CRST Malone Reviews

Updated May 5, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.6
40%
Recommend to a Friend
35%
Approve of CEO
CRST Malone President Scott Shephard (no image)
Scott Shephard
10 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Great place to work

    Aug 24, 2019 - Lease Operator 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Never had any problems with anything, great place and people to work with

    Cons

    I didn't have any downsides

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Decent place to work. Pay is not the best

    May 5, 2020 - N/A in Vestavia Hills, AL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Management is understanding depending on department

    Cons

    Pay is not the best

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Good fleet managers

    Aug 28, 2019 - Truck Driver in Delight, AR
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good fleet managers good staff

    Cons

    Bad loads or no loads in all the states you go to need better agents

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 4.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Driver independent contractor

    Jan 11, 2018 - Lease Purchase in Savannah, TN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    You see a lot of bad reviews on this company but the fact is you work hard and put the right loads you will make money I made $90,000 in the six and a half months I was with the company before being released for a speeding ticket. Best thing do is stay away from short runs that keep you in shipping and receiving for half the day take long runs that pay just as much or a few cents less the wheels turning to make money the fact is if you're sitting in a shipping or receiving you're not moving and you're losing your profit. And that's why I'm returning to the company next month to control my own business and make more than a dollar a mile running just driving

    Cons

    Yes and it's been cleaned be a hassle and times but your agents are there also if you had issues with the load

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee

    One of the best

    Feb 13, 2017 - Owner Operator 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Crst is one of a kind type owner operator company. They give you 3 different types of tools to help you succeed. 1. You are assigned a fleet manager to help you in finding the right load in a lane you want to travel. 2. They provide with a list of numbers for their nation wide agents to also help with finding loads 3. And they also have a load board for you to log into to also find loads. So in my opion if you are not happy with the loads then its you to blame cause they give you to tools to be successful but its up to you to make it happen.

    Cons

    The con i have is when there is an issue that they want you to resolve they will put you on stop dispatch until you get it resolve. Wish they would get in touch with you before stop dispatch is necessary.

    2 people found this review helpful

    CRST Malone Response

    Thanks for your feedback and comments! We appreciate the work you do for us.

  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Difrent.

    Jul 27, 2013 - Driver in Rockport, IN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Do what loads you want, 75% line haul, 100% fuel sercharge, splitting truck payments (325 wk in hot load mounts, 140 in low load mounts) cheep truck payments.

    Cons

    if you are not carefull you can get upside down on a paycheck.( like i am now.lol) i took to cheep of load last week that took to long to deliver.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  7. 2.0
    Current Employee

    CRST Malone

    Sep 22, 2010 - Flat Bed Truck Driver in Birmingham, AL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    If you don't have a family and like to drive over the road. The driver managers treat you with respect. Equipment is ok and if you like to work hard.

    Cons

    No family time. To many deductions come out your check and it don't include taxes or benefits. example: gross income for two months YTD earnings $14,000 deductions $11,000 Your total income $3,000. Their load board is poor. I found myself getting loads off of other company load board that pay less but kept me from being stuck. After 5:00pm to 7:00am central time zone. You are on your own staff is at home snuggled up in there bed lol. At least have preferable $2,000 in funds before you take on a lease purchase. This type of job can break you in a lot of ways.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Office Staff

    Apr 11, 2016 - Fleet Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Operations managers are really there for you and will do their best to "protect" you from top management. Great benefits and pay, easy to work with on family issues and time off, a real "family" feel to the company.

    Cons

    Unattainable goals, long hours with constant work traffic, hard to communicate with other departments, expectations are not always clearly defined. A lot of management turnover changes things up constantly.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  9. 2.0
    Current Employee

    I doubt it

    Jan 9, 2016 -  in Rockport, IN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Decent flatbed training in orientation, fuel discount is good,

    Cons

    My average pay, as a lease purchase truck driver who doesn't hardly come home, didn't refuse loads, working for CRST Malone, giving accurate etas, fully compliant, since the first week I started, is $494 a week on my first 13 weeks (including advances, discluding unavoidable expenses like tolls and scales). The sad thing is, after my per deim, and actual expenses, I'm honest to God going to legally be able to show making less than zero on my taxes, and I'm still trying to make it work because there were two weeks that were worth it. If it gets better by the time I leave the USA, hopefully for good, I'll update my review

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 1.0
    Current Employee

    Came over here and lost it all.

    Apr 14, 2016 - OTR Driver in Birmingham, AL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    There were not any pros that I can think of.

    Cons

    I came to orientation and went through a 5 day orientation, after which I was told we would have to wait on trucks as they had no trucks that were ready. After waiting over two weeks for truck I quit and got another job, They claimed I owed a truck payment for the two weeks even though I was not able to run the truck because it was in the shop and Malone would not authorize it to be repaired. They eventually sent the debt they claimed I owed them to a debt collector and have ruined my credit score. In closing don't work for this company only one driver from my training class got a truck that worked and the rest of us were told we owed for trucks that did not work and we were never able to run with.

    2 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 30 Reviews

Popular Careers with CRST Malone Job Seekers

Owner Operator
Learn About the Job
JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at CRST Malone? Share Your Experiences

CRST Malone logo
or