CSC "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor

CSC Reviews

Updated Dec 5, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.9
40%
Recommend to a Friend
41%
Approve of CEO
CSC President & CEO Mike Lawrie
Mike Lawrie
2,538 Ratings
  1. "A feel good company to work on"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CSC full-time

    Pros

    Work life balance is awesome. You will learn more technologies and you will be in very good challenging environment.

    Cons

    May be little lower side in salary. Depends on location and client you work.

    CSC2017-03-31
  2. "CSC"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in East Hartford, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at CSC full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits, colleagues, Location, training,

    Cons

    Work life balance, culture, advancement

    Advice to Management

    None

    CSC2017-03-25
  3. "Freedom for Innovations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at CSC full-time

    Pros

    Work life balance, Good onsite opportunity

    Cons

    Moderate salaries, complex org structure

    CSC2017-03-22
  4. "Solid Company, Great Culture, Bright Future"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Java/J2EE Developer in Ann Arbor, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CSC full-time

    Pros

    Excellent comp/benefits package. Corporate culture is progressive yet professional. Office locations are convenient and well-appointed. Many opportunities for advancement.

    Cons

    Work-life balance can be challenging during difficult projects. Management could do a better job of communicating with employees about job security during times of downsizing.

    Advice to Management

    Better communication from the top-down and greater transparency throughout the organization.

    CSC2017-03-06
  5. Helpful (1)

    "High Stress and low employee appreciation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at CSC full-time

    Pros

    Good team collaboration depending on the area you work in.

    Cons

    Contradictory plans and policies Talent is not valued Poor work life balance Rash decisions that negatively effect quality of work

    Advice to Management

    Groom the talented workers instead of encouraging them to quit or laying them off. Cheaper is not always better.

    CSC2017-03-15
  6. Helpful (2)

    "review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at CSC full-time

    Pros

    Good onsite options if join as manager it will be a cakewalk

    Cons

    poor work culture bad management .. Worst actually work life balance zero bad health insurance

    CSC2017-02-17
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Employees come last"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at CSC full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    great people at the staff level

    Cons

    no work life balance, minimum pay, broken processes and lack of accountability flow down from the top

    Advice to Management

    remember your employees and set an example for them

    CSC2017-02-13
  8. Helpful (2)

    "worst place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at CSC full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    remote work environment, average salary

    Cons

    long hours, no value to employees, no work life balance, management doesn't care about employees, terrible benefits (health, vacation), no promotions despite great review

    Advice to Management

    treat people with respect and as people not machines, train managers to manage people

    CSC2017-02-27
  9. Helpful (6)

    "Spent way too long here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Systems Administrator in Bath, ME
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at CSC for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The team I worked with was great, I made some friends I hope to have forever. I learned a lot while working there.

    Cons

    They do not pay appropriately when they promote from within, I was there for 11 years and was about 50% below the market for my position. They do not have a company culture except for work. There is no work life balance, and very few training opportunities. I got 3 training classes in 10+ years. The company does not value it's employees, it treats them all as replaceable cattle, no one is valued for their experience or knowledge of the environment.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Start treating your employees as people and valuable resources.

    CSC2017-02-18
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Demanding Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant in McLean, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at CSC full-time

    Pros

    Exposure to a large industry, processes, etc.

    Cons

    Open plan environment, minimum flexibility, no bonus, no raises, no respect for vacation / schedule time off. Work-life balance is not there, no OT. Ongoing change/transformation, RIF's it about the dollar 'making a certain quota' and if it means double/triple the workload for others in the process... Constant changes in policies, type of applications utilize with next to no training.

    Advice to Management

    revisit your CLEAR values

    CSC2016-12-08
Found 803 reviews
</>Embed