CSC Programmer Analyst Reviews | Glassdoor

CSC Programmer Analyst Reviews

Updated May 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.6
47%
Recommend to a Friend
56%
Approve of CEO
CSC President & CEO Mike Lawrie
Mike Lawrie
81 Ratings
  1. "Program Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Programmer Analyst in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at CSC

    Pros

    Good Company with good work culture

    Cons

    Nothing specific depends from team to team

    Advice to Management

    Transparency is the must. Which you follow

    CSC2016-05-28
  2. "CSC review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Programmer Analyst in Schaumburg, IL

    I worked at CSC for more than a year

    Pros

    learn some technical skills in ASP .net

    Cons

    feels like I am out of the team

    CSC2017-08-09
  3. "Associate Professional Programmer Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Professional Programmer Analyst in Isabela, PR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at CSC full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Excelent company. A lot of businesses working under their support. Very professional in all of their procedures and work environments. Good people and with excelent skills and professionalism.

    Cons

    Needs rapid adaptation to implemented changes so the can go on with the business flow in real time and can prevent in some occasions the dislikes in some terms of actual clients or potential clients

    Advice to Management

    More precise procedures documentation that includes a step-by-step form and cover all the bases. Keep following the flaws to improve in the business with momentum.

    CSC2017-08-07
  4. "Good for managers bad for mid level engineers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Programmer Analyst in Auburn Hills, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at CSC full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    You can stay forever with minimal efforts. Life is relaxing in support specific projects here. Heaven for managers.

    Cons

    Low salary No hike No promotion going 1 level above will waste your 5-6 years No growth opportunities Minimum stability small small project contracts will make your life completely unstable

    Advice to Management

    Kindly focus on your key employees & promote them to retain with you. Timely promotion or salary hikes can lure them to stay but unfortunately none of this is being focused currently except acquisitions or migrations. I would strongly ask CSC management to focus on there employees else you will lose your true dignity.

    CSC2017-01-26
  5. "Great for a start; wouldn't stay for long"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Professional Programmer Analyst in Isabela, PR
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CSC full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    This place is great for a start. CSC University for learning just about everything you can think of, work-related or otherwise. Fantastic medical plan basically covers everything you may need.

    Cons

    The medical plan used to be included, now you have to pay for it (not a big deal when it comes to health). Management seems to sometimes not listen to their employees. Some employees think this is a high school instead of a professional workplace.

    Advice to Management

    Have at least some minimal knowledge of the project you manage...

    CSC2017-01-16
  6. "Good starting job after college."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Programmer Analyst in Isabela, PR
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CSC full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You get great overall experience. Learn a lot of how corporations of this kind work. Lots of online trainings open for employees. They have Study benefits but be careful, 1 payment from them equals 1 year of service or payback the money to them.

    Cons

    Benefits are not the best, little to none professional growth. They have non competitive agreement with some companies which would limit your movement to find a better job.

    Advice to Management

    Treat your employees better, you removed all benefits after buying the previous existing company even when you knew you'd paid 63% of what you pay to employees in mainland USA.

    CSC2017-01-14
  7. "CSC at Raytheon"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Senior Programmer/Analyst in Tucson, AZ

    I worked at CSC full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good learning environment, it was my first web development job and I learned a ton from several very talented people.

    Cons

    Always got blamed if something broke. They have poor benefits particularly time off. For instance I was not allowed to take 2 or 3 hours out for a doctors appointment. Either take a whole day or make up the time.

    CSC2017-01-05
  8. Helpful (3)

    "No Salary Increase"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Programmer Analyst Senior Professional in Norwich, CT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at CSC for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Lots of work and gain lots of experience.

    Cons

    18 years with very small increase, making 60k is really being taken advantage of!

    Advice to Management

    They don't care!

    CSC2016-09-22
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Develop, Modify, Upgrade reports for customers."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Programmer Analyst in Isabela, PR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at CSC full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    A little better than working on fast food.

    Cons

    Vacation limitation, Poor salary, Non-transparency.

    Advice to Management

    Create a good reason to stay in the company.

    CSC2016-09-12
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Good "Gain-experience-and-leave" company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Programmer Analyst in Isabela, PR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at CSC

    Pros

    Easy going team-members. Well structured. 10 vacation days, 12 sick, and a few local holidays. Good medical plan MAP 401k Working from home policy (for specific areas) Opportunity to learn different technologies

    Cons

    No clear organization Once you reach the salary ceiling there's no real growth. Everyone shares the same titles even if the job is different. Programmers aren't paid as programmers - underpaid by 40% of market average (and that margin's against entry level - in my years of experience I'm still below the average starting salary when compared to other companies). Puerto Rico - more expensive than most states, at the level of Hawaii so the salary doesn't help.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Work on the retention of the employees.

    CSC2016-07-11
Found 154 reviews