CSAA Insurance Group Reviews | Glassdoor

CSAA Insurance Group Reviews

Updated September 20, 2017
665 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
CSAA Insurance Group President and Chief Executive Officer Paula Downey
Paula Downey
208 Ratings

665 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • Work-life balance is manageable and much better than most companies (in 61 reviews)

  • Paid Volunteer hours; good pay; good people; wellness plan; 401k, good benefits; (in 40 reviews)

Cons
  • Senior management is constantly changing objectives, which makes it hard to know what we're supposed to do (in 36 reviews)

  • Maintaining a work life balance is a constant struggle (in 14 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Customer Service Rep"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Glendale, AZ
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Glendale, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at CSAA Insurance Group full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Training was awesome and has a family feel

    Cons

    Advancement is not consistent

    CSAA Insurance Group Response

    Sep 8, 2017 – Social Reputation Consultant

    Glad to hear you felt the family feel we strive for in our inclusive environment. We hope you had a chance to share your thoughts on advancement while you were here. We want to make sure all... More


  2. "Insurance Service Agent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at CSAA Insurance Group full-time

    Pros

    Decent pay. Good benefits. Relaxed dress code

    Cons

    New employees come in making more than those who train them. Supervisors are cliquish. Different answer to questions depending on you ask

    CSAA Insurance Group Response

    Sep 15, 2017 – Social Reputation Consultant

    Although we may disagree with some of the points made here, we appreciate your candor and taking the time to share.

  3. "Customer service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Good hours, and good people, and good company wellness program

    Cons

    Management can have better communications with employees and keep them in the loop on new and upcoming projects.

    Advice to Management

    Share updates

    CSAA Insurance Group Response

    Sep 8, 2017 – Social Reputation Consultant

    Thank you for your feedback. We're quite proud of the wellness program here. Glad to hear that you appreciated it. Our "Chat with Leaders" town halls are one way we continue to work at making sure... More


  4. "Benefits Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Bernardino, CA
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Bernardino, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at CSAA Insurance Group full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Great morale, teamwork & Superv
    isor.

    Cons

    Not a very safe area, Bart station.

    CSAA Insurance Group Response

    Aug 28, 2017 – Social Reputation Consultant

    Thanks for your feedback and appreciate your concern for the Bart station. We feel best about the one by our Walnut Creek Office, and know that some Bart stops may not feel as safe.


  5. "Once a proud company to work for ..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Claims Representative in Henderson, NV
    Current Employee - Claims Representative in Henderson, NV
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at CSAA Insurance Group full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    At one time, the benefits were really good! 100% health insurance, matching 401K and paid time off (PTO). Vacation - 1.5 days per month in the 1-4 years. 5-14 years - 16 hours. People looked forward to year 15 when the company rewarded you with 20 hours per month.

    Cons

    Company wants YES people. It's all about who you know not what you know or maybe who you do in order to advance. Other reviews about management are already posted on glassdoor.com so I wont go into those. The icing is the latest and most recent slap in the face ... taking away the employees who have worked for the company for 15+ years. Reducing the time from 20 to 18 hours per month = 3 days a year!!! Work keeps piling on as many people leave this hostile environment that is created by upper management. Some departments do not fill those positions. "We’re looking to managers to encourage their employees to take time off – everyone benefits from breaks to recharge" but yet you want to take away our vacation time. No one was grandfathered in. This is very disappointing to be affiliated with the AAA brand.

    Advice to Management

    Happy employees = happy customers. You can't make everyone happy but the varies years to which you get more PTO was something people look forward. If you work you butt off, you should be able to take time off to "recharge" as you stated. You should have grandfathered people in.


  6. Helpful (1)

    "Service Agent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at CSAA Insurance Group full-time

    Pros

    They do care about their insureds... sometimes.

    Cons

    You. Are. Just. A. NUMBER! No matter how great you are at your job! And you are DAMNED if your disabled, they don't care and will do WHATEVER they can to get rid of you!

    Advice to Management

    Care about your employees, even the disabled ones. Don't just see us as being a number and so disposable.

    CSAA Insurance Group Response

    Sep 5, 2017 – Social Reputation Consultant

    Thank you for alerting us, as your experience is not in alignment with our values. In addition to our ongoing efforts, President and CEO Paula Downey recently joined CEO Action for Diversity... More


  7. "Opportunities for those who work hard!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Positive environment, room for growth, stability and camaraderie

    Cons

    There isn't anything that jumps out at the moment.

    CSAA Insurance Group Response

    Aug 7, 2017 – Social Reputation Consultant

    Thank you for the feedback. We are glad to hear that you are happy here. And thank you for your hard work and contributions to the CSAA Insurance Group team.

  8. Helpful (1)

    "Auto Claims Adjuster"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Colorado Springs, CO
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Colorado Springs, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at CSAA Insurance Group full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Good health benefits and decent pay.

    Cons

    Management lacks compassion to properly train new employees

    Advice to Management

    Push supervisors to be better role models for employees.

    CSAA Insurance Group Response

    Sep 8, 2017 – Social Reputation Consultant

    We are sorry to hear that this was your experience as we want to ensure employees have all the right tools to help members. If you are willing, we hope might reach out to the HR team to provide more... More


  9. "My new venture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Claims Specialist in Henderson, NV
    Current Employee - Claims Specialist in Henderson, NV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CSAA Insurance Group full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    CSAA-IG has shown me that there are still companies out there that want engagement from their employees.
    My leadership and supervisor at the Las Vegas CST have been approachable and open to ideas. They are always looking for ways to allow us to succeed.
    My benefits with the company are comparable to any other company.
    401K match is better than most company
    PTO and Floating Holidays are plentiful.
    The community involvement across the country is fabulous to be apart of.
    The VP of Claims is approachable.

    Cons

    The initial training/ and complex training should be more in-depth. This could help the new employees have a better understanding of the industry.

    Advice to Management

    Think about keeping Fast Trac, hourly and making Complex salary and follow the suit of the Injury team.

    CSAA Insurance Group Response

    Aug 2, 2017 – Social Reputation Consultant

    Thank you for this feedback. Glad to hear you are getting the support you need to be successful!


  10. "Service Agent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at CSAA Insurance Group full-time

    Pros

    No weekends. Great coworkers and management.

    Cons

    Don't eat the food at the company kitchen

    Advice to Management

    None

    CSAA Insurance Group Response

    Aug 2, 2017 – Social Reputation Consultant

    We definitely have great people here, for sure. And the food is great as well! Thank you for sharing.


Showing 665 of 685 reviews
Reset Filters