CSAA Insurance Group, a AAA Insurer Insurance Agent Reviews | Glassdoor

CSAA Insurance Group, a AAA Insurer Insurance Agent Reviews

Updated Nov 7, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
36%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
CSAA Insurance Group, a AAA Insurer President and CEO Thomas M. Troy
Thomas M. Troy
2 Ratings
  1. "Best company I've ever worked for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Insurance Agent in Oklahoma City, OK
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CSAA Insurance Group, a AAA Insurer full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Working for CSAA has been a very positive experience for me. I've never worked anywhere that has such a diverse, welcoming, encouraging atmosphere. There are changes being made consistently to ensure we are expanding what we do as a company. There is a lot of opportunity available, and supervisors and managers are incredibly supportive and helpful in your path to meet your goals. The teamwork aspect is incredible. My coworkers feel more like family.

    Cons

    The only real downside is that some days are outrageously busy with taking back-to-back calls; and some of the people that call are ridiculously crabby. These things are just part of the territory of working in this field though.

    Continue reading
    CSAA Insurance Group, a AAA Insurer2019-06-16

    CSAA Insurance Group, a AAA Insurer Response

    June 21, 2019Social Reputation Consultant

    We appreciate the feedback. Thank you for taking the time to share.

    Continue reading
  2. "Call Center"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Insurance Agent in Glendale, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CSAA Insurance Group, a AAA Insurer full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    If young great place to start a career.

    Cons

    Must work weekends no exception.

    Continue reading
    CSAA Insurance Group, a AAA Insurer2019-11-08

    CSAA Insurance Group, a AAA Insurer Response

    December 20, 2019Social Reputation Consultant

    Have you had an opportunity to chat with your manager about your concerns? Please reach out to HR if you have questions.

    Continue reading
  3. "Good company for the most part..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Insurance Agent in Glendale, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at CSAA Insurance Group, a AAA Insurer full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Plenty of hours available to work with flexible schedules

    Cons

    Can be stressful, advancement is possible but can take a long time. Pay is ok depending on locations but can pay new hires more than long-time employees

    Continue reading
    CSAA Insurance Group, a AAA Insurer2019-07-09

    CSAA Insurance Group, a AAA Insurer Response

    August 6, 2019Social Reputation Consultant

    Although we may not agree with everything posted here, we appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts.

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Insurance Agent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Insurance Service Agent in Hamilton, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CSAA Insurance Group, a AAA Insurer full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You have a set schedule, with two days off (except Mondays, as those are the busiest days) - new hires may get a kind of bum shift (11:30-7, for instance) but the office is only open until 7 so you don't work too late. The supervisors I have had were very easy to talk to about interpersonal or professional issues. The training is great and the people who train you are engaging. You have a ton of resources to answer any questions you have - be it IMing a supervisor directly or accessing the database with a few key words, you have access to a ton of information anytime so you're not waiting for a response. I have almost no issues with anyone on my floor and my immediate coworkers are kind, courteous, and work as a team. 98% of the people I interact with are pleasant, fun, and easy going. Lots of folks willing to help. VERY diverse and inclusive, LGBT Organization, Latinx Organization, African American Organization. The mark of a good organization is how they encourage and foster a diverse workplace. There is a once or twice yearly Unconscious Bias workshop that comes around that talks about how to ID your own unconscious biases and it very helpful in being mindful. Exciting personal development programs like Aspiring Leadership Development, ToastMasters, etc are available for you to be a part of, especially if you're looking to improve or brush up on your skills. They hold Town Halls twice a year to keep you in on the loop of how the company is doing, what major changes are coming, and what that means for us as the employees. Lots of investment in innovation and practice. Everyone is encouraged to submit an idea for consideration several times a year. Coaching is a normal part of the experience and supervisors will go over things with you that they notice should be addressed. This allows for you to know exactly what you're doing right and what you should do to improve the other things. They don't leave you in the dark, and are keen to help answer questions. Merit increases are bomb, great health benefits, and they match your 401K contribution up to 6% (as per my hiring). You may start with a lowish salary but when your review comes up, you have the potential to be making considerably more per year based on your development and drive within the job. Overall, the workplace culture is really great, and the work/life balance is great too. You aren't expected to take any work home with you and so you can have a life outside of work.

    Cons

    This is a call center environment - while not a typical call center, you still have to field at least 60-70 calls per day. But don't worry, you're not blocked off from the rest of the floor. There's an open floor plan where everyone can see everyone else. This can be a pro or con depending on your perspective. When you do get an angry customer, you have to endure a fair amount of verbal abuse before you can voluntarily terminate the call - they have to swear and use vulgar language before you are free to do so. We are PCI compliant, meaning no cell phones on the floor. Another pro/con depending on your perspective. It's for the security of our customers, but also, you can definitely lose your job for having your phone out in a non-designated area. I have heard some stories that some of the supervisors on the floor are impossible to work with. Some supervisors will IM you if you're in after-call work for more than 2 minutes, or as soon as you hop into after-call work. This has happened to me on days my supervisor was not in the office. I don't talk about anything at work that I wouldn't want anybody to know about - I've heard plenty of hot gossip about my coworkers. It spreads like wildfire. Because CSAA tends to work really well, I think some people feel FOMO when it comes to office drama and they create their own. I don't think that's the fault of the company necessarily, but there are plenty of people who work in the office who are miserable (and make it known) who find a lot to complain about. Promotions are uneven and distributed at odd intervals or based on inconsistent criteria. The class after mine ended up getting promoted to the next title in the job family while plenty of agents who had been working there 3+ years were still waiting for their promotion. I think this is due in part to there being no set criteria for a promotion to be considered - people who complete continuing education and show an active interest in furthering their career in insurance can be left to wait while someone who hasn't even been there a year moves up the ranks without the same initiative. I've heard the word 'favoritism' thrown around a few times about this issue. Sometimes the supervisors are unavailable to take a supervisor all and that can get kind of bristly. Sometimes waiting for an Agent Service representative or other assistant-to-service takes a really long time because of call volume.

