CSX Reviews | Glassdoor

CSX Reviews

Updated Feb 10, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

2.3
27%
Recommend to a Friend
14%
Approve of CEO
CSX President and CEO Jim Foote
Jim Foote
80 Ratings
  1. "Great Pay and Benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supervisor 

    I have been working at CSX full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great Pay, Benefits and Retirement

    Cons

    This is not just a job its a lifestyle...not your normal 9-5.

    CSX2020-02-10
  2. "This is an awesome job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CSX full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great fun, lots of good work

    Cons

    Getting free food in hard

    Continue reading
    CSX2019-11-18
  3. Featured Review

    "A great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Digital Communications Manager in Jacksonville, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CSX full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I get to be a teammate to some of the hardest working men and women in the United States. Coming from a different industry, I had little understanding on how important rail is to the U.S. economy. I didn't know how many different skill sets were needed to keep the railroad moving. I ignorantly assumed or generalized that there were conductors, engineers and others that support the rail...but not knowing much more. We have operations in the building and in the field, techies, analysts, sales, marketing, a police department and so many more. I have been fortunate to stand side-by-side with a diverse and fun group of craft employees, managers, and senior leadership that have an unparalleled drive. My colleagues are some of the most proud and passionate people I have ever had the pleasure to worked with. The company itself is always examining new and innovative ways to redefine rail freight and the technologies that support what we do. It's an exciting time to be working here! By the way, the pay is pretty awesome too!

    Cons

    While most have good work-life balance, some teams (at certain times) have more work than the typical 9-to-5ers. That being said, you have to remember that the railroad is running 24-7-365.

    Continue reading
    CSX2019-10-16
  4. "Great Railroad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bridge Inspector in Rochester, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at CSX full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good pay and stability. Lots of options to move around and try different jobs.

    Cons

    Some upheaval during upper management change over. I've heard it's resolved.

    CSX2019-05-23
  5. "Working at CSX"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bridge Foreman 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at CSX full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There is a unique brotherhood among railroaders that is very strong.

    Cons

    Waiting on track time to get your work done.

    Continue reading
    CSX2019-02-09
  6. "Awesome Employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Jacksonville, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at CSX full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Top - people oriented. Highly family & socially embraced. Great benefits & pay. On latest trends in automation. Go RAIL. CSX "HOW TOMORROW MOVES".

    Cons

    Automation - "CAN NOT" totally replace human hands-on.

    Continue reading
    CSX2019-01-28
  7. "CSX life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Freight Locomotive Engineer in Richmond, VA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at CSX full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Competitive salary and benefits

    Cons

    High stress rate, family life impacted severely

    CSX2018-12-26
  8. "Excellent employer that rewards hard work and initiative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Revenue Manager in Jacksonville, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at CSX full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Regular opportunities for growth and expanding your knowledge base. Recognition and reward for producing results. Promotes innovation and provides an environment that supports new ideas.

    Cons

    Demanding goals that sometime come with challenging deadlines - don't assume a 40 work week. Recent headcount reductions means everyone is trying to do more with less support. Future forecast call for additional cuts to drive down costs.

    CSX2018-09-30
  9. "Conductor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in San Antonio, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at CSX for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Money benefits money money

    Cons

    On call, sleep schedule, someone trying to fire you, get laid off

    Continue reading
    CSX2018-09-19
  10. "CSX"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Locomotive Engineer in Phila, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at CSX full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great pay. Fairly easy work days. Employee appreciation days.

    Cons

    Management looks for the smallest of rules infractions and will give you time off.

    CSX2018-06-11

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 767 reviews
</>Embed