CSX Signal Maintainer Reviews | Glassdoor

CSX Signal Maintainer Reviews

Updated Oct 24, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.1
7%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
CSX President and CEO Jim Foote
Jim Foote
2 Ratings
  1. "Craft Employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Signal Maintainer in Vincennes, IN
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CSX full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Very good pay and benefits. Safety is first at CSX, I have been empowered to make decisions about safety and how to preform my job. I have worked at CSX for 11 years and probably will retire from here. Overall its a good place to work.

    Cons

    No path for advancement for craft or hourly employees. The company seems to want t o hire outside the company for management. They hire them at a low wage and they have no railroad experience. Because of that, we have a lot of turnover in field managers. The company is going through a lot of restructuring right now, lots of lay offs and management cut backs despite record profits. They just announced 1000 management lay offs and I expect to see more lays offs soon.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Promote from within, if not you get managers "without"

    CSX2017-03-06
  2. "Use to be a GREAT Railroad..... until the buy out"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Signal Maintainer in Charlotte, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at CSX full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Pay, retirement, not much more than that

    Cons

    They look for anything and everything to get you fired...Big Brother is watching! Benefits are going down the tube.

    Advice to Management

    Happy employees do a lot better and safer job than disgruntled ones. Quit using the fear factor.

    CSX2019-10-24
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Signal"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Signal Maintainer in Baltimore, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at CSX full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits, Pay, Work Balance, Co Workers, Location

    Cons

    Management, Culture, Low Morale, Cut throat policy, Bullies

    Advice to Management

    Treat workers fairly!

    CSX2018-03-02
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Uncertainty"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Signal Maintainer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at CSX full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great pay. Good health benefits.

    Cons

    Away from home. Uncertainty due to shake up by H. H.

    CSX2017-10-12
  5. "Good job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Signal Maintainer in Jacksonville, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at CSX full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good bit of over time. Hourly rate is close to $33. But have always grossed around $100,000. Some make more some make less.

    Cons

    Can get called out for trouble at any hour if marked available. Can definitely feel division between management and union workers.

    CSX2017-08-18
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Signalmen"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Signal Maintainer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at CSX full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Pay/benefits and the retirement, if you can make it 30 years

    Cons

    There is a contract that management agreed to and they never follow it. Not sure if I will have a job one day to the next. The company used to be a good place to work, seemed like they cared about the workers, but HH, the new CEO is an uncaring, ego-maniac. The company netted 1.7 billion in 2016. Apparently thats not enough, so lets change things and screw the people who made that possible.

    Advice to Management

    Grow some balls and tell you bosses how wrong they are when they make changes. You are not out in field and don't know how things work.

    CSX2017-08-08
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Worse company ever"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Signal Maintainer in Louisville, KY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at CSX full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    None, New CEO is running company into the ground to sell off.

    Cons

    You will need to carry fire insurance for when you get fired for any little rule infraction.

    Advice to Management

    We all need to stick together and walk out. Maybe then the board will listen and fire Hunter Harrison

    CSX2017-07-17
  8. Helpful (1)

    "for some its good, for others its bad."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Signal Maintainer in Avon, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at CSX

    Pros

    Benefits, pay, and if you are single not at home!!

    Cons

    Pay attention who you talk to, a lot of managers are snakes in the grass.

    Advice to Management

    get rid of the dam ORM books completely!!!

    CSX2016-05-01
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Maintainer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Signal Maintainer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at CSX

    Pros

    Pay was on track to be more competitive and I do feel like the company really cared about your safety

    Cons

    Where do I begin, they placed stickers on back of the trucks (how's my driving) and no matter what if someone called the number u were guilty I worked in a small town and people are jealous if they know u are doing well for yourself so they wood call and lie about my driving I wouldn't even be in the area and yet csx would believe the crap they were fed, my work ethic was never questioned huh makes no sense does it, lousy management LOUSY

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees when you see a man is taking all his calls and half of the other men's why would u make things harder on him, why wouldn't you open your eyes to see how dirty and cutthroat especially the signal department is

    CSX2016-01-16
  10. Helpful (1)

    "not what its hyped up to be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Signal Maintainer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CSX full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    money and benefits are pretty good for a job that requires no education. The company is ran like the government so you don't work to hard.

    Cons

    You are part of a union and can be bumped out of your job allot. You never know from one day to the next if the company will cut a job off and its up to you to find a place to go and this can be anywhere since they are so spread out. I have moved twice with the company so far and cam in the other day and they cut my job off again. Also on call 24/7 and the phone rings off the hook.

    Advice to Management

    Plan ahead for long term projects to insure a better home life for employees.

    CSX2014-02-24
Found 11 reviews