CSX "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor

CSX Reviews

Updated Jan 7, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

2.5
27%
Recommend to a Friend
17%
Approve of CEO
CSX President and CEO Jim Foote
Jim Foote
76 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Signal Construction Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Signal Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CSX

    Pros

    Promotes from within, good training, good pay and benefits

    Cons

    Poor work life balance, 24/7 job

    CSX2015-08-22
  2. Helpful (5)

    "Love Csx but not the politcs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Management Employee in Jacksonville, FL
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CSX

    Pros

    Pay, benefits, hard working people

    Cons

    Work/life balance don't really exists

    Advice to Management

    HR has to stand up to leadership and stop trying to be "liked" by the senior leadership. Work to make it an inclusive environment for diversity. Stop making knee jerk decision, fix work life balance issue, performance mgmt time is a joke and pencil whipping time because no real thought behind the scores. Promote good people or you'll lose them.

    CSX2015-03-26
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. Helpful (2)

    "Freight Conductor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Freight Conductor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at CSX full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I enjoy ensuring the economy moves in the right direction. The freedom to work without being looked over the shoulder everyday. The training that I received in order to do my job safely. The benefits. The pay. The customers.

    Cons

    The hotel is your home. Work life balance is available for Senior Management, H.R. and Labor Relations. Work life balance is not available for Lower Management or their direct repots (the true face of the company). Labor relations don't understand the contract they signed when it relates to paying what was agreed upon. If they can take the money back due to something in the contract they understand it clearly, if you dont understand it then too bad. Opportunity is not always given to the best candidates rather to friends and family referrals. No diversity. Most accountability standards only pertain to train crews. Intimidation is used often even if it requires breaking a rule or is unsafe. The last two examples means that this place is unethical. Unethical activities need not be reported, they will to be placed on a desk and lost rather than resolved if it come from union employee unless an attorney is involved.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Read the comments that your current and former employees have been leaving about your company. Most of the good comments come from people who work in your home office. I have never heard anything about community projects in my trerminal, and you never show your face. Most of your employees outside of Jacksonville who truely makes tomorrow move, are giving you bad reviews. I don't suspect that you will acknowledge or respond to any of the comments that your employees are making. This assumption comes from the fact that you don't acknowledge the questions that we ask when you tell us to ask questions. ( i.e. ask Michael). I guess that begs the question, wouldn't you think a happier workforce would bring on a more productive workforce? I was a manager before I was unfortunate enough to come to this crapshoot. I manage by intimidation and managed with incentives, my team was more productive and happier working for incentives. I bet if you tried that, your stock would increase over that $34.97 that you can't seem to get over.

    Show More
    CSX2015-03-29
  5. "Overall: Good to great environment and work culture."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CSX

    Pros

    Work life balance is good for positions not in the field locations. (Feel a bit sorry for them though) Many opportunities to make a difference on projects. Leadership is approachable. Work culture is good.

    Cons

    Base salary is a bit lower than some industries with the same jobs. (Could be due to Jacksonville market) It's easier for an individual to leave their current team and get a promotion than be promoted in their current position even when exceeding expectations.

    Advice to Management

    Consider changing the promotion process with HR. Managers should have power over their own teams and positions, they know who they need and who they want to promote based on performance, don't hinder that.

    CSX2015-03-16
  6. Helpful (9)

    "More Money, More Problems"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Trainmaster in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at CSX

    Pros

    Great pay and benefits for new employees. Training is extensive as you spend several months shadowing other Trainmasters or taking exams in the Atlanta office.

    Cons

    The job can be really good or really bad depending on who you are paired to train under. Unfortunately I got one of the worst. Work-life balance was nonexistent. In the first few minutes after being placed in a terminal, I usually worked 12 nights on, 2 nights off, for about 13-17 hours a day. I was fresh out of college so I thought this was the norm based on the great pay in comparison to many of my college peers.

    Advice to Management

    The high turnover, rampant obesity, and high rate of divorce with in your transportation department should be a clear sign that the culture is wrong. Moving employees to new city every year and hoping they'll be happy by throwing more money at them is an awful way of conducting business.

    CSX2015-02-24
  7. "I've been with CSX for 14 years and am a lifetimer. I love my job, my team, and my company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CSX full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Long term stability, incentives, and benefits. Younger generation of employees have a lot of opportunity for growth in the next 5 - 7 years. Corporate culture is great with a strong E-team at the helm.

    Cons

    Depending on projects, work-life balance can be a challenge at times; nevertheless, you just have to take the good with the bad.

    CSX2015-01-24
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Its about who you know"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resource Analytics in Jacksonville, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CSX full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    There's plenty of jobs to apply for. Work-life balance is good for the office type jobs. Comp and benefits are good.

    Cons

    Not so much diversity in the workplace. Its a glass ceiling for minority women regarding promotions. The promotions are based on who you know, if they like you, and whether you fit the corporate color. They encourage you to speak up but concerns or issues but be prepare see that your career is at a halt. Bad behaviors are rewarded. Inconsistent performance management. I've been in both union and management positions. If it was up to me, I rather work in a union position that makes more money than managers and less of the bureaucracy.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Be fair and consistent.

    CSX2014-09-17
  9. "CSX is a good place to work and encourages internal advancement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Law Department in Jacksonville, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at CSX full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Professional environment, bonuses, opportunities for advancement, work life balance

    Cons

    Low salary, slow moving like a government agency

    CSX2014-05-19
  10. Helpful (1)

    "CSX could do better."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Railroad Conductor in Nashville, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at CSX full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The paycheck and the benefits. There is never a boring day at the railroad.

    Cons

    The work/life balance. The harassment and being micro managed by management.

    Advice to Management

    Stop treating employees like children especially the veterans who come to work for CSX. They have 0 tolerance for micro management. If you have no faith in your employees then don't expect them to care about you or the company. The guys and girls on the ground are what makes CSX go. Granted there are some people who come to work but do as little work as possible but that is not the majority. The majority would like to be able to come to work, do a job for a decent paycheck without having to worry about being fired.

    Show More
    CSX2014-01-31
  11. "good experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CSX

    Pros

    team oriented and good work life balance

    Cons

    sometimes slow and very bureacratic

    CSX2013-10-18
Found 55 reviews
</>Embed