CSAA Insurance Group, a AAA Insurer Service Agent Reviews | Glassdoor

CSAA Insurance Group, a AAA Insurer Service Agent Reviews

Updated Jan 20, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.3
94%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
CSAA Insurance Group, a AAA Insurer President and CEO Thomas M. Troy
Thomas M. Troy
3 Ratings
  1. Featured Review

    "More like family, not a company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Service Agent in Glendale, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CSAA Insurance Group, a AAA Insurer full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    If you are looking to advance in your career, there are many opportunities here. They welcome inter-site transfers as well. You get 40 hours of paid Volunteer time per year. CSAA is very diverse. Your supervisor is there to help you every step of the way. You will not always be on the phones 40 hours per week -- they schedule project time for you and meetings. They even have shift bids if you would like to change your schedule! Oh and did I mention we have a Pete's coffee and cafeteria on site?!

    Cons

    The only real "con" is that after learning how to become a service agent at CSAA, you have to take the AZ Insurance Licensing exam. CSAA does not currently offer any help/tutoring for free and study time is all on your own. They pay for the licensing exam up to 3 times and if you still don't pass, the 4th is on you.

    CSAA Insurance Group, a AAA Insurer2019-06-09

    CSAA Insurance Group, a AAA Insurer Response

    June 21, 2019Social Reputation Consultant

    Thank you for taking the time to share!

    Continue reading
  2. "Fantastic culture and training."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Service Agent in Las Vegas, NV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CSAA Insurance Group, a AAA Insurer full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Wonderful culture of inclusion. Great pay and benefits. Health conscious.

    Cons

    Can't think of any at this time.

    CSAA Insurance Group, a AAA Insurer2020-01-21

    CSAA Insurance Group, a AAA Insurer Response

    February 4, 2020Social Reputation Consultant

    Thank you for your service and taking the time to leave feedback!

    Continue reading
  3. "Eh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Service Agent 

    I worked at CSAA Insurance Group, a AAA Insurer full-time

    Pros

    It was a steady job.

    Cons

    Lack of flexibility in hours and advancement.

    CSAA Insurance Group, a AAA Insurer2020-01-12
  4. "Great hiring process"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Agent in Glendale, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CSAA Insurance Group, a AAA Insurer full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Everything is amazing and the hire process is so quick and easy.

    Cons

    Nothing so far is a con.

    CSAA Insurance Group, a AAA Insurer2019-10-23

    CSAA Insurance Group, a AAA Insurer Response

    October 30, 2019Social Reputation Consultant

    Great! Not surprised to hear you had a great hiring experience. Thank you for joining the team!

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Alright place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Agent 
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at CSAA Insurance Group, a AAA Insurer full-time

    Pros

    Benefits, pay, tons of volunteer opportunities

    Cons

    Stressful, management plays favorites, limited career growth.

    Continue reading
    CSAA Insurance Group, a AAA Insurer2019-05-04

    CSAA Insurance Group, a AAA Insurer Response

    May 28, 2019Social Reputation Consultant

    We are sorry to hear that that this has been your experience. Please reach out to your local HR representative so that we can discuss the details of your concerns.

    Continue reading
  6. "They are always on your side!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Customer Service Agent in Fairfield, CA

    I have been working at CSAA Insurance Group, a AAA Insurer full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They encourage you to work you way up the ladder

    Cons

    The computer systems they use are terrible and can sometimes get in the way of completing transactions efficiently with the insured.

    CSAA Insurance Group, a AAA Insurer2019-02-16

    CSAA Insurance Group, a AAA Insurer Response

    March 1, 2019Social Reputation Consultant

    Thank you for taking the time to share. We're making gains across the organization. Stay tuned.

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Service agent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Service Agent in Oklahoma City, OK
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CSAA Insurance Group, a AAA Insurer full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fast paced, educational benefits

    Cons

    Job advancement is hard unless upper management likes you. If your not sucking up you won’t move up

    Continue reading
    CSAA Insurance Group, a AAA Insurer2018-11-28

    CSAA Insurance Group, a AAA Insurer Response

    December 6, 2018Social Reputation Consultant

    There are definitely lots of opportunities to learn and grow one's career here. Thank for taking the time to leave a review.

    Continue reading
  8. "Company Takes Complete of it's Own"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Service Agent in Fairfield, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at CSAA Insurance Group, a AAA Insurer full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Tons of opportunity to work on projects, you are on the phones most days but they try and give you breaks to be off as much as possible, even that said I love all the people that I work with and the management is fair, they treat all their employees right and always make you feel safe to express is something is wrong and opportunity for bonuses and higher pay every year.

    Cons

    Taking calls all day can be gruesome, rude customers

    CSAA Insurance Group, a AAA Insurer2018-10-30

    CSAA Insurance Group, a AAA Insurer Response

    December 6, 2018Social Reputation Consultant

    This is great feedback. Great to hear that things are working out well for you. Thank you for taking the time to share these comments.

