CPS Energy Reviews | Glassdoor

CPS Energy Reviews

Updated 13 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 65 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
70%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
Paula Gold-Williams
14 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "No cons, it's a good place to work,would be hard to find something better(in 3 reviews)

  • "There motto is people first in my 20 plus years I find that it is not true(in 2 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "excellent company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at CPS Energy

      Pros

      great people, love the enviroment

      Cons

      nothing everything is great with the company

      CPS Energy2019-01-28
    • "N/A"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Utility Worker in San Antonio, TX
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at CPS Energy full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Benefits and Pay and understanding of family issues

      Cons

      Some people are lazy so you always picking up slack which is not a problem but you dont wanna be baby sitting a grown man

      Advice to Management

      Thank you for the opportunity

      CPS Energy2019-07-13
    • "All Good"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Senior Facilities Manager in San Antonio, TX
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at CPS Energy full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      Generally a pleasant place to work.

      Cons

      Generally a pleasant place to have a career.

      CPS Energy2019-07-08
    • "Community focused, globally recognized"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Director in San Antonio, TX
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at CPS Energy full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      Community focused, big enough to try big things, small enough to get to work on many different things at the same time.

      Cons

      Many things take longer than you think they should. Culture is resistant to large changes

      CPS Energy2019-06-14
    • "Good company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Electrical Engineer in San Antonio, TX
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at CPS Energy full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Nice people, easy slow job for most business units, stable job.

      Cons

      Anyone with a PE license can be a manager regardless of the skills so you might have a stupid manager or director, which is the case everywhere in the company.

      Advice to Management

      Learn management.

      CPS Energy2019-05-22
    • "Ok Place To work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      Current Employee - Utility Worker in San Antonio, TX
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at CPS Energy full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      Never miss a payday also still one of the only company that still has a pension fund

      Cons

      There motto is people first in my 20 plus years I find that it is not true

      Advice to Management

      Take care of your employees, because without us you would not have a job

      CPS Energy2019-05-15
    • ""People First!" philosophy doesn't translate that well past the CEO and is lost in translation."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Communications Tech in Nacogdoches, TX
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at CPS Energy full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      Good Pay. Work among some of the best in the business. Many Professionals in different areas.

      Cons

      Epitomizes the need for joining a Union. Wish I did. Security is lacking. C.Y.A everyday especially when working around the ones that failed to protect the CIO from their own game of thrones. Beware of Fake#News reporters, they're easy to spot, they're the ones sleeping at their desk everyday.

      Advice to Management

      To the CIO, Trust but Verify!

      CPS Energy2019-05-11
    • "Good Luck"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Internal Auditor 

      I have been working at CPS Energy full-time

      Pros

      It is what you make it.

      Cons

      Management shows favoritism, advancement is for the select few.

      CPS Energy2019-05-02
    • Helpful (1)

      "Service Desk analyst"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at CPS Energy

        Pros

        Steady workflow and starbucks in cafe

        Cons

        Horrible management from top to bottom

        CPS Energy2018-07-13
      • "Network Admin III"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at CPS Energy full-time for more than 5 years

        Pros

        Work life balance and training.

        Cons

        Politics and change is hard in some areas of IT.

        Advice to Management

        Foster change and new ideas.

        CPS Energy2018-05-22
      Found 65 reviews