CSAA Insurance Group Reviews in San Francisco, CA | Glassdoor

CSAA Insurance Group San Francisco Reviews

Updated May 24, 2017
173 reviews

Filter

Filter

San Francisco, CA Area

3.4
Star Star Star Star Star
Rating Trends Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
CSAA Insurance Group President and Chief Executive Officer Paula Downey
Paula Downey
46 Ratings

173 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

Pros
  • A high-performance culture that simultaneously respects work/life balance (in 60 reviews)

  • Very competitive pay, good benefits (although like at most companies, rising cost of benefits to employees) (in 40 reviews)

Cons
  • Senior management really push the AAA values but do not lead by example (in 37 reviews)

  • lower management does not know what is going on and neither does upper management half the time (in 23 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    Helpful (4)

    "I love coming to work every day!"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Professional in Walnut Creek, CA
    Current Employee - IT Professional in Walnut Creek, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at CSAA Insurance Group (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Great people, great benefits! We care about wellness and the environment. Volunteerism is huge and it's encouraged. We are moving towards a culture of innovation. The company's growth strategy is working.

    Cons

    A bit bureaucratic when it come to working with other teams. We can use more teamwork and collaboration and constantly look for way to be more collaborative. Communication is key. Each person has a role and a responsibility to contribute and make any situation better.

    Advice to Management

    Make it easy! Simple, proactive, and personal is our motto after all. We should do more of that internally too. Instead of fighting back, let's find solutions together. Innovation can only happen if we are united and work towards the same goal.

    CSAA Insurance Group Response

    Aug 23, 2016 – Social Reputation Consultant

    Thank you for sharing!


  2. "Best place I've ever worked"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Walnut Creek, CA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Walnut Creek, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CSAA Insurance Group full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    I work with many talented colleagues and am always learning from my boss and others. There are great professional development opportunities and we are always encouraged to try new ideas. The benefits are excellent including a 6% 401k match. The company is also strongly engaged in the community- from an amazing volunteerism program and matching donations to charities to a focus on sustainability. They also just made huge investments in technology and tools to better serve customers and enable employees.

    Cons

    The business model and restrictions on marketing within club boundaries need to change. And club consolidations are a step in the right direction!

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the focus on innovation and supporting employees as we embark on the next chapter of the company.

    CSAA Insurance Group Response

    May 26, 2017 – Social Reputation Consultant

    Thank you for your comments!


  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great Place to Work"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Walnut Creek, CA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Walnut Creek, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CSAA Insurance Group full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    I love the company culture and commitment to giving back to the communities. A Company that not only says all the right things but, more importantly, actually believes in and does the right things (truly walks the walk). Solid strategic plans, leadership teams and experienced caring front-line folks.

    Cons

    Tools are improving, which results in efficiency gains; haven't yet reached optimization.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to live the Company vision and values!

    CSAA Insurance Group Response

    May 4, 2017 – Social Reputation Consultant

    Thank you for sharing!


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. Helpful (2)

    "Toxic, Dysfunctional and Politically Riddled"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Category Specialist in Walnut Creek, CA
    Former Employee - Senior Category Specialist in Walnut Creek, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at CSAA Insurance Group (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Good benefits. pension plan, 401(k), true wellness program, on-site subsidized cafeteria, well-paid health care.

    Cons

    Good ol boy network, sexist, racist, designed to keep people of all backgrounds down. Swept the sourcing group clean three years ago and now is full of tyrants and paranoia.

    Advice to Management

    no advice for management except to replace them. I left because I was told there was no room for advancement and though I made a mid-range salary, no room for salary increases.


  6. "Good Company"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Underwriter in San Francisco, CA
    Former Employee - Underwriter in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at CSAA Insurance Group full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Great people, great benefits! We care about wellness and the environment. Volunteerism is huge and it's encouraged

    Cons

    Too much work and not enough time

    CSAA Insurance Group Response

    May 5, 2017 – Social Reputation Consultant

    We appreciate you taking the time to share.


  7. Helpful (4)

    "Stay away!"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Walnut Creek, CA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Walnut Creek, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at CSAA Insurance Group full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    • Work/Life Balance is ok.

    Cons

    • Lack of transparency from leadership (CEO, VPs, managers, etc.)
    • Very unsupportive manager, lacks strategy skills, people skills, and has no clue what's going on. (Don't know how this person became a senior manager)
    • Manager only points out the negatives. "HORRIBLE" (in Donald trump voice)
    • No trust within company
    • If something goes wrong, you get blamed.
    • No Innovation, everything you create dies, and never ever ever gets launched.
    • Reverse franchise model, where the partner clubs dictate what you can do or can't do.
    • If you can handled being treated poorly by team members, talked down to, or want to be yelled at in a rude manner, then work here.
    • Horrible food in the cafeteria, it's like eating out of a dumpster. Where do they find these horrible chefs??
    • Poor pay, low balling, compared to other companies in the Bay Area for similar position.

    Advice to Management

    Have a strategy for the business, and innovate. Learn how to create a better culture. More transparency from leadership. Be more open about company roadmap.


  8. Helpful (2)

    "HR"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources in Walnut Creek, CA
    Current Employee - Human Resources in Walnut Creek, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at CSAA Insurance Group full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Most people do not put in 8 hrs a day

    Cons

    No strategic direction, mgmt goes to great lengths to establish and maintain silos

    Advice to Management

    Re-establish ethical behavior from senior mgmt, put value on your existing employees


  9. "Bodily Injury Field Claims Specialist"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bodily Injury Claims Specialist in San Francisco, CA
    Former Employee - Bodily Injury Claims Specialist in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at CSAA Insurance Group full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Excellent case file management, personal and corporate experience

    Cons

    The salary made it fiscally unsound to stay. Putting two small children in day care in San Francisco would have cost more than my salary.

    Advice to Management

    Keep high functioning adjusters exempt employees. Make quality employees want to stay

    CSAA Insurance Group Response

    Mar 10, 2017 – Social Reputation Consultant

    Thank you for your feedback.


  10. Helpful (5)

    "IT"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Walnut Creek, CA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Walnut Creek, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at CSAA Insurance Group full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    I worked for a great Manager.

    Cons

    The IT department does not care about quality since their bonus structure is based on delivery. As a result, there is lots of frustration by the Business and lots of re-work by IT development teams. Eventually, the money is going to run out.\ and/or the talented folks just bail due to pure frustration.

    Advice to Management

    Don't just believe IT that they have delivered on the capability because their powerpoint says so. After projects there should be an independent evaluation of the IT project (by someone outside of IT) to confirm the capability has been delivered.

    CSAA Insurance Group Response

    Mar 9, 2017 – Social Reputation Consultant

    Although we don't agree with everything posted here, we appreciate your feedback.


  11. "Could be better"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Analyst in Walnut Creek, CA
    Former Employee - Financial Analyst in Walnut Creek, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at CSAA Insurance Group full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Generous 401k match, excellent work/life balance and telecommuting options. Middle management will definitely look out for their teams. Most of the employees are extremely friendly with each other.

    Cons

    Senior management is constantly changing objectives, which makes it hard to know what we're supposed to do. Not a lot of great options for eating near the office. The open floor plan can make it difficult to concentrate depending on where you are sitting.

    Advice to Management

    I would say to management that it's time to be more aggressive with marketing and look for growth opportunities within the core territory. Also, you don't have to do a re-org every time someone new comes on to senior management.

    CSAA Insurance Group Response

    Mar 3, 2017 – Social Reputation Consultant

    Thank you for your perspective.


Showing 173 of 651 reviews
Reset Filters