Cover image for CUNA Mutual
Logo
See All Photos

CUNA Mutual

Engaged Employer

CUNA Mutual

Add a Review

CUNA Mutual Reviews

Updated Jan 21, 2023

To filter reviews, or .

Found 523 of over 628 reviews

4.1
86%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
CUNA Mutual President and Chief Executive Officer Robert N. Trunzo
Robert N. Trunzo
220 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of CUNA Mutual and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great place to work

    Jan 10, 2023 - Anonymous 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Culture, management, team members, everything

    Cons

    I can't really think of any cons,

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Good company overall

    Jan 21, 2023 - Solutions Curator in Houston, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great benefits Options for stretch projects Management is great

    Cons

    Pay is only competitive as outside hire

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Good environment, if not a bit bureaucratic

    Jan 17, 2023 - Customer Operations Director in Madison, WI
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    They try to change and make positive progress

    Cons

    Still shares a bit of bureaucracy from older insurance companies, change as such is very slow

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Amazing Experience

    Nov 16, 2022 - Middle Management Level 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I have worked at CMG for just over 5 years. I have held several jobs in the Madison, WI area and never has an employer before now treated me with loyalty, flexibility, respect, authenticity & opportunity to excel in my current role (and helped prepare me for any future roles within the Company). The CEO and exec leadership showed genuine grace, care & concern for all our employees & customers before the pandemic but even took it further during and 'after' COVID 19. I feel very fortunate to work for this amazing company and I hope to stay until my eventual retirement.

    Cons

    IT Leaders could use a bit of help when it comes to skilled, compassionate leadership and stepping up the level of good communication and partnership with the Business. But overall this is a wonderful company with amazing comp & benefits.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  5. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great Company, Wonderful Team

    Jan 17, 2023 - Junior Analyst in Madison, WI
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Flexible work environment - Good PTO and Holiday

    Cons

    - Hybrid work policy (benefits full time WFH employees more than hybrid)

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Leadership with a vision; middle management weak on execution

    Dec 6, 2022 - Transformation Lead in Madison, WI
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I was drawn to CMFG because of their employee and community focused approach to the COVID pandemic and Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion efforts. Listening to Bob talk about the company's vision is always inspiring and motivating.

    Cons

    At the ground level there was sometimes a lack of organization resulting in swirl and time wasted. In my experience, some ineffective middle management caused projects to stall or move forward in the wrong direction.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Good place to work

    Dec 24, 2022 - Data Analyst in Portland, OR
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Healthy culture and focused on delivering value

    Cons

    Headquartered in Madison, which is far from the costs.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 3.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    No complaints

    Jan 16, 2023 - Software Developer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good support network for most teams

    Cons

    A few bad apples and poor hardware management system.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    New leaders giving me new hope

    Oct 4, 2022 - Solutions Architect 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    This company is going through a lot of change that we need. The change is hard and a lot of the old guard can be stuck in their ways. I used to support our B2B work where this outdated way of working made it impossible to do anything exciting and started to look for something new because I had never seen any change here before. But things seem to be changing with our leadership and the new digital leader for our consumer and business teams who is making big changes that are making things much better. It’s amazing the difference when the leader knows what he is talking about and trusts people that know what they are doing.

    Cons

    We have old sales guys embarrassing us faking their digital and technical skills by cramming hashtags into LinkedIn posts about Fintech. It’s not fooling anyone who knows what they are talking about. Please ask them to stop and use our experts instead.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  10. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Progressive company

    Dec 23, 2022 - Business Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    High visibility and engagement opportunities across the organization

    Cons

    Lacks the structure and support for employees of color to advance at a pace that’s in-keeping with other organizations. Biases get in the way of being afforded development opportunities.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 523 Reviews

CUNA Mutual Reviews FAQs

CUNA Mutual has an overall rating of 4.1 out of 5, based on over 628 reviews left anonymously by employees. 86% of employees would recommend working at CUNA Mutual to a friend and 89% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has decreased by -1% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, CUNA Mutual employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.8 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at CUNA Mutual. This rating has decreased by -5% over the last 12 months.

86% of CUNA Mutual employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated CUNA Mutual 4.3 out of 5 for work life balance, 4.3 for culture and values and 3.6 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at CUNA Mutual to be career development, coworkers, benefits and the cons to be senior leadership, culture, management.

Popular Careers with CUNA Mutual Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at CUNA Mutual? Share Your Experiences

CUNA Mutual logo
or

CUNA Mutual Careers

Cover image for CUNA Mutual

At the heart of a great company, are great people. Our employees emulate the values instilled in our company more than 80 years ago by...More

  • Diversity
  • Benefits
  • Internships
  • Careers
This is the employer's chance to tell you why you should work for them. The information provided is from their perspective.

Reviews by Job Title

CUNA Mutual Photos

+ Add Photo
CUNA Mutual photo of: CUNA Mutual Group
CUNA Mutual photo of: We kicked off our Summer Internship events with bowling!
CUNA Mutual photo of: Herring Cup 1st Place Winners- This year we held our annual case competition in honor of Louis Herring "Credit Union Pioneer". Photographed Cedric Ellis, EVP Chief Enterprise Services Officer
CUNA Mutual photo of: Waverly Summer Interns chatting with Sharina Sallis, our Coporate Social Responsibility Manager and Veteran ERG member
CUNA Mutual photo of: What a day at Mallard's baseball field... Our summer interns enjoying baseball
CUNA Mutual photo of: Our Summer Interns partnered with our Veterans ERG to write letters for Operation Gratitude
CUNA Mutual photo of: Our summer interns listening to Bob Trunzo, CEO of CUNA Mutual Group share his experiences
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

CUNA Mutual Job Seekers Also Viewed

American Family Insurance Logo
American Family Insurance

3.7

1,872 Reviews
Compare