CROSSMARK Event Specialist Reviews | Glassdoor

CROSSMARK Event Specialist Reviews

Updated April 26, 2017
278 reviews

Filter

Filter

Event Specialist

3.1
Star Star Star Star Star
Rating Trends Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
CROSSMARK CEO Steve Schuckenbrock
Steve Schuckenbrock
48 Ratings

Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

Pros
  • Part-time you can pic days you want to work (in 85 reviews)

  • Flexible schedule, good fellow workers (in 80 reviews)

Cons
  • not vacation for part time employees (in 87 reviews)

  • No raises--what you start with you end with (in 62 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Event Specialist"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Event Specialist in Harlingen, TX
    Current Employee - Event Specialist in Harlingen, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at CROSSMARK part-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    The job is non stressful. You get to try out new products and talk to different people all the time.The pay is awesome. The hours are great, they're just not enough hours.

    Cons

    It is only a part time position. They don't give you enough hours.

    Advice to Management

    Try to communicate with the stores more often regarding the products being demonstrated. Sometimes they don't have the products on the floor, they're still up on the still.


  2. "Not a great place to work if you want stability in your work life."

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product/Event Specialist in Orlando, FL
    Current Employee - Product/Event Specialist in Orlando, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at CROSSMARK part-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    It is convenient and guests are very friendly.

    Cons

    You do not know your schedule ahead of time. It is like you are on call and if you ask for a day off my Boss says I may not honor that request. It is Tuesday and don't know my schedule for the rest of the week. Plus the manager is disrespectful and doesn't know how to do a work schedule ahead of time. it is very nerve racking. And they keep hiring more people!

    Advice to Management

    Train your Managers better especially on their communication and scheduling issues.


  3. "My Thoughts On CROSSMARK"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Demo Event Specialist in Houston, TX
    Current Employee - Demo Event Specialist in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CROSSMARK part-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Cool People To Work With

    Cons

    To Messy To Work Around

    Advice to Management

    Hire More Men Or Younger Men Who Likes/Loves To Cook, Also Speak To Customers !


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. Helpful (1)

    "Good company. No guaranteed hours. Never get a raise no matter how long you work there or how hard you work"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lead Event Specialist in Memphis, TN
    Former Employee - Lead Event Specialist in Memphis, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    Good hourly rate. Easy to follow directions for each demonstration. Used to get schedule 2 weeks in advance.

    Cons

    They should give bonuses to their best employees. Instead they give a printed 8x10 gold star. Not much of an incentive!

    Advice to Management

    Act like employees matter!

    CROSSMARK Response

    Mar 10, 2017

    Thank you for taking the time to provide your thoughts and share your experience.


  6. "Event Specialist"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Event Specialist in Quincy, IL
    Former Employee - Event Specialist in Quincy, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at CROSSMARK part-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    flexible hours
    worked around colege schedule

    Cons

    very few hours, compounded by management hiring more people to spread hours around more
    no opportunity for raises unless accepting a lead position with a single 25 cent raise and a significantly heavier workload
    new hires often were paid more than veteran workers

    Advice to Management

    even out the pay scale. If new hires are making more, veteran workers should be paid more as well. Possibility of raises will keep employees happier longer.

    CROSSMARK Response

    Mar 24, 2017

    Thank you for sharing your experience!


  7. "Stressful"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Event Specialist in Quincy, IL
    Current Employee - Event Specialist in Quincy, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at CROSSMARK part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Ability to meet new people. Learn how to talk about any product and sell it. Very hands on. Great way to learn how to cook as well.

    Cons

    Very part time. Hard to live on. Very short hours. Tend to throw people in to certain demos that they have no idea how to handle.

    Advice to Management

    Change large company demos to weekdays and allows for more hours for the employees

    CROSSMARK Response

    Feb 27, 2017

    Thank you for sharing your experience! The nature of our business and our client's business is varied, but we are working on a better scheduling system.


  8. "Crossmark Event Specialist"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Event Specialist in Kenosha, WI
    Current Employee - Event Specialist in Kenosha, WI
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at CROSSMARK part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    I loved my job at Crossmark. I enjoy talking and meeting new people. I love a challenge of meeting the product sales goal outlined in the event manuals. I love to cook and really enjoyed discovering new foods that my kids might like before I spend my money on it and the customers loved that aspect too, of course. I like that each day was never the same day, although some events would be repeated, which just made it easier because you already learned the best ways to accomplish a successful event. I also really liked the people I worked with at the Walmart Store in Kenosha, WI. They are like family.

    Cons

    Not enough hours, some weeks you worked one day. Other weeks you worked four days. Being a widowed single mother with two teenagers, it is impossible to pay my bills and develop a workable budget with such unpredictable hours. Other issues happen when the store does not have the proper equipment to prepare the samples for the events.

    Advice to Management

    Communication between the Walmart and Vendors needs to be improved. There were numerous times that I would go to work and was unable to perform the event due to lack of product. If the events are always 5-1/2 hours, and you know who many samples per product you get, how hard is it to calculate. The average number of customers I interacted with at any given event was 300. If the product has 10 items, cut into four pieces you can serve 40 samples. If you serve 300 customers average in a day, divided by 40 samples equals 8. The vendor would need to be sure that there were 8 products available for sampling as well as at least 40 more for customers to purchase, of each of the varieties that are being sampled. So many times when I perform an event, there is no product or very little product available. So you purchase 3 items instead of 8 and there are only 5 left for the customers to purchase if they liked the product. Very embarrassing and frustrating for me and the customers. If I know my schedule two weeks in advance, the vendor also has two weeks to ensure the product is available in the correct store. COMMUNICATION - PRODUCT AVAILABILITY - PROPER EQUIPMENT

    CROSSMARK Response

    Jan 26, 2017

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts, experience and for providing the detailed feedback. We're glad you are loving your role!


  9. "Helped me get through school"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Event Specialist in Conroe, TX
    Current Employee - Event Specialist in Conroe, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at CROSSMARK part-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Flexible Hours
    Decent Salary
    Great Coworkers from varied ages and backgrounds
    Typically fun
    Lots of engagement with people
    Great for students and retirees

    Cons

    Little Opportunity for Growth
    Must be able to handle occasional rude customers
    Can be tedious on slow days

    Advice to Management

    Be consistent and orderly with Event Specialists, be willing to raise the salaries of good workers to match that of new hires.

    CROSSMARK Response

    Feb 9, 2017

    Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts and experience.


  10. "Nice if just want to make some extra $ on side"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Event Specialist in Bronx, NY
    Former Employee - Event Specialist in Bronx, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at CROSSMARK part-time

    Pros

    Flexibility with schedule-limited supervision-learning to cope with all types of people

    Cons

    No raises-no career advancement-corporate lacks a backbone to do whats right for their employees-no benefits whatsoever for part-time workers-Company has no clear direction for its future

    Advice to Management

    Stop treating employees like a liability and treat them like assets-theres a reason why you lost out to your competion with the demos-no backbone or knowledge of how demos work.Its why Moody downgraded the company-no future

    CROSSMARK Response

    Feb 27, 2017

    Thank you for sharing your experience!


  11. Helpful (1)

    "I like it okay'"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Crossmark Event Specialist in Beaumont, TX
    Current Employee - Crossmark Event Specialist in Beaumont, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CROSSMARK (More than a year)

    Pros

    You work on your own. My bosses are really good to me. The people at the stores are really friendly. Hours are good.

    Cons

    Pay could be better. Our carts should be nicer.

    CROSSMARK Response

    Jan 19, 2017

    Thank you for taking the time to provide your thoughts.