CSAA Insurance Group Reviews in Walnut Creek, CA | Glassdoor

CSAA Insurance Group Walnut Creek Reviews

Updated April 21, 2017
87 reviews

Filter

Filter

Walnut Creek, CA

3.8
Star Star Star Star Star
Rating Trends Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
CSAA Insurance Group President and Chief Executive Officer Paula Downey
Paula Downey
34 Ratings

87 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

Pros
  • A high-performance culture that simultaneously respects work/life balance (in 57 reviews)

  • Great place to work, Good benefits (in 38 reviews)

Cons
  • Senior management really push the AAA values but do not lead by example (in 37 reviews)

  • lower management does not know what is going on and neither does upper management half the time (in 23 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    Helpful (2)

    "I love coming to work every day!"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Professional in Walnut Creek, CA
    Current Employee - IT Professional in Walnut Creek, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at CSAA Insurance Group (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Great people, great benefits! We care about wellness and the environment. Volunteerism is huge and it's encouraged. We are moving towards a culture of innovation. The company's growth strategy is working.

    Cons

    A bit bureaucratic when it come to working with other teams. We can use more teamwork and collaboration and constantly look for way to be more collaborative. Communication is key. Each person has a role and a responsibility to contribute and make any situation better.

    Advice to Management

    Make it easy! Simple, proactive, and personal is our motto after all. We should do more of that internally too. Instead of fighting back, let's find solutions together. Innovation can only happen if we are united and work towards the same goal.

    CSAA Insurance Group Response

    Aug 23, 2016 – Social Reputation Consultant

    Thank you for sharing!


  2. "Great Place to Work"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Walnut Creek, CA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Walnut Creek, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CSAA Insurance Group full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    I love the company culture and commitment to giving back to the communities. A Company that not only says all the right things but, more importantly, actually believes in and does the right things (truly walks the walk). Solid strategic plans, leadership teams and experienced caring front-line folks.

    Cons

    Tools are improving, which results in efficiency gains; haven't yet reached optimization.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to live the Company vision and values!


  3. Helpful (5)

    "IT"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Walnut Creek, CA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Walnut Creek, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at CSAA Insurance Group full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    I worked for a great Manager.

    Cons

    The IT department does not care about quality since their bonus structure is based on delivery. As a result, there is lots of frustration by the Business and lots of re-work by IT development teams. Eventually, the money is going to run out.\ and/or the talented folks just bail due to pure frustration.

    Advice to Management

    Don't just believe IT that they have delivered on the capability because their powerpoint says so. After projects there should be an independent evaluation of the IT project (by someone outside of IT) to confirm the capability has been delivered.

    CSAA Insurance Group Response

    Mar 9, 2017 – Social Reputation Consultant

    Although we don't agree with everything posted here, we appreciate your feedback.


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. "Could be better"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Analyst in Walnut Creek, CA
    Former Employee - Financial Analyst in Walnut Creek, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at CSAA Insurance Group full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Generous 401k match, excellent work/life balance and telecommuting options. Middle management will definitely look out for their teams. Most of the employees are extremely friendly with each other.

    Cons

    Senior management is constantly changing objectives, which makes it hard to know what we're supposed to do. Not a lot of great options for eating near the office. The open floor plan can make it difficult to concentrate depending on where you are sitting.

    Advice to Management

    I would say to management that it's time to be more aggressive with marketing and look for growth opportunities within the core territory. Also, you don't have to do a re-org every time someone new comes on to senior management.

    CSAA Insurance Group Response

    Mar 3, 2017 – Social Reputation Consultant

    Thank you for your perspective.


  6. "Technology Consultant"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Anonymous Contractor in Walnut Creek, CA
    Former Contractor - Anonymous Contractor in Walnut Creek, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at CSAA Insurance Group as a contractor (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    The office is fairly new and nicely appointed. Employees enjoy a gym, yoga, all kinds of special events and volunteer opportunities.

    Cons

    Employees are not held accountable for any company objectives. On the technical side of the business mid-management is has been raised to their level of incompetence and upper management is completely unaware of what is actually going on in the company.


  7. "Project Manager"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Walnut Creek, CA
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Walnut Creek, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CSAA Insurance Group full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Firm provides great community and perks for employees, such as onsite exercise classes, lockers, volunteering days, and other events and offerings. Company seems very supportive of its diverse employee base.

    Cons

    Company culture does not seem terribly innovative, but this may be changing. Employees do not seem quite as motivated as their contractor peers.

    Advice to Management

    Often employee goals are not aligned with the larger company's initiatives, which creates a lot of foundering, wasted energy and resources, and unnecessary inter-group conflict. Company would do well to garner greater agreement between its leadership about the strategic vision and how to make space for workers to implement this unified vision.

    CSAA Insurance Group Response

    Jan 12, 2017 – Social Reputation Consultant

    Thank you for sharing your perspective.


  8. "Great culture"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Walnut Creek, CA
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Walnut Creek, CA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at CSAA Insurance Group full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    The people are driven and committed. Even when there are professional disagreements, there is professionalism. Everyone truly seems to be doing the right thing for the customer.
    The company has excellent leadership training opportunities. I had a great manager that encouraged my professional development.

    Cons

    The company has been increasingly focused on operating costs, causing several people to lose their jobs and an overall vibe of belt tightening. People are less able to move up in the company as a result of the organization flattening management levels.

    Advice to Management

    Your employees are your most valuable asset.

    CSAA Insurance Group Response

    Nov 18, 2016 – Social Reputation Consultant

    Thank you for sharing.


  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company, Great Values"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Walnut Creek, CA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Walnut Creek, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at CSAA Insurance Group full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Inclusive, willing to listen and try new ideas

    Cons

    Need to move more leadership out to contact centers

    Advice to Management

    Keep going and challenging status quo

    CSAA Insurance Group Response

    Sep 22, 2016 – Social Reputation Consultant

    Appreciate the feedback!


  10. Helpful (2)

    "Business Process Consultant"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    Current Employee - Business Process Consultant in Walnut Creek, CA
    Current Employee - Business Process Consultant in Walnut Creek, CA

    I have been working at CSAA Insurance Group full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    many learning opportunities and resources

    Cons

    none come to mind at this time

    CSAA Insurance Group Response

    Sep 22, 2016 – Social Reputation Consultant

    Thank you for your feedback!


  11. "Sales and Service Executive"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Walnut Creek, CA
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Walnut Creek, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at CSAA Insurance Group (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great mission to protect and insure members. Employees are mission-driven. Great financial strength and low-volatility.

    Cons

    Legacy company that needs to reinvent itself and attract new members and insureds. Hard to execute quickly due to company culture.

    Advice to Management

    Stay nimble, keep communications open and have executives focus on approachability and building relationships with club partners.

    CSAA Insurance Group Response

    Sep 22, 2016 – Social Reputation Consultant

    Thanks for the great feedback!



Showing 87 of 632 reviews
Reset Filters