    Continue reading
    CSAA Insurance Group, a AAA Insurer2018-10-04

    CSAA Insurance Group, a AAA Insurer Response

    October 10, 2018Social Reputation Consultant

    Greatly appreciate that you took the time to share your thoughts. We value our diverse work environment as well. Thank you for your feedback.

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Rewarding Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Insurance Service Agent in Oklahoma City, OK
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CSAA Insurance Group, a AAA Insurer full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay, opportunities to expand knowledge, great 401k, and generous PTO. About 80% of the employees are truly caring and genuine people.

    Cons

    Short lunch breaks, work load can be stressful with little relief, and favorites among the staff. Schedules offered can be hard for families with children.

    Continue reading
    CSAA Insurance Group, a AAA Insurer2018-07-26

    CSAA Insurance Group, a AAA Insurer Response

    August 1, 2018Social Reputation Consultant

    We have great people that work here. Thank you for your feedback.

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (6)

    "Pay is good nothing else"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Insurance Agent in Oklahoma City, OK
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at CSAA Insurance Group, a AAA Insurer full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pay is good I’ll give them that

    Cons

    Too much drama, favoritism,literally on the phone while shift that try to inform they let you do back office and stuff like that that’s only in training on the floor it’s seldom unless you’re a favorite

    Continue reading
    CSAA Insurance Group, a AAA Insurer2018-07-05

    CSAA Insurance Group, a AAA Insurer Response

    July 6, 2018Social Reputation Consultant

    We are disappointed to hear this. Our organization strives to cultivate an inclusive environment where all employees feel valued. If possible, please reach out to your local HR rep so that we have an opportunity to investigate further.

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (8)

    "A Game of Favorites"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Insurance Agent 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at CSAA Insurance Group, a AAA Insurer full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Steady income that paid the bills, barely

    Cons

    When you first get hired you are sold a bill of goods that just isn’t there. There’s a bizarre dynamic in the call center where favoritism is in the open. The people who are the best agents don’t get recognized if they aren’t part of the ‘inner circle.’ I would have felt offended by this under normal circumstances but the inner circle is a bunch of yes men and women who I had no desire to be like. Management as a whole...there’s a couple good supervisors but by and large management is an abomination. This place will continue to be toxic until upper management and about 80% of the supervisor’s get replaced by real leaders who care about their employees. The phoniness is not noticeable the first 3 months but when you start paying attention it’s hard to miss. If there’s ever a time a customer requests a supervisor and you try to get one...crickets. Real strong leadership isn’t it? The IT and computer programs are a joke. Things freeze every other minute and the go to response from the help desk or a supervisor is ‘Clear your Cache and Cookies.’ Uh no how about you spend the money that needs to be spent to get this place running efficiently and stop saying there’s a ‘work around’ for every technical glitch that’s experienced by EVERYONE on a DAILY basis. Every time the Policy Administration System got an update it turned out having more problems than it had before the update came out...how is that possible? Oh yeah and ask 3 different supervisor’s the same question about what protocol to follow regarding insurance guidelines and you will get three different answers-take that to the bank 100% guaranteed.

    Continue reading
    CSAA Insurance Group, a AAA Insurer2018-06-09
  8. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Insurance Agent in Hamilton, NJ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CSAA Insurance Group, a AAA Insurer full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good Pay. Nice Environment. Friendly Leadership Team. Big into Volunteering. Diverse and Inclusive.

    Cons

    Promotions now being heavily based on longevity compared to skill set and quality of work. Employees are forced to learn more and grow skill set without any additional pay and this is done with very minimal training. Calling out gives you an "occurrence" and doing so too many days in a row can result in being placed on Notice of Council. Once on "NOC" you can be fired for virtually anything and doctors notes are not excepted here.

    Continue reading
    CSAA Insurance Group, a AAA Insurer2018-02-12
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Very rewarding company to work for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Insurance Service Agent in Oklahoma City, OK
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CSAA Insurance Group, a AAA Insurer full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Co-workers that collaborate and care about each other. Affordable benefits and great wellness programs. Good pay and paid testing for licensing, very thorough training. Various activities and contests that break up the monotony of long hours. Comfortable work attire. Encouraged to be your true self.

    Cons

    Working weekends. The call center can be noisy. The attendance policy is extremely rigid and strict.

    Continue reading
    CSAA Insurance Group, a AAA Insurer2017-12-16
  10. Helpful (9)

    "I would not recommend working here!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Licensed Insurance Agent in Glendale, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at CSAA Insurance Group, a AAA Insurer full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Promotes healthy eating and exercise, can get a discount on insurance premiums if you do. Trains you and pays for your licensing

    Cons

    Micro managed, not flexible with schedules, disorganized(a lot of the right hand doesn't know what the left hand is doing), systems constantly down but you're still expected to pass metrics, favoritism, high turn over for employees and supervisors, no minorities in management at all. Kind of feels like high school and the company runs like a new company even though they've been around for over 100yrs.

    CSAA Insurance Group, a AAA Insurer2017-07-20

    CSAA Insurance Group, a AAA Insurer Response

    August 2, 2017Social Reputation Consultant

    Sorry to hear that you had a less than positive experience when you were here. We are always looking for opportunities to improve. We may not agree with all of the details stated here, but thank you for taking the time to share.

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 26 reviews