CSC Applications Developer Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

CSC Applications Developer Reviews

Updated Mar 6, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
47%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
CSC President & CEO Mike Lawrie
Mike Lawrie
32 Ratings
  1. "CSC"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Applications Developer in Simi Valley, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at CSC full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good work ethic , Opportunities to work oversees

    Cons

    internal technology shift for employees

    Advice to Management

    Have to help resources more for improvement

    CSC2016-06-28
  2. "Ok Management, Less growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Applications Developer in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at CSC full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Interesting Projects, will get good experience if you get a good project

    Cons

    Not much choice on what project you want to work on, if you are lucky you will be placed in good project or else there's not much growth and learning; No bonus or benefits, Not much salary increases, poor management

    Advice to Management

    Please give consideration to employee's choices at least a little bit; Give better increments/bonus, encourage innovation

    CSC2017-01-12
  3. "Application Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Applications Developer in Dallas, TX

    I have been working at CSC

    Pros

    Nothing specific to mention

    Cons

    No salary hike, no promotion cycle.

    CSC2016-12-11
  4. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Applications Developer in Arlington, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CSC for more than a year

    Pros

    Good working Environment. Strong management

    Cons

    Salary is lower then other companies.

    CSC2016-03-14
  5. "Application Developer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Applications Developer in Huntsville, AL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at CSC full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    At least they didn't take away all our benefits yet with the new merger.

    Cons

    Taking away our sick time next year, not cool!

    Advice to Management

    Treat your employees like we matter. Without us, you have no company.

    CSC2015-12-08
  6. "Working at this place is fun"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Applications Developer in Ypsilanti, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at CSC for more than a year

    Pros

    Good Salary and benefits for the employees

    Cons

    I had nothing to mention about cons.

    CSC2015-05-07
  7. Helpful (6)

    "Employees are treated as liabilities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Applications Developer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at CSC full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Much of the culture of CSC depends on the specific contract you are employed under. I really enjoy the people I work with and the practices of the subset of the company I am with. My position is an excellent fit for my skills and the people I work with appreciate what I do.

    Cons

    The CSC corporate office has been handing down new decisions every few months since Lawrie's arrival that are designed solely to please shareholders, boost the stock price, and ensure Lawrie's stock option bonuses are granted. The most recent vacation policy change that mandates taking a week of vacation on CSC-designated days and expires vacation not taken in the year it was earned is simply an accounting trick to remove the 'vacation liability' before CSC's fiscal year-end reporting.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    You need employees in order to make money. Every chargeable job opening that can't be filled because CSC's reputation as an employer is in the toilet is a drain on potential revenue. Employee happiness is not an optional extra that you can ignore in the name of expediency.

    CSC2014-10-31
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Great People - Difficult Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Applications Developer in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at CSC full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I worked with highly motivated and wonderful colleagues and managers. This was a good team environment with people helping each other grow in skills and meet deadlines. The last reorg was a good thing, at least for streamlining the organization: you knew who your management chain was.

    Cons

    New CSC HR policies (forced ranking, managed vacation, expensive benefits, very limited raises, etc.) are making it difficult to keep people, even college hires. Low pay for high responsibility: don't expect a jump in pay when promoted.

    Advice to Management

    If you treat your employees as numbers, you will have a difficult time improving your bottom line beyond a certain point. There must be a balance between managing for growth and taking care of your employees, who will help you grow your company.

    CSC2014-10-24
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Don't go here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Professional Applications Developer in Sarasota, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at CSC full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I still get paid though much less than my job title would make elsewhere but due to my age I'm stuck.

    Cons

    Penny wise Pound foolish policies No raises this year Mandatory vacation use Constant lay offs of most talented and experienced workers

    Advice to Management

    Stop BSing and learn who makes your company successful. Its NOT you! Got the BS speech today not to associate being "appreciated" with "merit raises". How come I work evenings, weekends, etc to do the job for my customer and get a 0% raise when the bigwigs all get bonuses for our hard work? Lay off whole areas without thought of what they will need tomorrow. Honestly, this company's policies is like they are actually TRYING to run people off. If you decide to work for CSC don't say you've not been warned.

    Show More
    CSC2014-07-15
  10. "a great entry level experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Applications Developer in Richmond, VA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at CSC full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    * Management was willing to hire entry level employees with little to no experience * Employees were allowed to challenge themselves and advance intellectually * Work environment was non-stressful, hours were decent, benefits and pay were ok

    Cons

    * Quality bar is low * Very little room for professional or long-term career growth * Unstable contracts * Nevet met senior management, not even once in an entire year

    Advice to Management

    Consider performance improvement plans for longer-term employees who are still not performing. Introduce a compensation plan or merit-earned plan for hard work/consistently going beyond/meeting project deadlines ahead of schedule or above expectation.

    CSC2014-05-23
Found 81 reviews