CSAA Insurance Group, a AAA Insurer Claims Specialist Reviews | Glassdoor

CSAA Insurance Group, a AAA Insurer Claims Specialist Reviews

Updated Oct 22, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
67%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
CSAA Insurance Group, a AAA Insurer President and CEO Thomas M. Troy
Thomas M. Troy
1 Rating
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Claims Service Specialist 

    I have been working at CSAA Insurance Group, a AAA Insurer full-time

    Pros

    Basically everything, they really take care of their employees

    Cons

    Shift bids are very few and far between

    CSAA Insurance Group, a AAA Insurer2019-10-04

    CSAA Insurance Group, a AAA Insurer Response

    October 14, 2019Social Reputation Consultant

    Thank you for your comments and taking the time to share. Great to hear that you are enjoying your experience with us!

    Continue reading
  2. "Claims"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Homeowners Claims Specialist in Colorado Springs, CO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at CSAA Insurance Group, a AAA Insurer full-time

    Pros

    Good pay. Flexibility with hours after tenor. Hit or miss leadership. Great experience learning insurance and time management

    Cons

    Extremely stressful. Bad insurance benefits

    CSAA Insurance Group, a AAA Insurer2019-10-22
  3. "Great Company but challenging industry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Claims Specialist 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at CSAA Insurance Group, a AAA Insurer full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Longevity and established company. Been around for 100 yrs already.

    Cons

    Ever changing industry. Volatile to trends may lead to budget cuts--layoffs, short staffed, less than ideal employee benefits (medical premium increases)

    CSAA Insurance Group, a AAA Insurer2019-10-04
  4. Helpful (7)

    "Learned some unexpected lessons about people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Claims Service Specialist in Colorado Springs, CO
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at CSAA Insurance Group, a AAA Insurer full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Decent pay, very few good managers, but the good ones were fantastic leaders!

    Cons

    Doing everything that is expected of you with the upmost Integrity is an exercise in futility if you want to look good on paper. Never mind the value of tons of insureds always singing your praises and feeling extremely valued due to your care. Those of us who worked hard and didn’t take shortcuts couldn’t make the numbers; while the individuals who cheated and took shortcuts were rewarded for appearing to be more valuable based on the expectations on paper. It was extremely stressful and unrewarding. The first time in my career where my passion for service, excellence and detail in my work was actually frowned upon due to the need for quantity over quality. I quit because the unspoken quantity over quality mentality was not in alignment with my work ethic and values.

    Continue reading
    CSAA Insurance Group, a AAA Insurer2019-08-07
  5. Helpful (5)

    "Great entry level opportunity, must be self sufficient. Claims Service Specialist (CST)."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Claims Service Specialist in Colorado Springs, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at CSAA Insurance Group, a AAA Insurer full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great pay, good growth opportunities, friendly environment, does not support micro-management. Decent benefits and PTO.

    Cons

    Very unprofessional. Supervisors use a lot of profanity in general and don't not know how to remain professional. Very disorganized, management of different teams or departments are not on the same page. Processes for handling situations are not official, and can lead to various opinions on how to handle issues from management. There is no correct way of doing your work by guidelines, everything is opinion based. After the initial training and on-boarding process, you are expected to meet your working goals but the communication of your goals are not presented to you unless you are not maintaining those goals for over a month. Very high turnover ratio due to a combination of internal promotions and quick termination of employees who struggle to keep up. This leads to highly stressful workload that is very hard to maintain. Most of the claims specialists are stressed everyday and hope things get better, but conditions do not improve. Refresher trainings are not offered to those who struggle. The volume of claims is so high that overtime is offered each month so employees can catch up on their claims. The company make frequent changes without any type of transition plan. As an employee, you have to hunt down management for help, as the supervisors are never at their desks. Individual supervisor can't be trusted because they will tell you that they will help you with something and then disappear for hours and never follow up with you. Basically you need to be self sufficient and do not expect help from your superiors. It is a every man for himself environment. If you struggle, you will get thrown under the bus by your supervisor.

    Continue reading
    CSAA Insurance Group, a AAA Insurer2018-12-04

    CSAA Insurance Group, a AAA Insurer Response

    December 6, 2018Social Reputation Consultant

    These comments do not reflect who we are as an organization. We are sorry to hear that you felt this way about your experience with us. If you are ever available to do so, we would be happy to connect to learn more.

