COLSA Reviews | Glassdoor

COLSA Reviews

Updated Sep 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 46 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
62%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
COLSA CEO Richard Amos (no image)
Richard Amos
27 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Good Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at COLSA

    Pros

    Flex time Competitive HealthCare And 401K benefits Training and education reimbursement Travel reimbursements are fast Free 24/7 Gym

    Cons

    Overall a great company. My only gripe is they don’t ha e sick leave and I feel is they are quite stingy with the PTO accruals. (5 every other week but other contractor I was on in Research Park was 15 a month) but 5 star company.

    COLSA2019-08-10
  2. "Great pay is all"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Software Developer 

    I worked at COLSA part-time

    Pros

    Great pay, benefits, company functions

    Cons

    Management needs work. Lack of communication

    COLSA2019-09-17
  3. "Good experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Acquisition Manager, Senior in Dayton, OH
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at COLSA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Paid holidays Flexible PTO Work/Life Balance Positive atmosphere Good leadership

    Cons

    Low pay compared to competitor companies Corporate adversity to pay increases Poor retention of employees when pay becomes an issue

    Advice to Management

    Reference the above listed Cons

    COLSA2019-07-17
  4. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Systems Analyst in Huntsville, AL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at COLSA full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Small company, great benefits and culture.

    Cons

    On the lower end of salary range.

    Advice to Management

    To compete for contracts, top talent costs money.

    COLSA2019-06-03
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Once they get you"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Contract Analyst in Huntsville, AL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at COLSA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    They have good 401K and you get compensated if you do not take medical

    Cons

    Once your hired as direct you don't even get cost of living or contract escalation annual raise. Job not as described and no help from colsa supervisor. no career progression available.

    Advice to Management

    Don't treat your direct hires as cash cows we are not stupid and see through your fakeness

    COLSA2019-06-09
  6. "Good Company if you are okay with just getting a paycheck"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Huntsville, AL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at COLSA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great co-workers, family-like environment, great flex-time and comp-time.

    Cons

    No opportunities for advancement. No bonuses. 2% raises for doing a great job. Low/few learning opportunities.

    Advice to Management

    Share responsibilities and award people for stepping up. Invest in the company/people. Be open to ideas. HR team needs to be open to ideas and help with changing of the company.

    COLSA2019-06-03
  7. "Great Place with Great Benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Huntsville, AL

    I have been working at COLSA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    very flexible and great environment. Lots of potential to grow

    Cons

    I do not have any Cons at this time. All company's will have there ups and downs.

    COLSA2018-08-17
  8. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Huntsville, AL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at COLSA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits Comp Time/Flex Time Association of COLSA Employees Young Professional Program Family-like Culture

    Cons

    No downsides to list at this time.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work!

    COLSA2018-07-06
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Low Pay, Middle Management Horrendous, No Advancement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Analyst in Tampa, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at COLSA for more than a year

    Pros

    The job was easy with low expectations

    Cons

    Middle management was allowed to run wild with their vendettas and personal score settling, absolutely no one higher up cared to do anything, as a result the company bleeds workers (also due to low pay relative to industry standards). Also, career advancement opportunities were none existent

    Advice to Management

    Get things under control otherwise you'll continue to hemorrhage workers

    COLSA2018-07-02
  10. "Procurement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at COLSA full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits, wonderful people and lots of opportunities for training.

    Cons

    Advancement opportunities seem slim, too much gossip on a daily basis.

    COLSA2018-06-18
Found 46 reviews