CSC Employee Reviews about "work environment"

Updated Dec 31, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
58%
Recommend to a Friend
68%
Approve of CEO
CSC President & CEO Mike Lawrie
Mike Lawrie
2,558 Ratings
Pros
  • "Excellent people and work life balance(in 672 reviews)

  • "Great work environment, supportive management(in 299 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Low pay, no work-life balance at times(in 138 reviews)

  • "They don't even talk about no raises anymore(in 130 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of CSC and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "work environment"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Great place to work!

      Jan 24, 2019 - Change Manager in Annapolis Junction, MD
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      There was always great communication, the work environment was friendly, there were always team parties around the holidays, celebrations for the birthdays each month, and on my immediate team, we felt like family. The pay was good, annual increases were decent, bonuses to recognize your achievements, throughout the years when I was promoted, the raise for each promotion was always nice, ample time off, 10 holidays off per year, and at the time there was also a sick bank that could be used for sick days, doctors appts, and even appts for your kids.

      Cons

      I didn’t have any issues working for the company. My only issue was that they were located so far from my home. I tried living closer, but really preferred living in my home state, so I drove 1.5 hours each way (before you factored in extra time for traffic). Ultimately, I had to move on.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      Very satisfied

      Jul 19, 2012 - Software Engineer in King George, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I recently left my position at CSC (King George, VA) to continue grad school full-time, but that's the only reason I left. Here's a list of what I enjoyed at my office: Flexible hours (as long as I get my work done in ~40 hours, I could work any schedule I wanted) Peaceful, productive, and family-like work environment among co-workers and leaders/management Management was diligent to bring in new work for us DoD contractors Pretty good benefits Opportunities to travel (traveled to Naval bases in Japan, Hawaii, San Diego, Florida; I was able to stock up on HiltonHonors points from all of my travel and then redeem them for a week's stay at the Hilton Waikiki!!!; also accrued Delta miles and redeemed it for a flight to San Francisco for a family trip) Management recognizes good work (as well as poor performance) I've always had good performance reviews, so raises were pretty good considering the economy

      Cons

      My biggest complaint dealt with CSC's travel policy. An exempt employee can only charge travel hours during normal business hours. So, if it's Friday afternoon and your government customer wants you to travel to Japan that day, then you cannot charge time after about 5PM on Friday. That doesn't seem right.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Best job I've ever had - let's hope I keep it

      Jul 9, 2009 - Business Designer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Challenging work environment - projects can range from a few weeks to over a year, and you can both learn new skills and advance the ones you have - they very much act to grow talent from within....

      Cons

      ... or at least they did. They still *try*, but several rounds of layoffs and a reorg or two has broken the system down a bit. While people are still strongly motivated to be billable (especially with concerns of further cutbacks if new revenue is not brought in), and advancement continues, the training aspects have taken a back seat to where they were in the past. This is understandable, but perhaps a bit short sighted in the long run, especially if the pool of unassigned resources is larger than normal. To me, this would be an excellent time to crosstrain.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 2.0
      Current Employee

      Ongoing restructuring

      Jan 4, 2015 - Sales Support in Arlington, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good people, many worked in the company for years and watched the company change quite dramatically in recent years. Overall, a very fast paced work environment, can be challenging and very interesting.

      Cons

      Over the last several years the company has been going through a continuous reorganization while trying to change its strategy and improve financial performance. As a result. its turning into a revolving door environment with top level management being replaced every 9-12 months. This is very demoralizing for employees, as nobody feels safe or really appreciated - anybody can be laid off at any time, regardless of their actual merits and performance. Communication across organization is very week and the strategy seems to change all the time. Good performers are looking to leave and many do, before yet another round of "reorganization". This puts more and more burden to do more with less on the remaining workforce.

      Continue reading
      10 people found this review helpful
    5. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Does not care about employees

      Apr 9, 2015 - Software Engineer in Newark, DE
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It is a large company, so there is a chance of finding a niche group that works well together and makes for a positive work environment.

