KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

CRISPR Therapeutics

Engaged Employer

CRISPR Therapeutics

Add a Review

CRISPR Therapeutics Reviews

Updated Nov 20, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 30 of over 31 reviews

3.8
66%
Recommend to a Friend
72%
Approve of CEO
CRISPR Therapeutics CEO Samarth Kulkarni (no image)
Samarth Kulkarni
13 Ratings

Ratings by Veteran Status

This rating reflects the overall rating of CRISPR Therapeutics and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great company at the forefront of cell therapies

    Nov 20, 2021 - Research Associate II in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    CRISPR has great company culture. Most of the managers I have interacted with are very experienced and look to help you advance your career.

    Cons

    It is a growing company so it might be hard not to feel lost among the hundreds of employees and counting.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Culture Crisis and Diversity Problems

    Oct 25, 2021 - Undisclosed Position in Cambridge, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Good benefits. - Some really great colleagues. - Exciting science. -Excellent patient advocacy work.

    Cons

    - Complete lack of employee appreciation from executive team. - Diversity and inclusion is almost non existent. A D&I group was formed and suggestions submitted with no traction for improvements. - Toxic people who “perform well” are allowed to behave badly with little to no repercussions and even get promoted. This wreaks havoc on morale within the company. - The company’s core values are not demonstrated by senior leadership and some middle management although these values are used to measure performance. The standards to which employees are held is not equitable across all levels. - Feedback has been given to HR in the form of employee surveys but yet nothing is done to make improvements. - There is no work life balance, especially during COVID. Meetings are often held at lunch times or after work hours. There is an expectation to be a available ay all times. - Communication and transparency are sparse between many teams. Some teams seem to perform in vacuums and do not communicate effectively cross-functionally. Decisions are made hastily without much regard for the teams or people who will be impacted. - Employees are leaving at a very high rate, and their departures are not announced. Constantly reaching out to stakeholders and finding out they have left.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  3. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Leaving felt a lot like leaving an abusive relationship...

    Oct 23, 2021 - Research Associate 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great science and therapeutic potential Good benefits Great people from the lower to mid level Ideal environment for a cis white man Great place to work until 2020

    Cons

    - No work life balance - I frequently saw people online at all hours of the night - No clear priorities - the dominant attitude was that everything was due yesterday - Few opportunities for advancement - promotions intentionally keep people at 1-2 title below industry average and they tend to hire externally vs promoting within - Not a great place for women and minorities - CEO says problematic things while trying to be woke (including calling out a black woman during the George Floyd protests) and little to no discipline for those accused of sexual harassment - Leadership isn't receptive to feedback - we've been telling them what's needed to retain talent and that feedback is falling on deaf ears. - A lot of fake positive reviews on here - No interest in improving diversity and inclusion, only performative actions

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  4. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Working to Contributing for a Better Future

    Nov 3, 2021 - Management 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    My personal motivator to be part of CRISPR is the opportunity that I have in my hands to contribute to a radical change in the life of our patients with the awesome and innovative technology we are working in. As a company that is transitioning from a small one to a larger one, it is reasonable to understand that it will be taking some time to get used and adjust to such expansion. CRISPR is hiring very talented people from all over the different areas of the pharmaceutical industry that are making of the company an amazing melting pot of great talent, all of it put to work to create better and transformative options for our patients. Coming this out from a person that is in Management may sounds to be tainted with a little bit of a bias, but the reality is that no company, no matter how mature or well established it is can be considered a perfect place to work. What I know is that we are making our best effort to grow and become one of the greatest places to work in this field, where many generations can contribute to the future of the medical landscape. For the moment, I can say that I enjoy working for CRISPR not only because of the amazing technology and the opportunities we can see in the horizon, but also for the talented and skillful people we have, and I can say that as a Manager I feel fortunate of the team I am able to manage.

    Cons

    We are learning how to grow, and with that grow comes multiple challenges, but that is the beauty and purpose of continuous improvement. We still have to improve in how to listen to each other and work more in a cohesive way, leaving aside those silos that some people love to work in. Coming from so many places we will have the natural tendency of gravitating toward what we know from the past and try to establish our own way of doing things rather than contributing with our experience to give birth to a better way of doing things. And, that is our goal and accountability as Managers, to build bridges, make our teams to get out of the silos, and work together for the same purpose.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Generally great despite growing pains

    Nov 3, 2021 - Current Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great benefits and relatively competitive pay Very flexible - most people working largely from home still Good work life balance Generally upbeat and pleasant atmosphere Lots of highly intelligent people to learn from Cool science

    Cons

    Decision making processes are not consistent, some responsibilities still pretty undefined … typical for a company this age and size but needs to start making progress Priorities shift rapidly and frequently which can be hard

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    I chose to work in finance than here

    Oct 29, 2021 - Research Associate 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good team—I had some quality bonding and learning experiences from my colleagues Science is aight

    Cons

    Let me preface with the fact that I willingly chose to work a more stressful role in finance than stay at CRISPR. If you are lower than an managerial position, good luck on getting your grievances listened to. I tried for a whole year. Say goodbye to your work-life balance, I was there almost 10 hours a day —INCLUDING weekends Your manager and director will listen to your problems, but as I said above, good luck on having upper mgmt share the same viewpoint Do not expect upward mobility— I got a MS and still was not promoted

    2 people found this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Fantastic Place to Work

    Sep 24, 2021 - Human Resources Business Partner HRBP in Cambridge, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The best science and employees around. Still small enough to make a huge impact.

    Cons

    Lots of growth means change just working through the fear of change.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  8. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Expect to be undervalued

    Oct 21, 2021 - Research Associate 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Benefits are not bad for a company of its size Company is growing quickly Looks great on a CV Cool science, interesting projects

    Cons

    Work life balance isn’t great Degrees valued over actual experience Compensation is a lot lower than other companies Job titling is a lot lower than other companies High paced, aggressive timelines Burnout culture High turnover Promotions are very slow and upward mobility is limited DEI is not highly valued, efforts to improve have been slow/nonexistent

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee

    great company to work with

    Sep 23, 2021 - Associate Director in Boston, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    exciting science, transformative therapeutics, collaborative environment

    Cons

    commute not so convenient, need better mechanism to motivate people

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Just say no

    Oct 10, 2021 - Director 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Cutting edge science, great pay and benefits

    Cons

    No work life balance. When a family member was dying work was still expected to be done on time. Another co-worker with cancer got less then a week off. No matter how hard you work never good enough.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 30 Reviews

Popular Careers with CRISPR Therapeutics Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at CRISPR Therapeutics? Share Your Experiences

or