CSU Dominguez Hills Reviews | Glassdoor

CSU Dominguez Hills Reviews

Updated Jul 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 59 reviews

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
80%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
CSU Dominguez Hills CEO Willie J. Hagan
Willie J. Hagan
10 Ratings
Pros
  • "Working at CSUDH provides for a great work/life balance(in 3 reviews)

  • "Diverse population with student body(in 3 reviews)

Cons
  • "Low Pay, Hard to receive in-range progression, Not all employees work to their full potential(in 5 reviews)

  • "(in 2 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "My experience working as a student assistant at CSUDH was amazing."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at CSU Dominguez Hills

    Pros

    Very flexible with school schedule, understanding, patient, fun, and fast paced.

    Cons

    Cons were having to leave during summer break.

    CSU Dominguez Hills2019-07-22
  2. "Project reach elementary tutor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Elementary Tutor 

    I worked at CSU Dominguez Hills part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Independent No one is on you

    Cons

    No advancement in pay Low pay

    CSU Dominguez Hills2019-06-19
  3. "Athletics Student Worker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Student Worker 

      I have been working at CSU Dominguez Hills part-time

      Pros

      Everyone is really nice and understanding, especially if you are a student-athlete!

      Cons

      hard to fulfill all of your hour requirements

      Advice to Management

      Mimi you are the best!

      CSU Dominguez Hills2019-04-02
    • "Great people but out dated system"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Marketing Assistant in Carson, CA

      I worked at CSU Dominguez Hills part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Flexible hours and nice people.

      Cons

      Leadership is out of touch with current marketing industry.

      Advice to Management

      Stay up-to-date with marketing trends.

      CSU Dominguez Hills2019-03-26
    • "Culture needs improving"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at CSU Dominguez Hills full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Mission of Campus; new President is fantastic and has great vision

      Cons

      Toxic environment with upper management; lack of transparency; too many interim management; management does not value employees

      Advice to Management

      listen to employees; provide feedback; stop micro-managing; positive engagement

      CSU Dominguez Hills2019-03-21
    • "great university"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends

      I worked at CSU Dominguez Hills full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Great teachers, great community, friendly staff

      Cons

      most of the classes offered don't really prepare students.

      CSU Dominguez Hills2019-02-07
    • "Good Place to Work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Admissions 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at CSU Dominguez Hills full-time for more than 8 years

      Pros

      Friendly staff, managers, and faculty. Good benefits.

      Cons

      Some of my colleagues don't do their job.

      Advice to Management

      Keep doing what you're doing. I know it can be hard, but it's worth it so we can help students.

      CSU Dominguez Hills2019-02-11
    • "Housing Student Assistant"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Student Assistant in Carson, CA
        No opinion of CEO

        I have been working at CSU Dominguez Hills part-time for more than a year

        Pros

        I've created great relationships with my supervisors.

        Cons

        They do not care about the student's opinion on how to improve the school/ activities they hold. They treat college students like little children and not adults.

        Advice to Management

        Fire top management and start over. There are too many corrupt people in a high position that do not qualify. Stop allowing friends to give other friends job opportunities when they are not a great fit for the campus.

        CSU Dominguez Hills2019-01-29
      • "Fantastic Students"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Former Employee - Adjunct Lecturer 

          I worked at CSU Dominguez Hills part-time

          Pros

          The students are the best reason to teach there. They are bright, motivated, genuine and fun.

          Cons

          Administration can be scattered

          CSU Dominguez Hills2019-01-27
        • "Working for a non profit at university"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Administrative Assistant 
          Doesn't Recommend
          Neutral Outlook

          I worked at CSU Dominguez Hills full-time for more than a year

          Pros

          Pay is always on time.

          Cons

          Wasn’t efficient with storing of collecting documents. Have a lot of people quiting at top positions creating delays.

          CSU Dominguez Hills2019-01-16
        Found 59 reviews