CSC Senior Software Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor

CSC Senior Software Engineer Reviews

Updated Jan 7, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.9
49%
Recommend to a Friend
54%
Approve of CEO
CSC President & CEO Mike Lawrie
Mike Lawrie
38 Ratings
  1. "Senior Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Pleasanton, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at CSC full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    We can focus on client project with peacefully, no hectic work. work-life balance is good

    Cons

    not much.keep it up.Need to bag more projects.

    Advice to Management

    Get more projects

    CSC2017-09-21
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Senior Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Bellevue, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at CSC full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Full time virtual work, minimal on-site requirements by staff.

    Cons

    Management is completely disconnected from supported customer and working staff. Management changes to first level managers are poorly communicated. Continually decreasing benefits at higher cost, and little or no cost of living adjustments.

    Advice to Management

    Learn who is on your staff, their functions and skills. Treat staff like an asset, not a liability.

    CSC2017-01-10
  3. "CSC work style"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in New York, NY

    I have been working at CSC full-time

    Pros

    If work for more than 3-4 years and have good rapport with the manager,you will get foreign travel opportunities. Easy to migrate to other technologies when your are not in project.

    Cons

    Don't get appraisals almost every year in USA,even though you got top performance rating. Be careful when you are not on project,When you manager asked to relocate to different and if you say no for two time straight then you will be fired. Doesn't have much communication with upper management.

    Advice to Management

    Help the employees to grow further by knowing their interests.

    CSC2016-11-15
  4. Helpful (4)

    "An average place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Pittsburgh, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at CSC full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Strong processes. Not a lot of hassle that prevents you getting your job done. Decent starting pay.

    Cons

    Constant hiring and laying off. Morale is low. No raises in three years. Benefits mediocre.

    Advice to Management

    Stop favoring short-term goals and thereby hurting your long-term prospects

    CSC2016-07-30
  5. "Good place to work overall"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CSC

    Pros

    Work from home allows for work/family balance

    Cons

    Not great about annual raises

    Advice to Management

    Give raises

    CSC2016-06-20
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Slow process, poor communication, and misleading"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at CSC full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    + Most coworkers were friendly and bright. I felt I could learn at lot from them if I stay. + Starting pay was good. + Project manager was motivated, kind, and honest.

    Cons

    - Some managers will be misleading and hard to reach. - Process to get anything done is slow and poorly understood. - Helpdesk calls take forever or seem to go "blackhole". On one issue, I had to contact 7 different parties and issue is still not resolved.

    Advice to Management

    Work on process improvement and being more honest with your employees.

    CSC2016-06-10
  7. "software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Software Engineer in Mountain View, CA

    I worked at CSC

    Pros

    good benefit and opportunity.

    Cons

    didn't had any bad experience

    CSC2016-04-18
  8. "SW Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Software Engineer in Fairfax, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at CSC

    Pros

    Some of the work could have been good. Benefits were good.

    Cons

    Very selfish management. Screw the workers. Screw the subcontractors. Poor pay. Sweat shop.

    Advice to Management

    Wake up to the 21st century.

    CSC2016-03-08
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Compensation for position not up to standard"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Newark, DE
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at CSC full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    None that I can think of. It's a job for now that's about it.

    Cons

    Hours suck, management sucks, moral is in the crapper!! non existent increases in pay for exceeding your KRA's.

    Advice to Management

    Stop taking vacation time, stop requiring time off without pay to bolster earnings numbers for Wall Street. Actually give increase in pay above 2% for everybody instead of a whole group having to split that up. You will wake up at some point since your loosing most of your top rated talent to your clients that are leaving. Instead of hiring for lowest pay maybe you need to look into the experience side. When you start cutting people based upon their salary being above $100,000 you should start at the top. Advancement is solely based on lower management, if you do an outstanding job you will go nowhere because they need you.

    Show More
    CSC2015-09-28
  10. Helpful (4)

    "A lack of any decent management and career opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Long Is City, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at CSC full-time

    Pros

    Not much that I could think of unless you count the day I got laid off. This company is a mixed bag of shells and depending on the account you get on it might be different.

    Cons

    Lack of any decent management. When I say the management is unprofessional it is to the highest degree. They prefer to replace onshore workers for cheaper foreign workers, giving the foreign workers all the training they could offer. If you ask for training onshore you will be denied. When I mentioned it to my manager he just told me "you are a second class citizen". Raises come in small amounts and the chance to learn and grow into a better role is none. Oh, when they lay you off it will be in an email with a letter that offers the number to the suicide hotline. How pathetic, who would kill themselves over losing a terrible job at CSC. A really cold company with little to offer and even if your manger knows something is wrong they will not stand up for you. Instead they just hide and barely do there jobs as they are scared of getting laid off themselves. The situation got worse every year I was with them.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Get real. Upper management should unload all the worthless bosses instead of nickel and dimming training and raises for the technical workers. You would actually have a talented staff then.

    CSC2015-07-10
Found 150 reviews