CSAA Insurance Group, a AAA Insurer "good benefits" Reviews | Glassdoor

CSAA Insurance Group, a AAA Insurer Reviews

Updated Jan 19, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
64%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
CSAA Insurance Group, a AAA Insurer President and CEO Thomas M. Troy
Thomas M. Troy
23 Ratings
  1. Helpful (9)

    "Toxic, Dysfunctional and Politically Riddled"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Category Specialist in Walnut Creek, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at CSAA Insurance Group, a AAA Insurer for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good benefits. pension plan, 401(k), true wellness program, on-site subsidized cafeteria, well-paid health care.

    Cons

    Good ol boy network, sexist, racist, designed to keep people of all backgrounds down. Swept the sourcing group clean three years ago and now is full of tyrants and paranoia.

    Continue reading
    CSAA Insurance Group, a AAA Insurer2017-05-24
  2. "A community that works"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Claims Supervisor in Las Vegas, NV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CSAA Insurance Group, a AAA Insurer full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Paid Volunteer hours; good pay; good people; wellness plan; 401k, good benefits;

    Cons

    very few cons, if any.

    CSAA Insurance Group, a AAA Insurer2017-04-03

    CSAA Insurance Group, a AAA Insurer Response

    April 11, 2017Social Reputation Consultant

    Thank you for your feedback!

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Working at CSAA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Walnut, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CSAA Insurance Group, a AAA Insurer full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits Compensation is competitive Coworkers are amazing Coworkers never stop helping you. Coworkers are easy going and always lend a helping hand when someone needs any advice.

    Cons

    Company structure always changes. Sometimes work expectations can be too high. Managers expect work without considering what else is on their team's plates. Deadlines can be unreasonable at times.

    Continue reading
    CSAA Insurance Group, a AAA Insurer2016-11-26
  4. Helpful (2)

    "IT Tech Delivery Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Glendale, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at CSAA Insurance Group, a AAA Insurer full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good benefits, service, and people.

    Cons

    Rampant nepotism instead of hiring qualified IT Profesionals.

    Continue reading
    CSAA Insurance Group, a AAA Insurer2016-10-14

    CSAA Insurance Group, a AAA Insurer Response

    November 18, 2016Social Reputation Consultant

    Thank you for sharing your feedback.

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (6)

    "Unfair reorg. practice"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at CSAA Insurance Group, a AAA Insurer

    Pros

    Good benefits and they put you through a lot of training

    Cons

    They don't look at everything you did just of the last manager's assessment.

    Continue reading
    CSAA Insurance Group, a AAA Insurer2016-09-03
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Just a Cog in the Wheel"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at CSAA Insurance Group, a AAA Insurer full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    From the get go I thought CSAA was a great company. I work with some very good people, who work hard but make the job enjoyable. One of our core values is “We are Caring” and for the most part this is true. We have good benefits, incentive program, great PTO plan, and really stress the value in volunteering. CSAA even gives you 24 hours of work time to volunteer each year!!

    Cons

    One of my greatest disappointments is how “old school” we are. There is a lot of nepotism, and “I have yours if you have mine.” Our employee longevity is very high by today’s standards, but that is not necessarily a good thing. Some of the long term people are here because they know how to stay here, even when it’s been suggested they move on. Work/Life balance is not everywhere. We do have our share of night owl managers who measure other people by this same yard stick. The worst however, is the really OLD STYLE leadership behavior - that if you are not in the corporate tower, then you are not one of the favored. There are very few Directors, much less any position above that does not reside in Walnut Creek. EVEN if their core set of employees resides in a different center (Claims, Service, IT etc.) It’s almost a “puppet master” environment as a result with the leaders calling the shots from their cushy office in CA. If you want to advance in the company, the first question asked is “are you willing to relocate.”

    Continue reading
    CSAA Insurance Group, a AAA Insurer2016-06-05

    CSAA Insurance Group, a AAA Insurer Response

    June 7, 2016Social Reputation Consultant

    Thank you for your feedback. Although we do not agree with everything that is said here, we are always looking to learn and grow. We will share these comments with leadership.

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Unmanageable workload, poor pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Claims Service Specialist in Las Vegas, NV
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at CSAA Insurance Group, a AAA Insurer

    Pros

    The company offers good benefits to employees, HSA account, 401k with company matching, as well as volunteer paid hours. .

    Cons

    Underpaid for the high workload. Claims adjusters are basically call center agents expected to take one call after another all day, with no time in between calls to work existing claims or respond to voicemails and emails. High level of pressure. They say that they promote "wellness" through a Vitality program, yet they cause employees such a high level of stress that the whole wellness program is a joke. They have fitness classes but they are made available only to those that work the earliest shift or are salary. Little to no growth opportunity. Favoritism. Very high turnover. Poor attendance policy.

    Continue reading
    CSAA Insurance Group, a AAA Insurer2016-06-25

    CSAA Insurance Group, a AAA Insurer Response

    July 18, 2016Social Reputation Consultant

    We are sorry to hear that this was your experience. We will continue to look for ways to improve. Thank you for your contributions to our organization and for your feedback.

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Team work makes the dream work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CSAA Insurance Group, a AAA Insurer full-time

    Pros

    Working as a Supervisor here is rewarding. Encouraged to coach and develop staff. The company offers good benefits and paid volunteer time.The company continues to grow and improve year after year. Staff seems to live by companies values and work here is fun.

    Cons

    One down side is that there is little growth for Supervisors. Annual bonus should be higher as well as pay for the amount of workload. In addition unfair work load, higher tier supervisors have smaller teams and aren't held to the same standards as the rest. Some supervisors are micro managed and have to check in daily and others barely meet with there manager. Favoritism exist and is clearly witnessed.

    Continue reading
    CSAA Insurance Group, a AAA Insurer2015-11-06
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Solutions Architect 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CSAA Insurance Group, a AAA Insurer for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good company with really good benefits and good work life balance.

    Cons

    Lot of internal politics that results in low morale

    CSAA Insurance Group, a AAA Insurer2015-10-13
  10. Helpful (6)

    "A mess of varied processes and tools"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Quality Engineer in Glendale, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CSAA Insurance Group, a AAA Insurer full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    CSAA IG is a great employer, with good benefits and great work-life balance. They have a balance of new technology requierments as well as the need for seasoned employees

    Cons

    The projects rule the roost here, and the large ones are able to build their own infrastructure, purchase their own tools, and generally contravene any standards that have been developed. There are a number of people who try to hold on to their jobs by creating onerous policies that add no value, but allow the implementers a small little fiefdom of authority. Does this sound like a contradiction? That's CSAA IG!

    Continue reading
    CSAA Insurance Group, a AAA Insurer2015-09-17

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 48 reviews