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Insurance Agent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Insurance Service Agent in Hamilton, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CSAA Insurance Group, a AAA Insurer full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You have a set schedule, with two days off (except Mondays, as those are the busiest days) - new hires may get a kind of bum shift (11:30-7, for instance) but the office is only open until 7 so you don't work too late. The supervisors I have had were very easy to talk to about interpersonal or professional issues. The training is great and the people who train you are engaging. You have a ton of resources to answer any questions you have - be it IMing a supervisor directly or accessing the database with a few key words, you have access to a ton of information anytime so you're not waiting for a response. I have almost no issues with anyone on my floor and my immediate coworkers are kind, courteous, and work as a team. 98% of the people I interact with are pleasant, fun, and easy going. Lots of folks willing to help. VERY diverse and inclusive, LGBT Organization, Latinx Organization, African American Organization. The mark of a good organization is how they encourage and foster a diverse workplace. There is a once or twice yearly Unconscious Bias workshop that comes around that talks about how to ID your own unconscious biases and it very helpful in being mindful. Exciting personal development programs like Aspiring Leadership Development, ToastMasters, etc are available for you to be a part of, especially if you're looking to improve or brush up on your skills. They hold Town Halls twice a year to keep you in on the loop of how the company is doing, what major changes are coming, and what that means for us as the employees. Lots of investment in innovation and practice. Everyone is encouraged to submit an idea for consideration several times a year. Coaching is a normal part of the experience and supervisors will go over things with you that they notice should be addressed. This allows for you to know exactly what you're doing right and what you should do to improve the other things. They don't leave you in the dark, and are keen to help answer questions. Merit increases are bomb, great health benefits, and they match your 401K contribution up to 6% (as per my hiring). You may start with a lowish salary but when your review comes up, you have the potential to be making considerably more per year based on your development and drive within the job. Overall, the workplace culture is really great, and the work/life balance is great too. You aren't expected to take any work home with you and so you can have a life outside of work.

    Cons

    This is a call center environment - while not a typical call center, you still have to field at least 60-70 calls per day. But don't worry, you're not blocked off from the rest of the floor. There's an open floor plan where everyone can see everyone else. This can be a pro or con depending on your perspective. When you do get an angry customer, you have to endure a fair amount of verbal abuse before you can voluntarily terminate the call - they have to swear and use vulgar language before you are free to do so. We are PCI compliant, meaning no cell phones on the floor. Another pro/con depending on your perspective. It's for the security of our customers, but also, you can definitely lose your job for having your phone out in a non-designated area. I have heard some stories that some of the supervisors on the floor are impossible to work with. Some supervisors will IM you if you're in after-call work for more than 2 minutes, or as soon as you hop into after-call work. This has happened to me on days my supervisor was not in the office. I don't talk about anything at work that I wouldn't want anybody to know about - I've heard plenty of hot gossip about my coworkers. It spreads like wildfire. Because CSAA tends to work really well, I think some people feel FOMO when it comes to office drama and they create their own. I don't think that's the fault of the company necessarily, but there are plenty of people who work in the office who are miserable (and make it known) who find a lot to complain about. Promotions are uneven and distributed at odd intervals or based on inconsistent criteria. The class after mine ended up getting promoted to the next title in the job family while plenty of agents who had been working there 3+ years were still waiting for their promotion. I think this is due in part to there being no set criteria for a promotion to be considered - people who complete continuing education and show an active interest in furthering their career in insurance can be left to wait while someone who hasn't even been there a year moves up the ranks without the same initiative. I've heard the word 'favoritism' thrown around a few times about this issue. Sometimes the supervisors are unavailable to take a supervisor all and that can get kind of bristly. Sometimes waiting for an Agent Service representative or other assistant-to-service takes a really long time because of call volume.

    Continue reading
    CSAA Insurance Group, a AAA Insurer2018-10-04

    CSAA Insurance Group, a AAA Insurer Response

    October 10, 2018Social Reputation Consultant

    Greatly appreciate that you took the time to share your thoughts. We value our diverse work environment as well. Thank you for your feedback.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Rewarding Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Insurance Service Agent in Oklahoma City, OK
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CSAA Insurance Group, a AAA Insurer full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay, opportunities to expand knowledge, great 401k, and generous PTO. About 80% of the employees are truly caring and genuine people.

    Cons

    Short lunch breaks, work load can be stressful with little relief, and favorites among the staff. Schedules offered can be hard for families with children.

    Continue reading
    CSAA Insurance Group, a AAA Insurer2018-07-26

    CSAA Insurance Group, a AAA Insurer Response

    August 1, 2018Social Reputation Consultant

    We have great people that work here. Thank you for your feedback.

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 15 reviews