CVS Health Reviews

Updated May 25, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.9
35%
Recommend to a Friend
34%
Approve of CEO
CVS Health President and CEO Larry J. Merlo
Larry J. Merlo
6,082 Ratings
Pros
  • "CVS has offered me flexible hours that allowed me to work part time while also being a full time student(in 570 reviews)

  • "flexible schedule, good co workers(in 553 reviews)

Cons
  • "Not enough help/technicians per pharmacist(in 719 reviews)

  • "Upper management doesn’t understand the store’s needs and will ask for things your store may not be able to provide(in 586 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (33)

    "Pharmacy service representative"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Orlando, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at CVS Health full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great work environment If you need any help at all just ask they highly encourage it. Management responds immediately.

    Cons

    No cons, if you like coming to work that is.

    Continue reading
    CVS Health2019-10-27
  2. "Good place"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at CVS Health full-time

    Pros

    Decent pay mostly good people

    Cons

    Cutting back hours for stores

    CVS Health2018-10-23
  3. Helpful (827)

    "15 year manager"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Store Manager in Orlando, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at CVS Health

    Pros

    I learned a lot working there as far as how to run a business as well as how to develop a team. I had one of the most successful teams in the company ranking as the top store year over year in two separate markets, one in the Northeast one in the Southeast. I was a paragon winner with the company as well. My most recent DM was very supportive. I genuinely thank them for the opportunity and the knowledge that I acquired while working with them.

    Cons

    Work hours were excessive. To be successful hours worked were borderline slavery. While I willingly worked them to be successful, the week you didn't you were immediately behind. Vacations were almost non existent due to constant visitors from corporate stopping in to do reviews. Holiday weeks were paid 4 days regular 1 holiday and you worked all 5. The facade of the stores looking great when these people stop by versus the reality of the business is polarizing. There were always teams of people and excessive expenditures of payroll thrown into stores prior to their visits. While I understood the need to make an appearance, it was always will always be a backwards way off thinking. Company preaches quality of life for their clients while quality of life for their employees is non-existent. As a "manager" in your average store you will be "managing" a total of one person during your shift, with a total of 10 people at location. Location open hours will exceed total payroll hours ie Sun-Sat 7am-10pm = 15hrs per day x 7 days x 2 people = 210 hrs which excludes the need to have a person unload deliveries that come in during non opened hours. Your budgeted hours will be approximately 208 hrs. I will only mention that during the month of December that there are extended hours for the stores but no budgeted hours to accommodate. Stores are held to strict shrink targets with little to no control over external theft. Remember 2 people at location, if four people enter to steal there is nothing you can do to stop them. These are facts not personal prejudices.

    Continue reading
    CVS Health2014-12-13
  4. "Good Retail Job"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Front Associate in Ann Arbor, MI

    I worked at CVS Health part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The job was flexible with their schedules, especially for offering hours around my college schedule. Had good pay for a retail position.

    Cons

    My location often had thefts or angry customers, especially late nights as the only cashier, which sometimes made me feel pretty unsafe.

    CVS Health2020-05-25
  5. "Good Company"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Sales Associate 

    I have been working at CVS Health full-time

    Pros

    Easy Job Benefits Good Management Hours good Location Good

    Cons

    Having to work weekends not so fun

    CVS Health2020-05-24
  6. "Great Company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pharmacy Technician 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CVS Health full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good opportunities, Knowledgeable leaders, Direct experience in your field, Interesting, Satisfying

    Cons

    Long hours, Stressful, Needs higher pay, Fast paced, Scheduling

    Continue reading
    CVS Health2020-05-23
  7. "Managerial Responsibilities"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shift Supervisor in Costa Mesa, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at CVS Health full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Fast Paced Work Environment. All employees wear many hats.

    Cons

    Too few hours and too few employees

    Continue reading
    CVS Health2020-05-24
  8. "Good Part Time Job"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front Store Associate in Amherst, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at CVS Health part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Get a lot of hours and coworkers are friendly

    Cons

    Kind if drop you in the deep end in terms of training

    CVS Health2020-05-22
  9. "Great Company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pharmacy Technician in Tampa, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at CVS Health full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits and good work-life balance

    Cons

    Salary raises are at a slow rate

    CVS Health2020-05-23
  10. "Pros & Cons"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Shift Supervisor 

    I worked at CVS Health full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits for the employees.

    Cons

    There are no cons working at CVS.

    Continue reading
    CVS Health2020-05-21
Found 16675 reviews