KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

CUMULUS MEDIA

Is this your company?

CUMULUS MEDIA

Add a Review

CUMULUS MEDIA Employee Reviews about "upper management"

Updated Jan 12, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 23 of over 778 reviews

3.2
54%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
CUMULUS MEDIA President and CEO Mary G. Berner (no image)
Mary G. Berner
201 Ratings
Pros
  • "The company as a whole is filled with great people who are excited about what they do(in 32 reviews)

  • "This is where I want to work full time, I love working with my coworkers and love working at this particular radio station(in 24 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "All the entry-level positions are part-time with very low pay(in 27 reviews)

  • "While upper management has changed, many Dickey-era middle managers remain with the company(in 23 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of CUMULUS MEDIA and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "upper management"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Producer

      Apr 14, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Environment, co-workers, flexible scheduling, location & market

      Cons

      Pay, lack of hours, unable to grow in role, upper management unable to communicate & unorganized at times

      1 person found this review helpful
    2. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Incompetent Middle Management

      Jan 12, 2021 - IT Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Mary Berner, the CEO, has brought great change to what was once a toxic pit of wasteful spending and employee exploitation and abuse. Twice a year employees have the opportunity to anonymously send feedback to Mary and the executive team through culture surveys. While the claim is that all the surveys are read, I have yet to see any meaningful change based on the surveys. Kudos for the effort though! Radio can be a fun business (assuming you don't let the awful work environment suck the life out of you).

      Cons

      + Work Environment: The company does not care about its employees. While upper management has changed, many Dickey-era middle managers remain with the company. They continue to hobnob their managers to keep their jobs (and far greater than they deserve salary). At the same time, they maintain toxic, unhealthy environments as they act solely out of their own self-interest and preservation. + Training & Opportunities: Any new employees will get zero meaningful training. I feel so sorry for anyone who comes to sell for Cumulus. You won't be supported. You better know the radio business, because no one is going to teach you anything. The same is true for technical hires as well. I hope you are a quick study because BSI's OpX is an overly complex beast full of "undocumented features" and security holes. You won't get training. You'll be told to "read the manual" and figure everything else out on the job. + Lack of Support: In more cases that I've found, upper management will not give two thoughts about you. Human Resources will lie to you, intimidate you, threaten you, and dance around their responsibilities under federal law while denying you the necessary accommodations you need to do your job. Certainly don't ask for FMLA leave as that will literally initiate the apocalypse. + Revolving Door: Be prepared for a revolving door of salespeople. Due to lack of support and many incompetent C & D level managers, sellers have a tough environment. You sell it. And if you want to get your commission, you collect it too. The pay structure is weird, plus all accounts remain property of the Company, so don't upset your manager, or they will swindle and undermine you right out of a paycheck. I have watched it happen. + Pay & Benefits: The fiscal constraints surrounding radio and audio companies today are genuine. You won't get paid very well unless you're at the very tippy top. The CEO makes 100x per year what I make. Once I have the full suite of benefits deducted from my check, my net pay means my family lives below the poverty line. + Office Politics: The radio business has some big egos. It can also be straight-up brutal. One day you have a great career working for an awesome radio station, then the next day, the station is being sold, and you're given a pink slip. As with many companies, Cumulus promotes people who can do their job well into management positions. Unfortunately, someone who is good at selling radio does not mean they will make a good MANAGER. The skill sets are very different, yet the company promotes these people anyway. The salary and bonus structure means that the best course of action is frequently not chosen. Instead, the manager's salary and bonus are protected first and foremost. This means that everything and everyone comes second to the money your market manager may be making. Between the sales department's fiscal pressures and the drama coming out of the on-air talent's emotional insecurities, everyone else is left to get some actual work accomplished despite being treated as second class citizens compared to your sales kings and programming queens. + Work-Life Balance: There is none. Prepared to be tethered with a ball and chain, unless you're hired to be a manager. God forbid management has to work on a weekend. + Undermining: Prepare to have your work undermined. The rug will be pulled right out from underneath you. It happens frequently. Atlanta keeps close control of everything within the local markets. They can make changes to systems without even mentioning it to you even though you may be responsible for the outcome, oh well. + Radio is DYING! The radio medium is still a viable solution for advertisers who need mass reach and can benefit from a local radio celebrity's endorsement. Unfortunately, live and local talent is rapidly being replaced with remote voice tracks. Every corner will be cut to siphon off more revenue to pay the executives. The company continues to play a finite month-to-month, quarter-to-quarter rat race that will eventually lead Cumulus to evaporate. When you can pay Amazon, Apple, Google, Spotify, or Pandora a small monthly fee to get rid of those pesky commercials, who needs a radio station that plays 7-minute long stop sets along with generic people talking about random stuff that has no relevance to your life? Nobody. As internet delivery options become more reliable and more geographically complete, insanely expensive transmission systems will become cost-prohibitive. Why should we pay for transmission equipment, engineers to maintain that equipment, and pay to lease space to put an antenna on a tower? That takes a lot of money when the same audio stream can be delivered with a better end-user experience through a much cheaper internet connection. It's simple economics.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Ok job

