CSC Systems Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Systems Engineer

CSC Systems Engineer Reviews

Updated Nov 16, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

2.9
11%
Recommend to a Friend
2%
Approve of CEO
CSC President & CEO Mike Lawrie
Mike Lawrie
28 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Workflow Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Systems Engineer in Moorestown, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at CSC full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible work schedule, good benefits, interesting work. Smart people. Contracts run for quite a while,

    Cons

    Management picked favorites as opposed to employees that had the required skill set. You really had to standout to be considered for projects for which you were not a favorite.

    Advice to Management

    Establish teams on the basis of their skill set. Leave the friendships at the door during business hours.

    CSC2017-08-02
  2. Helpful (1)

    "CSC"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Systems Engineer in Lenexa, KS
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at CSC full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good people, being able to help people, Benefits are ok.

    Cons

    No raises of any kind for anyone, in order to get a raise you have to quit and reapply, company seems to keep splitting or merging creating an uncertain environment.

    Advice to Management

    When you have a team that works don't mess with it.

    CSC2018-11-17
  3. Helpful (5)

    "Used to be so much better."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Systems Engineer in Remote, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at CSC full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    CSC was a great place to work for may years. Great peers and amazing customers. Despite challenges, we were almost always able to exceed customer demands and provide expert-level enterprise services.

    Cons

    No budget for training, no raises for three years, little support from mgt for upward mobility. I would say one day notice for thousands of employees being laid off is ridiculous. Upper management, in some cases, has no idea what people working under them are doing and how they are benefiting the company.

    Advice to Management

    Your people are (were) your best asset. The way you have let so many talented people go with no notice is a shame. Also, probably not nice to call people you've laid off to ask for help with a customer project and get offended when they say no!

    CSC2016-06-30
  4. Helpful (4)

    "Not recommended."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Systems Engineer in Saint Louis, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at CSC full-time

    Pros

    Big corporation, lots of opportunities.

    Cons

    Big corporation, hard to get noticed, lots of red tape. Stockholder satisfaction is driving force

    Advice to Management

    Get back to acknowledging your true resource, employees.

    CSC2015-11-14
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Not The Best"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at CSC full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Health insurance options are good and some of the customers are wonderful. Some of the middle management are the best I have ever worked with. Self-guided learning opportunities. Some positions can work from home.

    Cons

    No other benefits. The company is in a perpetual state of "cost challenges" causing the pay to be minimal with no raises, bonuses, or cost of living increases for several years in a row, but as a shareholder they tell you that things are going well. Middle management has no power at all and are often told which people to layoff and what rating to give employees during the annual performance review. Very little opportunity to move up in the company.

    Show More
    CSC2015-08-11
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Teams ae"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Systems Engineer in Upper Marlboro, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at CSC for more than a year

    Pros

    The worst career .one I have ever made.

    Cons

    Management and ER act like convicts.

    Advice to Management

    Train to manage the type of team you plan to manage.

    CSC2015-08-04
  7. Helpful (7)

    "Horrible Company...Stay Away"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Engineer in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at CSC full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    I have a job. Reasonable pay and work life balance.

    Cons

    Employee morale. CEO bonus plan is based on stock price, so they have been inflating the stock price for the past 4 years by increasing profit margins, even though revenue is way down. How do they increase profit margins? By outsourcing to India, cutting benefits, and closing offices. I work in the Americas, and half of the middle to upper management have been replaced by Indian names.

    Advice to Management

    Get a heart. Get a clue.

    CSC2015-07-21
  8. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Senior Systems Engineer 

    I worked at CSC for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great company and good people to work with.

    Cons

    No room for growth in IT once you have made senior.

    CSC2015-06-10
  9. Helpful (8)

    "Benefits have been eroded in recent years to make CSC uncompetitive. Benefits are now on par or worse than a temp's."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Systems Engineer in Columbia, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at CSC full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    There are still lots of good people around, and some interesting work.

    Cons

    Company has come to put employees dead last.

    Advice to Management

    When you don't sell anything other than expertise, you may want to try to attract and retain experts.

    CSC2015-03-23
  10. "Management too focused on meeting financial goals"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Systems Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at CSC full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of very smart employees

    Cons

    Employees not highly regarded. .

    Advice to Management

    Pick ONE strategic direction and follow it. Listen to employee feedback.

    CSC2015-01-23
Found 80 reviews