CSID Reviews

Updated September 29, 2015
26 reviews filtered by
  • Any Location
  • Any Job Title
  • Full-time
  • Part-time
4.7
Star Star Star Star Star
Rating Trends Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
CSID CEO Scott Cruickshank
Scott Cruickshank
19 Ratings

26 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1. Featured Review

    Helpful (4)

    "Truly Professional Management, Top Quality Team Members, Clear Company Vision & Directives"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CSID full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    CSID means business -- it's a company professionally run by grown-up *people* who understand the industry and how to attract quality team members to accomplish the business goals. I emphasize "grown ups" *in contrast* to the many companies whose progress and success is impeded by a lack of maturity and professionalism. As for the hiring process, it was truly refreshing to be treated like a respected human being. Other companies are trending towards de-humanizing the hiring process to the point where, in my opinion, they are missing quality candidates [with wisdom and experience] in favor of test-takers. All the same to me though: advantage CSID. CSID's intentions were always clearly communicated, their offer was very competitive (with benefits) [in writing], and once a decision was finalized, their [stellar] HR and IT departments moved at light-speed so I could begin work in just days, not weeks. I was fortunate to have multiple offers during my search, and for all of the above reasons, CSID beat the competition by a large margin.

    Cons

    None -- I regret not finding CSID sooner.

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up -- the effects of CSID's leadership is evident throughout the company, in the staff, in the values, in the work/life balance, in the financials and everywhere else.

    CSID Response

    Feb 26, 2015 – Senior Human Resources Director

    Thanks for the feedback! This means a lot to everyone on the team. But if you ever have any suggestions on areas to improve, please pass them on. Best of luck to you! David


  2. Helpful (2)

    "Former Employee"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at CSID (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Great compensation, benefits, and growth potential across almost all departments. The majority of senior leadership was incredibly dedicated to their respective teams, and highly intelligent. The work / life balance for most departments was great.

    Cons

    The niche industry CSID operates within can have a lot of volatility which puts a number of the senior leadership members on edge. Produce enhancement delays were the norm during my time there, but had at least improved dramatically by the time I left. CEO's general lack of integrity, or for that matter presence in the Austin office, was a complete joke.

    Advice to Management

    Have an exit, or replace the CEO with someone who can actually get the company there.


  3. "Just be careful."

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at CSID full-time

    Pros

    It was a great experience at CSID. A lot of nice people and teamwork all around. For the most part everyone is willing to help and always in a friendly mood. People take ping pong seriously here! Work/Life balance varies depending on the position, the higher the more flexible/lower the more difficult.

    Cons

    There's small issue with dealing with employee relations. I think its rare there which is obviously a good thing, but the downside is that when there is a conflict, HR prefers to hope the fire "puts itself out". Instead of a proactive approach to prevent any type of escalation. There also isn't much room to move "up" as there is to move around. You make lateral moves fairly easy, but moving up is far and few. The "open door" approach that is pitched strongly here, does not include senior management most of the time. HR doesn't like people to "bother them".

    Advice to Management

    Be more proactive in employee relations. Employee evaluations are a plus, but not if they are sugar coated to now allow the employees to actually improve.

    CSID Response

    Oct 6, 2015 – Senior Human Resources Director

    Thank you for the comments! While we are always disappointed that a previous employee wouldn't recommend CSID as a place to work, we always welcome opinions and thoughts that would ... More


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. Helpful (1)

    "The template for all medium-sized tech companies to follow..."

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Support Analyst in Austin, TX
    Current Employee - Technical Support Analyst in Austin, TX

    I have been working at CSID full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    CSID is everything "Austin" about Technology - a group of highly-motivated, hyper-intelligent individuals going all-in to work toward the lofty goal of dominating an emerging marketplace...all while maintaining all the quirkiness, kookiness, and "work hard, play hard" ideologies of a truly Austin-based company. As an employee, you are challenged daily to deliver at the highest levels and acquire the latest skill sets in order to keep pushing the envelope. Mediocrity is not rewarded. But if you're not having fun while grinding your way to the top, it's your own damn fault - the work environment here embraces openness and humor to offset the typical rigidity and seriousness of corporate America. All voices are heard and have input, and you'd be very hard-pressed to find a better group of coworkers to embrace as your "work family." Work/life balance is taken extremely seriously, and employees are afforded the flexibility to handle living in the real world.

    Cons

    This place is not for the weak of heart or easily-deterred! This is a challenging work environment that demands peak performance and effort. Not really a con at all, but the most stressful part of working here.

