CSAA Insurance Group, a AAA Insurer Insurance Service Specialist Reviews | Glassdoor

CSAA Insurance Group, a AAA Insurer Insurance Service Specialist Reviews

Updated Jan 5, 2017

To filter reviews, or .

1.1
4%
Recommend to a Friend
CSAA Insurance Group, a AAA Insurer President and CEO Thomas M. Troy
Thomas M. Troy
0 Rating
  1. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Insurance Service Specialist in Irvine, CA
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at CSAA Insurance Group, a AAA Insurer

    Pros

    The pay is very competitive compared to other insurance companies. I'd definitely recommend this place to others because it was an overall good experience.

    Cons

    They do work you to the bone if you plan on moving up in the company. Sales is an important factor but that's how it is with most insurance companies.

    Continue reading
    CSAA Insurance Group, a AAA Insurer2010-04-20
  2. Helpful (9)

    "No managerial diversity. If you're white, you're right at CSAA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Insurance Service Specialist in Glendale, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CSAA Insurance Group, a AAA Insurer full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There are simply none. Terrible company. Leaving as soon as possible. Whiteness=Management.

    Cons

    As much as they scream for diversity, there are no minority supervisors or leadership at the Glendale location at all, except the tech team and Spanish teams. Abhorrent. They should be ashamed. Embarrassed even.

    Continue reading
    CSAA Insurance Group, a AAA Insurer2017-01-06

    CSAA Insurance Group, a AAA Insurer Response

    January 12, 2017Social Reputation Consultant

    As an organization, we are committed to a diversity and inclusion strategy that aims to ensure that a wide variety of perspectives guide our work. It is critical to the foundation of our business and one of our core values. If you have concerns, we encourage you to reach out to you local HR representative and share your thoughts.

    Continue reading
  3. "Its ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Insurance Service Specialist in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at CSAA Insurance Group, a AAA Insurer full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Call center exp. office culture college feel

    Cons

    Training comp promotions perks time off

    CSAA Insurance Group, a AAA Insurer2014-09-07
  4. Helpful (13)

    "Seriously consider other choices"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Insurance Service Specialist in Hamilton, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at CSAA Insurance Group, a AAA Insurer full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Pay, though do expect the occasional paycheck problem. Free parking (some perk!) You will stay busy. They have a cafeteria on site. You'll learn any job you had before was probably a good job in comparison and you'll learn from your mistake. Perfect place to work if you are trying to stay away from your family - you'll never see them, and when you do, you'll be so stressed they won't want to see you.

    Cons

    Many of us said as we walked by the conference rooms where they were interviewing that we felt the impulse to run in and let the candidate know to consider their other choices. As it is, new employees regularly start looking elsewhere shortly after they are trained. The expectations are completely unreal. They want you to take call after call, and tell you to do your paperwork "in between calls". There isn't any in between - especially from customers who are regularly screaming about the service or mistakes on their policies. Your choices are either to do your legally required paperwork in between calls or more realistically, during breaks and after or before work. A LOT just "gets buried" - the overworked agent either forgot or never knew. Once initially trained, there is no update training inspite of having classrooms with thousand dollars worth of equipment, unless you think an email training. For that matter, try getting the email - you may have been dropped from the list! The latest I heard was that new employees cannot take vacation for the first year - any vacation time will be assigned one day here or there by the company. Is that even legal? And these poor people don't even get two days off in a row - and are expected to work every Saturday with little to no chance of ever getting off. Don't think you will get any sympathy if you have a sick child, pending surgery, medical condition, school appointment, or three feet of snow. Your expected to be there every day, and stay later if required. In the three years I was there my health was deteriorating, as your never allowed out of that seat except your assigned break or lunch (which you may find yourself still doing paperwork). Computing system is a nightmare. There is no way to look up information on line - you have to rely on word of mouth, what you may have written on some sheet, training materials which do not cover everything, and trying to chase down a supervisor. Customers get three bills, varying amounts, no bill, or confusing letters or statements. The CEO from 3 years ago is still the signature on letters going out. Supervisors vary in quality - some are good, some should not be supervisors as their MO is to avoid answering your questions (but remind you to take calls faster). Bonuses were done away with for call agents last year so not sure if that changed. They demand you meet a certain level of "cross sales", leads to getting the customer another policy - but they have not grown the infrastructure right nor are you compensated much. Many call takers were using tactics to make their sales look higher - the "push the caller to the sales side", or "keep talking until they beg to listen so they can get off the call" were a few of the techniques. This is critical if you want a reasonable schedule and a vacation. Vacation? You need to "bid" for your vacation, so plan ahead in November, and if you don't get the bid, you are out of luck. Seriously. Not even "would you take a different week". And again, if you didn't get the email, you will wait another year. This does cause a problem when people are over the limit with vacation - they may be forced to take time off at the Company's choice -or get paid. You bid for your schedule every year too so if you have a small child - seriously reconsider this as this change happens in January. New hire pay has dropped drastically in the past three years, yet work increased tremendously - supporting two states before, now six states when I left. In the three years I worked, 44 people left out of approximately 70 in the last two. They used to be selective about new hires being licensed or meeting standards when trained. Now, any warm body with clothing on willing to take the chance is welcome. Dress has gone from business casual to ghetto. Site managment is weak and non-existent. Finally, the most chilling was the "disappearances" of employees. Some people may have deserved to be let go, but there are those who were let go for trumped up charges, usually attendance (only allowed 5 occurances for a year and that includes calling out sick). Oddly enough, if you are favored, you get to stay, no matter what your work performance is or what problems you caused. It does appear that if you are on the west coast, treatment may be better, if you are on the east coast, you really are low life stepchild. There was a program to volunteer on the outside for a good cause, but if you had a job with no backup, you could never participate. This place sounds great until you get inside. I've never ever written a review like this one, and hope I never do again.

