CSX "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor

CSX Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Nov 26, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.5
26%
Recommend to a Friend
18%
Approve of CEO
CSX CEO Jim Foote
Jim Foote
72 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great pay and benefits plenty of opportunities if your willing to relocate(in 103 reviews)

  • "Good pay, challenging but rewarding(in 103 reviews)

Cons
  • "work/life balance in near impossible(in 40 reviews)

  • "Unfortunately you work long hours and my have to spend a good amount of time away from home(in 31 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Featured Review

    "A great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Digital Communications Manager in Jacksonville, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CSX full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I get to be a teammate to some of the hardest working men and women in the United States. Coming from a different industry, I had little understanding on how important rail is to the U.S. economy. I didn't know how many different skill sets were needed to keep the railroad moving. I ignorantly assumed or generalized that there were conductors, engineers and others that support the rail...but not knowing much more.... We have operations in the building and in the field, techies, analysts, sales, marketing, a police department and so many more. I have been fortunate to stand side-by-side with a diverse and fun group of craft employees, managers, and senior leadership that have an unparalleled drive. My colleagues are some of the most proud and passionate people I have ever had the pleasure to worked with. The company itself is always examining new and innovative ways to redefine rail freight and the technologies that support what we do. It's an exciting time to be working here! By the way, the pay is pretty awesome too!

    Show More

    Cons

    While most have good work-life balance, some teams (at certain times) have more work than the typical 9-to-5ers. That being said, you have to remember that the railroad is running 24-7-365.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing! People sometimes forget that successful businesses have to make tough decisions. It's not always easy or popular to have a vision for the future and sticking to it. The fact that you continually look for the greater good of our company and ALL of its employees is what will continue to drive us to excellence and make CSX the best run railroad in North America!

    CSX2019-10-16
  2. "General Foreman"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Foreman 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at CSX full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Career Growth and Opportunities within organization

    Cons

    Relocation.... Away from support system to help with work life balance

    CSX2017-08-23
  3. "Career growth is very slow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at CSX

    Pros

    Depending on what team you were on, the work life balance could be extremely good. The benefits, on-site gym, and amenities were all nice perks as well.

    Cons

    Bureaucracy. I had been over performing in my role for a long time, and for nearly a year had been told that my promotion was in the pipeline. I grew tired of waiting.

    CSX2019-11-26
  4. "Life is over as you know it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Freight Conductor in Phila, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at CSX full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good Pay and Great Retirement

    Cons

    Awful management and work/life balance

    CSX2019-11-06
  5. "Avoid. At all costs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Locomotive Engineer in Cumberland, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at CSX full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Going home at the end of your shift.

    Cons

    Draconian policies, no work/life balance and a very toxic culture.

    Advice to Management

    We are not the enemy. Stop treating us as such.

    CSX2019-10-17
  6. "Great railroad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Freight Conductor 

    I worked at CSX full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits and pay

    Cons

    No work life balance

    CSX2019-07-25
  7. "Interesting Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CSX full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    pay for managers is great for the field

    Cons

    work/life balance in near impossible

    Advice to Management

    Pay attention to the needs of the field

    CSX2019-03-08
  8. Helpful (4)

    "IT Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at CSX full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Nice Bonus structure and benefits, decent work/life balance.

    Cons

    Head needs to be on a swivel, letting a lot of talent go for employees right out of college, upper management worried about their own job and will sacrifice front line managers to make OE goals.

    CSX2018-12-07
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Administrative Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Jacksonville, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at CSX full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Location, gym onsite, salary, benefits, work-life balance

    Cons

    Current layoffs - still more to take place through 2020

    Advice to Management

    none

    CSX2018-09-20
  10. "Trainmaster"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Trainmaster 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at CSX for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great Benefits and if you work at corporate you have a good work life balance.

    Cons

    More than I care to share but if you don't mind working longs hours and barely getting any off days then this is the place for you,

    CSX2018-09-04
Found 54 reviews
</>Embed