      Nov 15, 2020 - Sales Associate in Kansas City, MO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Freedom of schedule and creativity

      Cons

      Coworkers, training, pay, upper management,

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Listen to the other complaints, it really is THAT BAD

      Jul 24, 2020 - Marketing and Promotions Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      There are some incredible people that you’ll meet and get to work with. The free concerts and other “work perks” you’ll have access to is nice, but isn’t enough to cover all the bad with this company.

      Cons

      Management at both the local level as well as corporate are absolute trash. These are some of the meanest, nastiest, rudest people I have ever met. I cannot stress enough that not a single person in upper management cares about you. They will pick apart every little thing you do and eventually, after collecting little problems over time, will sit you down, yell at you about something you did they didn’t like 6 months ago and write you up. Everyone I ever talked to from different markets all had the same thing to say, yet somehow after the semi-yearly culture survey, corporate would paint this picture that there’s no issues and everyone is happy to work for the company. I was also verbally harassed by a VP of the company at an event, where he then instructed his entire team to ignore me completely for the duration of the event. The pay is so bad, the benefits are bad, and moving up and earning more in the company will more than likely never happen for you. They recently fired the entire traffic department company wide to centralize it into three “traffic hubs” but that created so much extra work for people at the local levels and there were more problems then solutions. Expect to do the work of three or more people while getting paid about the same as a fast food worker. I was at times expected to work 60-80 hours a week with no extra pay or overtime. Furthermore, they only put old white men in these VP positions within the company. So instead of actually innovating and creating new and exciting products, you have these ancient radio professionals who only want to run radio like it’s the 70s. They’re going to kill this company off but will blame everyone else as the ship goes down. Oh, and take this as you will, but they didn’t have mandatory sexual harassment training until the middle of 2019. This company is just so backwards it was hard to work there. There is just so much bad in this company, you will be exhausted before even getting to the office. Protect your mental health, look somewhere else.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    5. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      I Promise You... It's THAT BAD. Worst company I have ever worked for.

      Jan 14, 2020 - Anonymous Employee in Atlanta, GA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Occasionally, cool perks such as meeting artists and free event tickets. Some employees are extremely talented and interesting people to get to know. However, these pros do not outweigh the cons.

