CSC Consultant Reviews | Glassdoor

CSC Consultant Reviews

Updated Jan 16, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

2.5
31%
Recommend to a Friend
29%
Approve of CEO
CSC President & CEO Mike Lawrie
Mike Lawrie
162 Ratings
  1. "Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Consultant in Falls Church, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at CSC

    Pros

    An excellent company to work for

    Cons

    Management visibility is lacking - needs more

    Advice to Management

    need more visibility - lacks

    CSC2016-09-17
  2. "Decent Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Consultant 

    I worked at CSC full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Travel option was nice when young

    Cons

    Travel, Middle Management was something to deal with

    CSC2020-01-17
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Horrible culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at CSC full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    It gets your foot in the door. HORRIBLE culture, but I still thank CSC for hiring me with no consulting experience. Now I'm at a different consulting firm, making a lot more than I could ever ask for.

    Cons

    I was under the same practice as Ervin Lee, he was a partner at the time, and was probably one of the worst consultants that I worked with. Very demeaning and degrading towards the younger consultants. He has a very narrow set mindset, where he believes that there are only two types of people: big picture thinkers vs. small picture thinkers. He has no problem yelling at younger consultants in front of clients. He received several demotions, but is still running the practice. He is bitter about life because he couldn't make it too far even though he graduated from a prestigious MBA. CSC is a big company, so I can't speak for other teams. However, if you are joining the Business Transformation group (It is most likely under a different name now), be ready for the tough times. Some constructive Cons about the firms: Low Pay Low Morale Low Culture All the smart partners left the company already so winning projects are extremely difficult.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop being degrading and spreading negative morality towards the younger consultants.

    CSC2019-06-04
  4. "classic it company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Consultant 

    I worked at CSC full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    international structure wih lot of diversity

    Cons

    blurry, evolution, job assignement, management style

    CSC2019-03-12
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Consulting Team is excellent, but driven by disparate goals."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Senior Technical Consultant 
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at CSC full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The direct line leadership in the consulting group is exceptional.

    Cons

    The top level management top goals seemed to be in line with raising the stock price today without concern for long term sustainability. This leaves direct line management walking a tightrope to accomplish their mission with both the customer and their management.

    CSC2019-02-15
  6. "CSC Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at CSC full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    ok company - not anything to get overly excited about

    Cons

    Very few promotions. Hard to move while consulting

    CSC2018-02-11
  7. "Sr Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Consultant in Saint Louis, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at CSC full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Decent Company to work with

    Cons

    Not too many projects for SAP

    CSC2017-03-24
  8. "Not Valued"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Consultant in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at CSC for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - Opportunity to learn leading edge IT such as Big Data, Analytics, Cloud, Cybersecurity - Global 1000 client base - Coworkers are generally solid and collaborative

    Cons

    - No advancement possible - Consulting is not valued - Must be billable at all times (time on bench limited to 2 - 3 wks before layoff occurs - No pay raises in U.S. for last 3 years and no bonus for last 4 years - 401(k) match only paid 1x/year in January - No accrued vacation (Company adopted "flex time" in Aug 2016) - Restrictive travel policy (e.g. per diem $70 including tax)

    Advice to Management

    "A long habit of not thinking a thing wrong gives it a superficial appearance of being right" Thomas Paine, Common Sense

    CSC2017-04-02
  9. "Global Business Solutions Consulting Partner"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consulting Partner 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at CSC full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    None, the organization's focus has evolved.

    Cons

    Frequent consulting leadership and sales organization changes

    CSC2017-03-07
  10. Helpful (2)

    "CSC has changed quite a bit over the years"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at CSC full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Benefits of a large company. Variety of work. Mix of large and small projects. Access to self paced training. Frequent travel. Nice coworkers.

    Cons

    Uncertainty. Many management changes in the past few years. Employees shouldering burden of increasing healthcare costs. Salary increases and promotions are regularly put on hold. Benefits seem to be decreasing each year. Personal appraisals tied to group financial goals.

    Advice to Management

    Bring back stability, employee recognition.

    CSC2017-01-30
Found 408 reviews