      Cons

      The company does not seem to care about its employees. Benefits are not that great to begin with, and seem to be getting worse each year. Yearly raises seem to be lowering each year. The company culture is also not great. It seems like promotions are given to yes-men and people who are able to avoid getting blamed for making bad decisions, while true hard work and value are largely ignored. There seems to be little to no repercussions for higher level employees who repeatedly make bad decisions. My greatest concern is that there is very little focus on providing a high quality service/product to the clients. There is more focus on finding ways to regroup a service in order to charge a client more, or to deliver a product that covers a lot of buzz-words but that is not nearly as useful/functional as it could be.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    6. 2.0
      Current Employee

      CSC, not a great place to be.

      Jun 12, 2008 - Network Engineer in Newark, DE
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Stepping stone to something WAY better. Salaries are really poor, if you transfer from group to group within the company, the move is almost always "lateral" -- which means you don't get a pay increase, but they promise you a good pay increase after 6 months, which is then later pushed back to the annual appraisal period, and when the appraisal period arrives, management tells you that CSC is not doing so well and they won't be able to give you anything better then 1.5 to 2.5% increase. In my 20 years with CSC I've seen a lot of people leave the company to get a better work environment and better paychecks.

      Cons

      Management for the most part is terrible, most lower tier management have no experience and treat you like kids. They will offer you training, but at the last minute there's a freeze on the training budget and there's no training. It's very rare that you will get training working for CSC other than internet based training or CBT's. They consider their account with "Books 24x7" to be training. CSC does not pay over time.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Current Employee

      CSC is a great place to work for senior level subject matter experts.

      Sep 7, 2008 - Senior Test Engineer in Washington, DC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I appreciate the hands off approach that management assumes. I have been passively looking at other opportunities, but none of the others compare to the total compensation package that I receive at CSC. From this point, another company is going to have to come with a really enticing offer to make a move worth it. Hands off, relatively stable working environment, good pay, all good qualities in my book.

      Cons

      The hands off approach to management. ,There are times when you just need feedback from management that doesn't always come. They assume your professionalism carries itself in most cases. Sometimes you just need to hear how things are going at times other than your annual review.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Great while it lasted

      Oct 1, 2014 - Staff Consultant in Washington, DC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great team members who are dedicated to excelling at their jobs and making for a fun challenging work environment. At least this was my experience most of the time. With consulting this is likely to change often. Co-workers are generally very helpful and follow a team mentality to accomplishing goals.

      Cons

      The company is constantly re-organizing to the point it's become a joke. At least that's the perception at the lower levels. Employees don't even know their titles or standing within the company. After several years I became disenfranchised with the larger organization

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    9. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      I only wish this was the job I expected.

      Sep 9, 2014 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Despite it's faults, the company does have a good work environment. Though not as professional as it should be, it is very casual with great coworkers. The location is good for the surrounding DC Metro area.

      Cons

      There was a great promise of upward movement, but sadly I have reached a dead end. The management is very lack luster with inconsistency among SOPs. The company (at least the project I work on) expects work to always be the top priority in an employee's life. Therefore, not really a great place for a family person. There is absolutely no incentives or moral boosters; only more work with no promotion of a team environment.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Former Intern, more than 1 year

      Friendly work environment, great place to work.

      Apr 19, 2014 - Anonymous Intern 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The work environment was very friendly. Management was good and the bosses were very personable. I enjoyed my time at CSC greatly. I was a student employee that worked full-time during the summers and part-time during the regular semesters. CSC was incredibly gracious and allowed me to schedule my own hours to work around my school schedule each semester.

      Cons

      As others have mentioned the contract work is pretty touch-and-go. The branch I worked for ended up closing its doors due to our current contracts running out and we didn't win any new contract bids.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 298 Reviews
    </>Embed

    Popular Careers with CSC Job Seekers

    Administrator
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    DESIGNATION: ASSOCIATE PROFESSIONAL
    Learn About the Job
    Advisor: Applications Architect
    Learn About the Job
    Customer Service Representative
    Learn About the Job

    Work at CSC? Share Your Experiences

    or