      Cons

      1. Awful Upper Management Leadership: The people in upper management here at the Atlanta office do NOT care about the employees. And I get it, managers are not going to always be perfect, but they truly have no respect for anyone but themselves, talk poorly about their subordinates, make crude/inappropriate comments, and never stop to realize why people hate working there so much. They do only what's in their best interests, and when things don't go as plan, they find people to blame and terminate people, talented people. And the turnover rate just goes to prove it. In 2019, at least from my knowledge, 13+ people willingly quit, which for an office that small, is absolutely insane. The worst part is that they know the company morale is low, but refuse to believe that it's because of their own wrongdoings. 2. Below Average Salary & Terrible Benefits: If you are trying to see a doctor, good luck with your noncompetitive salary. Looking for a raise? Look elsewhere. 3. No Growth Opportunity: Good luck trying to move up. They usually always look for outside talent before they choose their own employees. The people that have moved up, are few and far between. And usually it's because they are desperate and can't find anyone else. Usually companies look to promote people with new ideas and passion. Not Cumulus. If you have ideas that don't match theirs and want to have your voice heard, look elsewhere. They love puppet employees that can be controlled. If you happen to accept a job here, go talk to the employees for their honest opinion, and then start applying elsewhere.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    6. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Few opportunities for success

      Oct 26, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great direct manager. No overnight travel or weekends.

      Cons

      Overall management is very poor. Upper management wants 100% commissioned sales people to attend multiple meetings every week, making it very difficult to sell. Software systems are horrible!

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Fake it til you make it.

      Apr 18, 2019 - Account Executive in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Artist performances and interviews.

      Cons

      The only successful sales people there are the ones who are considered "favorites" by upper management. The only way to move up is to befriend management and agree with everything they say/do. These salespeople are the ones who receive their unfair share of accounts, leads, and billing. If you don't do these things, you will be left in the dust. Even when you develop your own accounts and close business, you are risk of losing these accounts if you are not a favorite. They will be taken away (along with you commission) and given to the manager's favorites. Management is manipulative and untrustworthy. Clients ask that managers do not attend meetings or lunches because they are uncomfortable around them. Managers' priorities become our priorities, even if that means we lose commission on other profitable opportunities.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      Don't stay too long

      Feb 8, 2015 - Promotions Coordinator & Director 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I worked at Cumulus Media (radio) in the Promotions department for over 8 years. In my early 20s, it was a great job out of college in that I learned a lot and gained some valuable experience.

      Cons

      Unfortunately, I stayed at Cumulus far longer than I should have. When you're in the Promotions department, it's a bit of a dead end. You can work your way up to Promotions Director, but at that point you're still working lots of hours, including nights and weekends, and the salary is pretty abysmal. It also always felt like there was a lack of respect for the Promo dept. We were the face of the station, but never regarded as highly as the Sales or Programming teams. It's a job for which you have to have a high level of passion, because there will be very little thanks and very little money. Upper management seems fairly out of touch with what the actual worker bees are doing, what the challenges are, and why not just anyone can do this job. After awhile, you do get what you pay for. My advice would be for someone in their 20s to get in, gain experience, meet people, and then get out after a few years.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    9. 2.0
      Former Employee

      Too little opportunity in this market due to mistakes of past employees. Current employees punished for those mistakes

      Aug 8, 2011 - Sales Representative in Myrtle Beach, SC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The structure imposed with guarantee that you become disciplined about use of time.

      Cons

      Micromangement eliminates the drive for creativity and creates an environment of fear. This market has been operating in the red for many years. Management just decided to pay attention to the market, and now a swat team guards every decision. The local staff does not operate as a team because every move is watched by upper management. The goal becomes producing reports that are attractive rather than actually DOING a good job.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    10. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Just because your corporate doesn't mean your better then the managers of your markets

      Jan 28, 2009 - I Don't Want to Say Because of Recourse On Me in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      the perks and the people you get to meet. I also like working with the public and helping fellow employees. I like having fun at work with my fellow employees, which is a great.

      Cons

      the upper management, especially corporate in Atlanta. They think that they are masters and we are the slaves. We work hard and try our best, but it never seems to be good enough for them. There is a manager at atlanta that is very gruff and is not very respectful and I don't think that Lew and John would appreciate how he treats the managers at the market level!

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 23 Reviews

    Popular Careers with CUMULUS MEDIA Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at CUMULUS MEDIA? Share Your Experiences

    or