    Advice to Management

    The only advice that I could recommend is that there be a little more formality and structure in the ramp-up process early on. The "drinking from a fire hose" analogy is apt. It's easy to get overwhelmed and flustered, because you want to soak it all up and become effective ASAP. A little more structure during the early period would be of great assistance.

    CSID Response

    Jun 3, 2015 – Senior Human Resources Director

    Thanks for the review and suggestions! We are always looking to improve our onboarding process to address the items you mention and have some forthcoming changes that we believe will assist future ... More


  6. "Application Support"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CSID (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great place to work with an amazing culture!

    Cons

    CSID has seen its fair share of growing pains but that can be a good problem to have. The company is well past being a start up and continues to thrive!

    CSID Response

    May 7, 2015 – Senior Human Resources Director

    We appreciate the feedback! Agree on the growing pains, these are best kind of challenges! David


  7. "The interview process was as great as it is coming to work everyday doing something you enjoy and know makes a diff."

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CSID full-time

    Pros

    You are valued and kept in the loop with quarterly meetings on how the company is growing and how that benefits you. Tons of room for growth and advancement within the company in either your current department or in other departments. Treated as an individual instead of just an employee.

    Cons

    Nothing really comes to mind. Ive thought long and hard about what could possibly be a con and all i see or great reasons to continue my success at CSID

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work. Treating your people as well as you do shows with every contact made with any client and their members. Love working here!!


  8. "Accelerated Advancement while having fun!"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at CSID full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Our daily department atmosphere includes friendly peers that help identify your impact on the CSID brand as a whole. Speedy "ramp ups" are frequent and welcomed by employees of CSID. Being one of the industries leading providers of compromised cyber data and breach management we are on the literal edge of ID theft, which leaves plenty of room for growth. HR and upper management are focused on the growth and career development of employees at all levels.

    Cons

    CSID employees are so great and we have so much fun that life outside of work can be a bit of a downer.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work!

    CSID Response

    Mar 12, 2015 – Senior Human Resources Director

    Thanks for the review! If you ever have any improvements or suggestions please pass them along. David


  9. "Company gets the life/work balance equation"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CSID full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Life/Work balance is excellent. They understand how to treat employees like actual people. The company is smartly growing slowly but steadily. Careful growth equals predictable revenues. They have a vision that is clear and communicated well.

    Cons

    Location is not ideal if you live north where most of the other high tech companies are.

    Advice to Management

    Execute on the vision of the company, and keep up the good work.

    CSID Response

    Mar 12, 2015 – Senior Human Resources Director

    Thanks for the review! We will try our best. David


  10. "A Really Great Place to Work"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Austin, TX
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CSID full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    CSID goes out of it's way to provide employees with excellent benefits, a fun work environment, and a culture that promotes education and advancement within the company. We work hard, but we also play hard. The open vacation policy, and limited but effective requests for overtime work to accomplish certain goals, shows that management knows our personal lives matter very much, and they know when to draw the line. It seems like everyone at CSID is committed to the success of the company, from upper management and the CEO down to the average employee. This is the best place I have ever worked, and that says a lot. I have worked for some of the most successful companies in the industry during their formative and most explosive years of growth, and the feeling here is the same. There is a current of excitement about the future of the company that is palpable.

    Cons

    The Agile approach that many departments have been trained in, and are now using, has been really beneficial to the focus and productivity of those groups. It is unfortunate that the offshore teams have not aggressively adopted Agile, and that it also takes so long to implement changes to some of our core services that are being serviced by those teams. I think those two issues are related.

    Advice to Management

    So far, so good! Keep the focus to achievable but lofty goals, and keep your hands on the wheel! You are leading this company to what we all hope will be continued great success.

    CSID Response

    Mar 12, 2015 – Senior Human Resources Director

    Thanks for the review! I will pass along your comments on Agile to the appropriate parties. Glad you enjoy being with us and we're glad you're here ... More


  11. "Great Company to work for."

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Flexible hours and also work with you for anything.

    Cons

    There is really no challenges, very easy and calm.

    Advice to Management

    Change it up, maybe different ways of how to interact with everyone from all departments in the company.

    CSID Response

    Mar 12, 2015 – Senior Human Resources Director

    Thanks for the review! We're always looking for ways to keep the communication flow fresh and informative, we will look into different ways to interact. Thanks for taking the time to ... More



Showing 26 of 28 reviews
Reset Filters
RSS Feed </> Embed