CUNA Mutual Reviews

Updated Apr 30, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
57%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
CUNA Mutual President and Chief Executive Officer Robert N. Trunzo
Robert N. Trunzo
161 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Working at a credit union but for CUNA, you have to remember you are a guest there(in 15 reviews)

  • "Terrible upper management and they provide no assistance(in 12 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (3)

    "Excellent Culture"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Analyst in Madison, WI
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CUNA Mutual full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Phenomenal culture, transparent leadership, excellent pay, strong vision for the future. The company has the framework in place to help you succeed in your role and a culture that encourages you to do a job right. Love working here. There are some older, negative reviews from a few years ago. I gather there was quite a bit of transition which may have led to this. The company today is great to work for. PS - underground parking for everyone in Madison :)

    Cons

    Relatively low PTO compared to modern companies, IT and development side of the company is understaffed and under skilled, which is a challenge as the company transitions to the technology space more and more.

    CUNA Mutual2020-01-18
  2. "Great company to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Direct Marketing Analyst in Madison, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CUNA Mutual full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - relaxed atmosphere - on-site gym - on-site clinic - up-ward mobility - Diverse environment

    Cons

    On-boarding seems to be a lengthily process.

    CUNA Mutual2019-09-04
  3. "Good Place to Work"

    4.0
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at CUNA Mutual full-time

    Pros

    Good place to work for all employees

    Cons

    Not a lot of jobs available now

    CUNA Mutual2020-04-21
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Cool project, remote opportunities, competitive pay, but they come at a bureaucratic cost"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Infrastructure Architecture Analyst in Madison, WI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at CUNA Mutual full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexible work-from home policy, decent pay, cool project opportunities to work with newer technology. Comp time can be had if you work over 40 hours in a week. Willing to pay for training.

    Cons

    Meetings. Meetings about meetings. "Agile Infrastructure" efforts have ruined working in the infrastructure departments here. We spend so much time talking about PBIs and refining that we lose hours upon hours of actual productivity. Combine this with staffing levels that are way too lean, and you have a recipe for burnout. It's a methodology for software development and has no business being used here.

    Continue reading
    CUNA Mutual2020-04-28
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Pay is above average and benefits are solid"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Madison, WI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at CUNA Mutual full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Pay and benefits are above average for the Madison market

    Cons

    Far too much red tape for a company of this size. Consistently not back filling positions when people leave. We will have our forth CIO in less than 8 years... Change of mid and upper management is seemingly constant so if you like significant changes and change in direction on a regular basis this might be the place for you. Also while they are good clearing out toxic people, eventually, they still have too many people hanging around for their "magic 85" pension date or have already reached it and are coasting until they are forced out or their job has been eliminated so they can get a package on top of the pension. As of January 2020 a pension is no longer offered for non-represented staff/management.

    Continue reading
    CUNA Mutual2020-03-28
  6. "Great place to work for"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Financial Advisor in Dubuque, IA
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CUNA Mutual full-time

    Pros

    Family atmosphere is really great.

    Cons

    Bland 401k options inside qualified plan.

    CUNA Mutual2020-03-29
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Run Away As Fast As You Can!"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at CUNA Mutual full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Benefits and Pay above average

    Cons

    All of the responsibility, but no authority. Projects run at a snails pace. No support. Culture is fear based. Perfection expected.

    Continue reading
    CUNA Mutual2020-04-30
  8. "Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Analyst in Madison, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CUNA Mutual full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great work/life balance, pay is good, atmosphere is friendly, campus has good cafes and access to gym

    Cons

    IT is understaffed and support is contracted out overseas,

    CUNA Mutual2020-03-06
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Claims"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Forney, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at CUNA Mutual full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There is nothing nice to say about this company.

    Cons

    Terrible upper management and they provide no assistance.

    CUNA Mutual2020-03-11
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Positive culture"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Manager in Madison, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at CUNA Mutual full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Mission driven and Well respected company, Innovative, Profitable

    Cons

    Constant change Frequent layoffs or re-orgs Little sense of job security Major transformation caused unease

    Continue reading
    CUNA Mutual2020-02-19
Found 380 reviews