und Steuerungsbau in Albuquerque, NM
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CNO Financial Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Unlimited and Uncapped Earning Potential. Make and Build your own business, Be your own boss! Growth and Advancement opportunities

    Cons

    I cant think of any!

    Continue reading
    CNO Financial Group2019-11-06
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Worth It"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Insurance Agent 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at CNO Financial Group full-time

    Pros

    Great training you are not going to find better

    Cons

    Work on the weekends can be tough to work around.

    CNO Financial Group2019-10-18
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Stay away from IT as an employee or contractor."

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Carmel, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at CNO Financial Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Stable company and employment. If you just want to punch a clock and don't mind being berated by the VPs then this may be for you.

    Cons

    Lots of new leadership in IT, however the impact over the last year has only been negative.

    Continue reading
    CNO Financial Group2019-10-29
  10. Helpful (5)

    "Life's Too Short, It's Not Worth It"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Information Technology in Carmel, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at CNO Financial Group full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good work experience and opportunities for professional development.

    Cons

    Unpleasant culture and work environment.

    Continue reading
    CNO Financial Group2019-09-28
Found 202 reviews