CVS Health "pharmacist" Reviews | Glassdoor

CVS Health Employee Reviews about "pharmacist"

Updated Dec 3, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.8
36%
Recommend to a Friend
34%
Approve of CEO
CVS Health CEO Larry J. Merlo
Larry J. Merlo
5,950 Ratings
Pros
  • "CVS has offered me flexible hours that allowed me to work part time while also being a full time student(in 551 reviews)

  • "Flexible schedule and nice coworkers(in 531 reviews)

Cons
  • "No opportunities to move up into the company unless you are a pharmacist or store manager(in 687 reviews)

  • "Staff is undervalued by upper management(in 573 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "pharmacist"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Fast paced and highly structured"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pharmacist/Pharmacy Manager in Menifee, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CVS Health full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Innovative company that has processes in place that actually assist pharmacists to improve patient health outcomes. Compensation has always been above average.

    Cons

    Sometimes issues take too long correct due to the size of the company. On many occasions, I have seen colleagues tasked to manage before they are properly trained and then subsequently have their employment terminated.

    Advice to Management

    The company could benefit by acting more strategically to avoid constantly being "Penny wise and dollar foolish"

    CVS Health2017-10-05
  2. "Great place to start Pharmacy Career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Pharmacy Intern 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at CVS Health part-time

    Pros

    Depends on store. Stability and majority of pharmacy jobs Very invested into your career

    Cons

    Metric Heavy Treats pharmacist and store as business

    CVS Health2019-12-03
  3. "Good experience for those wanting to enter the health field"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Pharmacy Technician in Berkeley, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at CVS Health part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Promote medication adherence and help patients live a better life

    Cons

    Some pharmacists need more compassion when it comes to helping low-income patients

    CVS Health2019-11-30
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Unfair Pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Pharmacy Technician in Somerville, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at CVS Health part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You get good experience as a student.

    Cons

    They underpay you for the actual work you do. You basically give the pharmacists a break, eat food and chance to answer calls (they get paid $60+/hour)

    Advice to Management

    Stop doing the unnecessary training courses that take forever to complete, you truly learn nothing from them.

    CVS Health2019-11-19
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Only getting worse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pharmacist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at CVS Health full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Money is good. Benefits not bad. Experience is not bad if you float.

    Cons

    Working for former store managers as district leaders who know nothing about running a pharmacy. District Leaders will tell you one thing then change their minds the next month. Tech turnover is high and it takes months to hire and train new ones. Customer satisfaction is low and district leaders will waste your time to make sure you appease all complaints. Expectation is for pharmacists to come in early or stay... late to get things done but you'll never get extra pay or even a thank you.

    Show More
    CVS Health2019-12-03
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Hit or miss"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pharmacist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at CVS Health full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good benefits (401k, health insurance, PTO, ) Fast paced work environment

    Cons

    Asked to come in and work for free if too many things left in que Constant cutting of tech hours Always adding more responsibilities without increasing tech hours so usually falls on the pharmacist

    CVS Health2019-11-06
  7. "Pharmacy Tech"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pharmacy Technician 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at CVS Health part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Salary, training requirement, staff is friendly

    Cons

    Not enough scheduled staff in the pharmacy, the pharmacist does not know how to schedule according to availabilty, pharmacy staff does not rotate positions same tech does the same thing all day every day.

    Advice to Management

    The pharmacy needs more available hpurs, and.more techs, someone other than the pharmacist should make the schedule so that it is made according to tech availability. Techs should be paid more money due to all the attitudes and disrespect we deal with on a daily basis. The customer is NOT always right

    CVS Health2019-11-09
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Pharmacy Tech"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at CVS Health full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    I can pay my bill and my pic will work with me to take off when needed

    Cons

    Treat employees like the are machines,can’t ever eat because you don’t want to leave the pharmacist by themselves

    Advice to Management

    You want great customer service ,but you have cut hours so much that we barely can take time with our customers .You can’t leave one tech and a pharmacist to run it all and both of them on register all day and production is left with no one .If you cared about your workers and customers,you would put enough staff to take care of them

    CVS Health2019-10-26
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Overwhelming"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Pharmacy Technician 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at CVS Health full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Coworkers were nice and ready to assist at a moments notice. Clean work environment. Pay was competitive in terms of Retail Pharmacy.

    Cons

    Understaffed every shift; usually 1 Pharmacist and 2 Technicians (sometimes 1). Patients I found more often than not, were demanding, inpatient, rude, and ignorant. The training you get via Online OTJ training (LearnNET) is useless. They throw 20 hours worth of modules at you within a couple days and when you actually start work, you will find everything you learned is applied differently or isn't applied at all. 2... Step verification is time consuming, which often leads to angry patients. The process of filling a prescription with CVS is as followed; Drop Off -> QV1 -> QP -> QV2 -> Pick up. They have a 10-15 minute promised wait time for people who drop off a prescription and decide to wait for it, however on almost every shift I worked it would range from 30 minutes up to 2 hours! Get used to seeing +99 on the upcoming prescription Que. You are always playing a game of catch up and it is very stressful on you and your team. You also have delays in production when your Pharmacist has to give vaccinations to patients, while even more medications awaiting verification stack up.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    This isn't to the store management level, however to the Corporate level. You MUST allocate more hours for technicians each day so things can get done more efficiently and thus reducing turnover of employees due to stress.

    CVS Health2019-11-06
  10. "Metrics are EVERYTHING"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Intern - Pharmacy Intern in Knoxville, TN
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at CVS Health for more than 3 years

    Pros

    CVS does all strive to have the most up-to-date technology and is always working to improve and add new services to improve patients' health

    Cons

    While constantly adding new services and working to improve workflow and patient health, the company provides the same to less staffing and expects more and more from their pharmacists - approaching the line that they are overworking/expecting unobtainable results from their pharmacists to the point of potentially causing danger to the patients. Even after leaving the company have been informed by past coworkers who... are still current employees that the pressure/environment is becoming worse.

    Show More
    CVS Health2019-11-07
Found 1016 reviews