    Continue reading
    CSAA Insurance Group, a AAA Insurer2014-05-17
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Dont work here if you have children and a family!!!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Insurance Service Specialist in Hamilton, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at CSAA Insurance Group, a AAA Insurer full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Secure and clean building, nice security guards, good parking, the lot is well lit at night. Thats about the only pros about this company

    Cons

    Absolutely HORRIBLE management! If you are a butt kisser then you will go far at this company! Supervisors are awful, they will do and say ANYTHING to get out of taking calls from angry insureds. Management is EXTREMELY ABUSIVE to the staff that's not in their "clique" UNFAIR scoring during monthly call monitoring. They say calls are chosen at random, and that's complete bull crap!! Employees can never do anything right, it's always, "you shouldn't say OK, you shouldn't say can you hold a moment" etc. The supervisors are almost always unavailable to assist you, but then if a mistake is made or wrong information is given you better believe you will be SEVERELY reprimanded!! This is the WORST company I have ever worked for! I discourage anyone I talk to from doing business with CSAA/AAA because of the abusive way the employees are treated! Management and the employees that are in their "clique" sit around and talk crap about other employees and how they dont know what they are doing and also talk about employees personal business!! That is VERY unprofessional for a supervisor to talk to another team member about the personal issues that an employee is having!! Forget ever trying to call out sick!! They WILL write you up for it! and trying to get a scheduled day off is near impossible! CSAA/AAA is NOT a family friendly company! If you are single with no children and no social life at all then this is the job for you! CSAA expects their employees to live and breathe for the company! In the minds of upper management CSAA should be first and foremost in the employees lives!!! Its just a terrible place and my heart goes out to all the wonderful people I worked with in the trenches who do their best everyday to assist insureds and they just keep getting kicked and knocked down by management!! Way to boost morale idiots!!!

    Continue reading
    CSAA Insurance Group, a AAA Insurer2014-05-16
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Bad Mangenment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Insurance Service Specialist in Glendale, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at CSAA Insurance Group, a AAA Insurer

    Pros

    Good pay and friendly customers

    Cons

    They treat the Employees like a piece of machine. They want you to keep number up and forget to be NICE to the customers.

    Continue reading
    CSAA Insurance Group, a AAA Insurer2012-02-01
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Lack of innovation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Insurance Service Specialist in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at CSAA Insurance Group, a AAA Insurer

    Pros

    Work with great coworkers. Supervisors at AZ & OKC Contact Centers vary in style and knowledge, but you can get a good one every once in a while. Working to support Out Of Fingerprint AAA States so more consistency with hours available to customers with service & payments.

    Cons

    Senior Leadership collapses to strategies of other call centers, and loses competitive edge amongst other Insurance companies. Insurance is not a Visa Card or Cable Company. It is a product unlike any other product out there and AAA is not keeping up with technology or strategy. Old worn out leaders. Antiquated leadership vision. Blinders about how the younger generation will spend their money. Makes excuses about where the company is and where it SHOULD go. AAA needs to drop the Emergency Roadside as it's leading product and start visioning Travel, Life or Motorcycle policies. There also needs to be reigns on After Call Work . Stop reducing that number to an almost unattainable number. 1:00 or 60 seconds AfterCall average per day to send a fax, create a document or write an explanation is no longer the best time average. Calm, clear, confident Representatives call completion is parallet to voice inflection and tone. and finally, the Website. CSAA.comis a joke. Call volume is way too high because we put the website use and customer expertise as a second thought. We don't have a competitive or user friendly website. It is our Number One Dissatisfier.

    Continue reading
    CSAA Insurance Group, a AAA Insurer2010-09-13

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 7 reviews