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (7)

    "Claims Service Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Claims Service Specialist in Henderson, NV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CSAA Insurance Group, a AAA Insurer full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Absolutely the most ethical company i have ever worked for, super supportive and fun! Very relaxed environment and they work hard to make you feel appreciated, i wouldnt be suprised if i worked here til i retire

    Cons

    There is a lot of work to do so if you are not ready to put in the work and critically think, dont apply for this job.

    Continue reading
    CSAA Insurance Group, a AAA Insurer2018-10-03

    CSAA Insurance Group, a AAA Insurer Response

    October 10, 2018Social Reputation Consultant

    Glad to hear that you're getting the support you need and having fun! Thank you for your feedback.

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (5)

    "Claim Service Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Claims Service Specialist in Henderson, NV
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at CSAA Insurance Group, a AAA Insurer full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    co-workers are great no other positive things come to mind

    Cons

    Workload is unmanagable. Expectaions too high. Salary of a brand new employee higher than an employee with over 10 years tenure. Expected to work over time. 2 hours each day mandatory assisting other adjusters claim calls while your own claims / voicemails sit waiting. do not care about seniority and do not treat equal. supervisors need more training

    Continue reading
    CSAA Insurance Group, a AAA Insurer2018-08-30

    CSAA Insurance Group, a AAA Insurer Response

    September 6, 2018Social Reputation Consultant

    We are saddened to hear that you felt this way about your work experience. We strive to ensure all employees get the support they need to be successful. Hopefully you had an opportunity to share your concerns with your HR representative before you moved on. If not, we would like to learn more if your able to reach out and discuss.

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great company, bad management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Homeowner Claims Specialist in Oklahoma City, OK
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at CSAA Insurance Group, a AAA Insurer full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great pay, bonuses, benefits, diversity, Family environment amongst co workers. Health and wellness incentives. R&R programs. ERG groups. Incentives for volunteering.

    Cons

    Stressful due to not enough employees for work load. Management has favorites. Will write you up and no matter how hard you try. Once write up about to fall off they will write you up again.

    Continue reading
    CSAA Insurance Group, a AAA Insurer2018-02-12
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Steady employment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Claims Specialist in Henderson, NV
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at CSAA Insurance Group, a AAA Insurer full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Very busy steady work and benefits.

    Cons

    Promotions are based on "the favorite child" and not merit or ability.

    Continue reading
    CSAA Insurance Group, a AAA Insurer2018-01-12

    CSAA Insurance Group, a AAA Insurer Response

    January 24, 2018Social Reputation Consultant

    We are disappointed to hear that you felt this way while you worked with us. Our team works hard to ensure that there is no favoritism and that people are measured based on effort and results . I don't know what specific situation you encountered but hopefully you had an opportunity to share details about why your felt the way that you did with the HR team.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Management Needs an Overhall"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Claims Specialist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at CSAA Insurance Group, a AAA Insurer full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Paid time off.... if you are daring enough to use it.

    Cons

    The supervisors in the Las Vegas office are unwilling to help guide, assist, teach in any way. They are "tenured" and want to keep their jobs long enough to ride off into the sunset/retire so they are unwilling to provide information to new hires because they are threatened they could be replaced. They strictly want you to do what makes them look good as far as company measured metrics but what they measure is highly inaccurate/invalid information. The workload is backbreaking and there is no work/life balance. The turnover in the HO department is astronomical and people have complained for years the workload is not manageable. The management team is only recently trying to reduce the workload due to the fact the customer service satisfaction scores are TANKING, which in turn, affects the bonuses of the managers..... The management team is full of "good old boys" that pat each other on the back and never really accomplish anything. They want to golf, party, and go to happy hour after working 5 hours a day instead of fixing the glaring issues. This is severely, severely affecting the bottom line of the company. We need an overhaul of supervisors/managers in the Las Vegas office.

    Continue reading
    CSAA Insurance Group, a AAA Insurer2017-12-28

    CSAA Insurance Group, a AAA Insurer Response

    December 29, 2017Social Reputation Consultant

    Although we do not agree with everything that is mentioned here, we welcome feedback. Please reach out to your local HR representative and provide details so that we can learn more about your work experience.

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 26 reviews